Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Corporate Program

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit December 10, 2013 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning         
 Afternoon
 Evening 
 Night
 
 
   
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Victoria
 

 

 
 
 
 
Nicole G.     Age 21      Female      Victoria, BC  - Dowler Place
 
Member ID: 75967 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type: Live-Out, Part Time 
 
  Join now for access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
I have always had a love for children. Ever since I myself was a child I have always known that I wanted to work in a field that involves children. This is why a job just as babysitting, being a nanny, or helping a mother is perfect for me as I love to interact with children. I help them learn and experience new and beneficial things. One thing I believe in very strongly is being a role model for living a healthy lifestyle; I have always been very active by joining swim teams, gymnastic teams, dance classes, and many other sports. I feel as though this is the most beneficial action you can take to teach kids how to live a truly fun, exciting, healthy, and long life. I also believe in being open to new ideas and experiences and not only give the children the opportunity to learn from yourself but also to allow yourself to learn from the children; something I find happens so much more than one would think!
I have had much experience with working with children and I feel as though I am very well suited, capable, and trustworthy of a position to do with babysitting, being a nanny, or helping a mother. 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
No 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Willing to obtain 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Single 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
Christian 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
5 years experience, 3 references
I have a wide range of experience with children from, most recently, being a nanny for multiple families, working UVic daycare, and assisting in many summer camps for children such as dance camps and musical theater camps. I have also volunteered at an AIDS orphans camp in South Africa where I interacted with kids and helped guide them through activities. I have also been a dance choreographer for young children at a dance studio, and also coached young children in swimming. Overall, I have gained much experience around working with children of a variety of ages. I am very comfortable and confident around children and always strive to ensure I provide a safe, secure, and trusting environment where they feel comfortable with me, too. I have found working with children both enlightening and rewarding and can't think of a much better job! 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age  
Education/Training:
Graduated High School or Equivalent, College, CPR Training, First Aid Training 
I am currently in my fourth year at UVic studying for my bachelor of Education. As I continue on with this degree I am gaining more and more knowledge about how to successfully work with children not only in the classroom but also in every day life. For example; I have taken classes devoted to classroom management, child psychology, child development, and so on. Furthermore, I have a lot of hands-on experience putting my knowledge to use as I have completed my first practicum in which I taught my own classroom for 3 weeks. These experiences have helped me develop deeper understandings of how to properly interact with children and how to gain their respect and trust in order to form a healthy and strong relationships. 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Part Time 
Work Hours:
less than 20 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   1 - 2 years
 
   As Long as Needed
 
   Occasional/As Needed
 
Will work with up to:
Three children 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
October 02, 2013 
Desired Salary:
$15/Hour 
Will work at night:
Yes 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
No 
Will travel with the family:
Yes 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Full meal preparation and service
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Greeting/serving household guests
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family laundry
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
 
 
 
  References
 
Miranda Widgery-Webber 
I worked for Miranda as a dance camp instructor, and I also received work through her as a choreographer for young children at 'Creativ Music.' I worked with her for approximately two years until I had to change cities when I went to University. 
 
 
Sherri-Lynn Yazbeck 
I worked with Sherri-Lynn at the daycare that is located on-campus at the university I attend (UVic). I worked with her over my first year university and had to leave when I needed to move back home for the summer.