Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit June 08, 2017 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning           
 Afternoon
 Evening         
 Night              
 
 
  Contact me to view my website and make a booking.  
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Toronto
 

 

 
 
 
Leah J.     Age 22      Female      Toronto, ON  - Bloor Street West & Runnymede
 
Member ID: 81764 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Mother's Helper or Birth Doula, Postpartum Doula 
Position Type: Live-Out, Part Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
Hi, I’m Leah, a professional Birth & Postpartum Doula based in Bloor West Village, Toronto.

I am offering prenatal yoga classes, childbirth education, labour & delivery support, postpartum doula care, kids yoa and 'mindful sessions, ' and in-home childcare/support.

"I consider Leah to be a 'bringer of light'. My daughter thinks she is a Woodland Fairy.. Leah has cared for my daughter on a weekly basis for almost 2 years. Leah provides a respectful, stimulating, affectionate, and safe play and learning experience for Sophie, who is now 3. What touches me most, is the degree to which Leah is invested in my daughter’s wellbeing, education, and development as a person. I wouldn’t hesitate for a moment to recommend Leah as a doula. " - Valerie Tourikian

Over the past 10 years, I have served in the homes of 100 families in the GTA, England, and France. I have been referred to as a nanny, mother’s helper, family mediator, personal assistant, babysitter au pair, sister, auntie, yoga teacher, a Doula. The word doula is Greek for “a woman who serves” – an appropriate term to describe my natural caring and nurturing instincts that are the driving force of my services. Caring for children and supporting parents is my calling in life.

My areas of expertise include phsiological childbirth, infant and child care/development, music, and yoga.

My professional training includes:

CAPPA Birth Doula Workshop
Power Yoga Canada “Little Pretzels” Kids Yoga Teacher Training
Hug Your Baby “Helping Parents Understand Their Newborn”
Canadian Hearing Society American Sign Language Course (Baby Sign)
St. John Ambulance First Aid + CPR-C Training
City of Mississauga National Lifeguard Training 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English, American Sign Language & basic French 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Yes 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Single 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
Buddhism 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
9 years experience, 5 references
Unique, personalized care services for your family during pregnancy, labour & deliver, the pospartum period, and the early years. 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, special needs children, twins, triplets  
Education/Training:
High School, Graduated High School or Equivalent, Certified Nanny Training, CPR Training, First Aid Training, Birth & Labour Doula Training, NLS Certification, St. John Ambulance Babysitting Course, American Sign Language Course (Canadian Hearing Society) 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Mother's Helper or Birth Doula, Postpartum Doula 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Part Time 
Work Hours:
less than 20 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   Less than 3 months
 
   3 - 12 months
 
   1 - 2 years
 
   greater than 2 years
 
   As Long as Needed
 
   Occasional/As Needed
 
Will work with up to:
Four or more 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Mending Children's clothing as required
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
December 30, 2016 
Desired Salary:
$30/Hour or Negotiable salary 
Will work at night:
Yes 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
Yes 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Full meal preparation and service
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Greeting/serving household guests
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family laundry
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
 
 
 
  References
 
Jen & Ian Ferraro 
Leah was a fantastic support in helping us to successfully achieve the natural birth that we wanted. Leah was a huge help from the moment that she arrived at the hospital. I was very nauseous and she immediately helped me with peppermint oil and soft massages. Leah helped to create the birth environment that we wanted by dimming the lights and playing soothing rainwater music, this all helped to keep me centered and focused. Leah was present for over 12 hours and never stopped working. She had great pain management techniques and was incredibly responsive to me as the labour progressed. We so appreciated Leah’s calm and nurturing personality, she was the perfect support and we would highly recommend her to anyone. 
 
 
Kristina S. 
Leah provided sole care for my newborn baby and my toddler, last-minute, after I found her online. My husband was away during my birth and for the first few months of my baby’s life, so it was so reassuring to have Leah’s help whenever I needed her. She was able to easily change newborn diapers, bottle feed my baby, and assist with the household in general. She also gave me effective suggestions for soothing my collicy baby! Leah has a wealth of knowledge when it comes to babies and toddlers and cares for them in a gentle and magical way. I trust her fully with my children.