Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Corporate Program

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit September 02, 2013 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning           
 Afternoon    
 Evening 
 Night              
 
 
  I am starting school full-time again in September 2013, however I'd love to be a part-time babysitter in the afternoon/afterschool and weekday evenings, as well as on weekends!  
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Vancouver
 

 

 
 
 
 
Rachel L.     Age 23      Female      Vancouver, BC  - Ash Street
 
Member ID: 73715 
Seeking work as a : Babysitter or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type: Live-Out, Part Time 
 
  Join now for access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
Hi! My name is Rachel and I am a McGill graduate with a degree in psychology about to start a diploma program in Early Childhood Education. I love taking care of children (of all ages) and have had many experiences as a babysitter, full-time nanny, and assistant educator for children from the ages of 4 months to 10 years old. My passion is working with children, teaching them, nurturing them, and helping them grow which is why I hope to work as a teacher in a daycare/preschool in the future. I am active, creative, patient, flexible, and most of all loving!

My experience working with children includes babysitting, being a part-time and full-time nanny for two separate families who I have become very close with, working as an assistant educator at the McGill Daycare Center for two years in the infants classroom and the 3-4 year old classroom, and finally many long-term volunteer commitments in a daycare, water therapy program, and at the Ronald McDonald House (a place for children and families to stay who are receiving treatment at a hospital).

I am very active and energetic and love doing many different kinds of activities with kids including arts and crafts, singing, going to the beach, playing outside, swimming, going to the library etc. I also love playing tennis and doing yoga, as well as baking (which I also love doing with kids of all ages!).

If you would be interested in hiring me or learning more about me, please feel free to contact me and I would be happy to come in for an interview or answer any questions you may have. I love any opportunity to take care of and interact with children so I would love to come take care of your children! Thank you for your time and consideration!
 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
No 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English 
 
My Nationality:
American 
Police Check:
Yes 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Single 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
No Religion 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
8 years experience, 3 references
Education: Walnut Hills High School, Cincinnati, Ohio, graduated May 2008
McGill University, Montreal, Quebec, anticipated Bachelor of Arts in
May 2012, Major in Psychology, Minor in Education and Art History

Employment Experience:

Full-time Nanny, August 2012-August 2013
For Stephanie Bonn and Chris Hoffmeister
- Take care of 3 amazing children ages 4, 7, 10

Publicity Manager, September 2011 to May 2012
Bar des Arts, affiliated with McGill University Arts Undergraduate Society
� Promote & publicize Bar des Arts through social media and on campus
� Manage Publicity team and Audiovisual Assistants
� Create and organize themes and photography for each event
� Liaison for student groups, charities, & departments

Counterperson/Cashier, May 2011 to August 2012
Stuart�s Bakery, Redpath Foods

Nanny, September 2010 to May 2011
For Barnali and Martin Choudhury
� Babysit 1-year old twice a week

Assistant Educator, September 2009 to May 2010; September 2011 to Present
McGill Daycare Center
� Work with three and four year old children
� Work with infants

Summer Nanny, June 2008 to July 2008
For the Jones Family
� Babysat for family since 2005

Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship (SURF), June 2007 to August 2007
Cincinnati Children�s Hospital Medical Center, Research Assistant to Dr. Scott Powers, Division of Psychology and Behavioral Medicine
� Filed, organized, and conducted data analysis for research studies
� Observed clinical sessions and treatments for ongoing research studies
� Researched and created poster for Capstone Poster Symposium



Summer Internship, May 2006 to August 2006
Cincinnati Children�s Hospital Medical Center, HOME Study (Dr. Kimberly Yolten), Division of General and Community Pediatrics Research
� Filed and organized data for HOME Study
� Observed psychological testing for ongoing research study
� Completed CITI Training Course in Biomedical Ethics

Volunteering Experience:

Volunteer, Summer 2009
Sunny Hill Health Centre For Children
� Volunteered in Aquatic Therapy and Recreation program

Orientation Leader, August 2009, 2010, and 2011
Arts Faculty of McGill University
� Leader for group of first year students during Frosh activities

Founder & Director of The Pink Ladies, September 2006 to July 2008
Volunteer group for the Ronald McDonald House, Cincinnati, Ohio
� Created, organized, and led The Pink Ladies, a group made up of twenty-four high school girls
� Organized activities twice a month for families staying at the House including arts & crafts, musical performances, and special guest volunteers

Hospital Volunteer, Summer 2006 and 2007
School�s Out Program, Cincinnati Children�s Hospital Medical Center
� Volunteered in Cerebral Palsy Preschool Classroom
� Volunteered in TIP Classroom (for children from abusive family environments)

Other Volunteer Experience
� Tutored students at Walnut Hills High School in Latin, History, & Biology
� Member of On Eagles Wings, a mentoring program for students at WHHS
� Helped organize and run Hoxworth Blood Drive at Walnut Hills High School
� Organized and managed Adopt-a-Family at Walnut Hills High School
� Volunteer, Bethany House Shelter for Battered Women and Children

Interests & Achievements:

Musical Interests
� Played violin from 1995 to 2008, member of Junior Orchestra and Senior Orchestra at WHHS, and Suzuki Youth Orchestra through Performing Arts Center
� Played piano from 2002 to 2008
� Participated in Junior Musical Experience (JME), scored a 5 (highest) in both piano competitions

Art Interests
� Summer pottery class, July 2008 to August 2008
� Attended classes for beading, drawing, sculpture, and stone-carving

Athletics
� Tennis, played from 2002 to 2008, member of WHHS JV Tennis Team from 2005 to 2006
� Awarded Most Improved Player in 2005

 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, special needs children  
Education/Training:
High School, Bachelor's Degree, Certified Nanny Training, CPR Training, First Aid Training, College Child Education Courses 
I graduated from McGill University, majoring in Psychology and minoring in Art History and Education. I am starting a diploma program for Early Childhood Education in Fall 2013. I love working and interacting with children and my future career will definitely be focused on providing for children. 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Babysitter or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Part Time 
Work Hours:
less than 20 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   Less than 3 months
 
   1 - 2 years
 
   As Long as Needed
 
   Occasional/As Needed
 
Will work with up to:
Three children 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Mending Children's clothing as required
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
September 01, 2013 
Desired Salary:
$15/Hour or Negotiable salary 
Will work at night:
Yes 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
Yes 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
 
 
 
  References
 
Kristen Copeland 
I worked for Kristen and her family and their two daughters for 4 years while I was in high school. I became very close with her daughters and their family and consistently took care of them for years. 
 
 
Barnali Choudhury 
Over the past 8 months (September 2010 - April 2011) I have taken care of Barnali and Martin's one year old daughter twice a week. It was so exciting to see her grow and change from sitting up, crawling, walking, and finally beginning to talk.