Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Corporate Program

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit June 24, 2012 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning 
 Afternoon
 Evening 
 Night              
 
 
   
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Ottawa
 

 

 
 
 
 
Courtney C.     Age 24      Female      Ottawa, ON  - Red Oaks Trail
 
Member ID: 69995 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type: Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
 
  Join now for access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
I am currently a 4th year English Literature student who is enrolled in the Honours program at Trent University. Following my graduation this June, I plan to attend teacher’s college at Queen’s University as I am also apart of the Queen’s-Trent Concurrent Education program. In kindergarten, I commenced the French Immersion program and graduated with high marks in order to obtain my bilingual certificate at the end of my senior year. I have been dancing competitively since I was three years and I have also taught various dance programs with the City of Ottawa. Currently I am the Captain of my university's dance team, so as you can see dance is an integral part of my life. Going back to my education, I love working with kids. For the past 3 years I have volunteered as a teaching assistant in both Ottawa and Peterborough to obtain experience in the classroom environment. Before heading off to university I was a camp counselor and enjoyed the position thoroughly. I have also worked to plan birthday parties, workshops, and cooking classes at my local grocery store's community room. I am an outgoing and bubbly person and I really look forward to obtaining a nanny position for the summer months (May 2011-August 2011) before I am off in September to complete my teacher's certification in Kingston. 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, Spanish, French 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Willing to obtain 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
10 years experience, 4 references
I've worked at my local Independent Grocer since 2006 in the upstairs Community Room where I was responsible for keeping a clean and safe environment, for supervising and providing customer service assistance to up to 30 children over the age of 4, and for preparing the required supplies for each class, workshop, cooking class or party.
I was also employed by the City of Ottawa for several years working as a camp counselor as well as a dance teacher in ballet and jazz. In both positions I was accoun for organizing, delivering and supervising campers (+40 kids ages 6-12). I also handled all of the pre-camp phone calls in order to inform parents of daily trips, rules and regulations in a cooperative manner.
Continuing with my dance experience, I was also an assistant dance teacher at two well-known dance studios here in Ottawa where I taught and prepared dancers for the end of the year recital.
My volunteer work has been centered around children, including assisting teaching grades 3, 4 and grade 1 French Immersion.
Like many students, I took the babysitter's course while I was in middle school and looked after children starting from an early age. Working and being around children has always been a passion of mine and I am willing to work with parents to provide the best care for their children as possible.

 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, special needs children, twins, triplets  
Education/Training:
High School, Graduated High School or Equivalent, College, Bachelor's Degree, CPR Training, First Aid Training 
In June I will be graduating with my Honours Degree in the Arts. I majored in English literature but also took French courses in order to maintain my bilingualism. While completing my 4 years at university, I was accepted into the Concurrent Education program, which secures my spot in Teacher's College at Queen's University. Next year I will be off to Kingston to pursue my dreams of becoming a teacher. 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
Work Hours:
30 - 40 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   Summer Position
 
   Occasional/As Needed
 
Will work with up to:
Three children 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
April 24, 2012 
Desired Salary:
$15/Hour 
Will work at night:
Yes 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
No 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Full meal preparation and service
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Greeting/serving household guests
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family laundry
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
 
   Maintain household accounts/ pay bills
 
   Book household travel arrangements
 
   Supervise contractors and tradespersons
 
   Supervise other household staff
 
   Event and entertainment planning and organization
 
 
 
Additional Experiences/Qualifications/Preferences:
Automated External Defibrillation (AED) Training Standard First Aid and Basic Rescuers CPR (Level C) High Five Training