Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Corporate Program

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit April 13, 2014 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning           
 Afternoon          
 Evening 
 Night
 
 
   
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Ottawa
 

 

 
 
 
 
Jessica S.     Age 23      Female      Ottawa, ON  - Greywood
 
Member ID: 60226 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type: Live-Out, Part Time 
 
  Join now for access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
My name is Jessica and I am from Ottawa, Canada. I believe I am a genuinely nice, down-to-earth and outgoing person who isn't afraid to try new things. I love children and animals, and am planning to get a master degree in educational counselling and later, my ND focusing on holistic nutrition. I am currently finishing my fourth year at the University of Ottawa majoring in psychology and minoring in sociology.

During the past year, I have been caring for a family with a 4 year old girl and a 3 year old girls. Previously, I have cared for an 11 year old boy and a 13 year old girl while their dad was working overseas and their mom was been travelling each week. In addition to that, I have also cared for a boy with type 1 diabetes (I have type 1 too) and his older sister for 2.5 years. Previous to that, I was looking after a toddler and his newborn brother. I have CPR and first aid, and have my own a car. I have experience caring for children of varying ages, from 0-13, and have experience caring for children with special needs as well.

When I am not looking after children, I like to keep active and explore. I love to read and relax in the sun during the summer, and during the winter I like to ski - as long as it's not too cold. I am a clean person and know the importance of keeping things tidy and in order. I am a vegan and try to eat as much fresh, raw food as I can.

I was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes when I was 11 years old and am managing it well. I believe that this has shed some light on the small but valuable things in life. I was forced to grow up at a young age, but I think that this has helped me appreciate the world a little bit more. I have a lot of patience and I am conscious of small but important details.

I play an active role in helping out with my community and volunteering - I believe it enables me to gain experience, explore new opportunities and help others. Currently I volunteer as a youth counsel coordinator for teens with type 1 diabetes and with community outreach promoting fair trade products in my city. I am very responsible, understanding and a fun-loving person who would provide for your children and family together. 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, French 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Willing to obtain 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Single 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
Spiritual - Not Religious 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
5 years experience, 4 references
I have been a nanny for the past 5 years and have been babysitting for the past 9 years. In the past year, I have been caring for an 11 year old boy and a 13 year old girl during the week while both of their parents have been travelling. In addition to this, I have several families to for whom I babysit, with children ranging from 5 months to 10 years. I have experience with special needs children and newborns as well. Currently, I am caring for several children on an occasional basis, as well as working part-time at a baby store. 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, special needs children  
Education/Training:
High School, Bachelor's Degree, CPR Training, First Aid Training 
I am currently attending the University of Ottawa, studying to be a child and youth counsellor. 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Part Time 
Work Hours:
less than 20 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   Occasional/As Needed
 
Will work with up to:
Two children 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
April 13, 2014 
Desired Salary:
$18/Hour or Negotiable salary 
Will work at night:
Yes 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
Yes 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required