Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Corporate Program

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit May 07, 2012 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning     
 Afternoon        
 Evening         
 Night              
 
 
   
 
 
 
Caregiver Profile 
Nanny & Babysitter in Ottawa
 

 

 
 
 
 
Maryvonne B.     Age 58      Female      Ottawa, ON  - 19 Heartleaf Private
 
Member ID: 77109 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type: Live-Out, Part Time 
 
  Join now for access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
I have raised 2 wonderful sons who are both studying, one to be a teacher, and the other, an aspiring jazz drummer (ages 23 and 18). I recently lost my satisfying job as a high school teacher and vice principal in a small private school for students with learning and behavioural defficulties (due to declining enrollment). I have relocated to Ottawa as my fiance and I plan to get married in the course of the year. Full-time jobs are very difficult to find at this time. I have been fortunate to have worked in several satisfying careers (retail, child and youth counselling, teaching) and am prepared to work hard and loyally for whomever should offer me a position. I love people (from children to the elderly) and particularly love to help and educate others. I am professional, hard-working, ethical, dedicated, and have a good sense of humour. I am interested in art, theater, music, education, and social justice.
I am physically fit and love to be physically active. I am fluent in both English and French. While I am not terribly fond of computers, I have learned to use this new and obviously useful technology!
My years of experience in working with people have trained me to think quickly on my feet, to see "the big picture", to take initiative when necessary and to be diplomatic when required.
I would hope that my work experience is not a deterrant, but an asset to any potential employer.

 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
No 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
French, English, French, Hungarian 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Yes 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Divorced 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
No Religion 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
5 years experience, 4 references
I have raised 2 grown boys (ages 23 and 18). I worked as a child and youth care worker for nearly 15 years, with males and females from 12-18 years old. Many of my clients and emotional and behavioural difficulties and some were on probation or serving time in open custody.
Most recently, I taught students from grades 6 through 12 and also taught art and drama to younger students (ages 7-10).
I have cared for young children, including infants and toddlers, on an occasional basis, for family, friends and employers.
Should I be required to work for en extended period of time, with infants and toddlers, I intend to take a CPR and first aid course speciallizing specifically in infants and small children. 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, special needs children  
Education/Training:
High School, Bachelor's Degree, CPR Training, First Aid Training 
4 year combined honours B.A. in French and English Literature  
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Part Time 
Work Hours:
20 - 30 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   3 - 12 months
 
Will work with up to:
Four or more 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Mending Children's clothing as required
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
April 06, 2012 
Desired Salary:
$14/Hour 
Will work at night:
Yes 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
No 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family laundry
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
 
 
  References
 
Yuwattee Persaud 
Ms. persaud was my immediate supervisor when I worked as a teacher and vice principal. She is currently principal at Merle Levine Academy in Toronto. My position was terminated in June 2010 due to declining enrollment.