Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Corporate Program

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit August 02, 2013 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning     
 Afternoon    
 Evening     
 Night              
 
 
  The odd evening and/or weekend is not a problem, nor is the occasional overnight.  
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Victoria
 

 

 
 
 
 
This Job seeker already found a Job and not available for Job Offers
Join now and get access to thousands care providers and housekeepers in your area.
 
  About Me
 
My name is Whitney I am almost 27 and married to my high school sweetheart. My husband Eric is a PhD student at UVic and studying genetics. I have a BA in psychology with a focus on counselling. We decided to postpone our honeymoon and save up for a 6 month semi-around-the-world backpacking trip. We managed to visit 12 countries in 6 months. A very ambitious task but we loved it. We are eager to get back to reality however and live out of a closet rather than a backpack. We are also excited to do laundry when we feel like and not do the constant "smell test" to see if a shirt is wearable again or not.

I'm currently still backpacking with my husband but we will be back in Victoria on April 22, 2013 and I am available for interviews that day and any day after.

Email is best as I am without a phone while traveling.

I always give 110 to any job I take on, and taking care of a child/children would be no different. I have an incredible work ethic, compassion and an upbeat and energetic personality. I enjoy working with children, whether it be babysitting, teaching or volunteering. I have always been fascinated with how imaginative, astute and compassionate children are. I enjoy watching them grow and develop from little blank slates into people with personalities, opinions and ideas. It is a rewarding experience to help a child find out how unique and wonderful they are, and have the potential to be. I come from a very close family with strong values and have been raised to be hard working, level-headed and responsible.When caring for children I like to mimic the style of the parents so as to maintain consistency in the child rearing. I believe that children require routine and familiarity. I am very upfront and frank with regards to what I expect from the children when it comes to behavior and I maintain open lines of communication with the children as well as the parents so nothing goes amiss and respect is felt and given all around. I try to make most if not all activities fun as well as educational, I believe learning through play is very effective and prepares the child for school.



I'm currently still backpacking with my husband but we will be back in Victoria on April 22, 2013 and I am available for interviews that day and any day after.

Email is best as I am without a phone while traveling. 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Yes 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Married 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
10 years experience, 4 references
Food Safe Level 1 April 2002
Squirrel Course May 2005
Serving-it-Right January 2006
First Aid Level 1 Adult/Child CPR July 2010

Babysitting children of all ages since I was 11 years old.

ESL teacher in Indonesia to children ages 4-18 from August 2009-March 2010

Campbell River Literacy Association Kids Camp volunteer July 2010

Nanny for little girl in Victoria from October 2010-September 2012. (She was 12 months old when I started) I also periodically watched over play-group children and friend's children while at work if the parents needed to run to an appointment or meeting. This was of course pre-cleared with my employers. 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age  
Education/Training:
High School, Bachelor's Degree, CPR Training, First Aid Training 
I have a bachelor's degree in psychology with a focus on counselling and child development. I have a ESL teaching certificate which allows me to teach English as a second language both in and outside of Canada. 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Part Time 
Work Hours:
20 - 30 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   Less than 3 months
 
   3 - 12 months
 
   As Long as Needed
 
   Summer Position
 
   Occasional/As Needed
 
Will work with up to:
Three children 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
May 01, 2013 
Desired Salary:
$15/Hour or $1600 - $1800/month 
Will work at night:
No 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
No 
Will travel with the family:
No 
Housekeeping Duties:
None Provided