Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Corporate Program

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit December 28, 2013 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning 
 Afternoon
 Evening 
 Night
 
 
  I am willing to work over 40/hrs per week where necessary. Overtime rates will apply.  
 
 
 
Caregiver Profile 
Nanny & Babysitter in Ladysmith
 

 

 
 
 
 
Carolyn C.     Age 54      Female      Ladysmith, BC  - Hwy 19
 
Member ID: 86056 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Nanny/Housekeeper 
Position Type: Live-In, Full Time 
 
  Join now for access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
At the age of 19, I began my own business, The Domestic Goddess Home Care Services. My services were based (and continue to be) on the complete care of a domestic environment - including and not limited to, meticulous & detailed housekeeping. creating and maintaining a very well organized home (where children were/are involved, I encourage them to take responsibility for their rooms, their belongings, and the common living areas of their home.) At 53, I have a very wide range of skills and experience which have proven to be an asset to the individuals and families that I worked for and with over these past 30 odd years.

I have taken my business from Vancouver, to London, England, back to Vancouver, to Salt Spring Island (20 years), to Ucluelet (5 years). My travels, responsibilities and experiences in varying positions lends me a broad base with which to build the foundation required in any new positions.

Currently, I am very happy to be back on the West Coast - ready to help the right individual or family with their domestic needs - entailing one or more requirements over and above caring for the children. (housekeeper/manager, personal secretary/adminstrator, gardener, residential security, chauffeur, cook ie). I am prepared to move to a new location within Canada, and am willing to travel abroad should this be required of me.

I am known to those I have had the pleasure of caring for as "Mary Poppins" / "Nanny McPhee" in that I am "firm but kind". Manners, thoughtfulness, consideration and kindness are very important qualities to me, as are trust and honesty. I enjoy children, their energy, active minds, their zest to learn and to be taught, and most of all, seeing the world through their eyes. I too, feel a responsibility as an adult, having much personal experience, to teach, support and encourage children and youth in being the very best that they can be, in whatever they pursue academically or personally. Children and teenagers can be, often are, more than challenging with not only their needs, but the changing world around them. I am able to help them learn how to cope and deal with the hills and valleys of those changes, encouraging a healthy resilience.

I am quite passionate about caring my nickname is ironically "Care") for the home of any individual or family with whom I have been entrusted to care for, and where I am also entrusted with the care of the family, be it one child, one adult or several, I do find much joy in this. Having worked with both children and seniors, single parents and families up to 5 children, complete with pets and full responsiblities associated with the care of the home.. I take the trust of all seriously and consider it an honour to be called "a member of our family", mutual respect and consideration earned.

I keep busy with many interests, among them -needle arts (silk thread embroidery, crocheting, hand & maching sewing), calligraphy, jewelry making, reading, good films, live theater (plays and musicals). I love animals, enjoy swimming, going to the beach or going for walks be it in the woods or just around the neighbourhood. I enjoy gardening, take great pleasure in seeing a cutting or seed blossom under my care. I am an avid thrifter/flea market/garage sale, love to find furniture/clothing/vintage items, often re purposing some for use in the home or to give as gifts.

I have a 13 year old male neutered dog, Baxter whom I have had since he was 5 weeks old. I prefer to have Baxter with me, as he is a well behaved, loving dog and has proven to be an invaluable asset in my work with children, teens, seniors especially where there has been a loss or a traumatic event has occurred. He travels with me and sleeps in my room and is fundamentally an indoor dog during the colder months.

I would greatly appreciate and prefer at minimum with regard to my accomodation, a reasonably sized bedroom, at least one medium to large window, private entrance where possible. A private bathroom be it ensuite with bath/toilet, or a private bathroom with bath/toilet, is necessary. In my experience, I do find it necessary to maintain my own mental/spiritual health in having this privacy. I am open to negotiation dependent on length of contract and other factors with any one household.

I am willing to work on a short term contract basis (min. 3 months salary will apply for shorter terms), up to a yearly contract basis.

Clear and timely communication is essential for a mutually satisfactory working relationship. I am flexible in scheduling and work responsibilities, and do expect that I am given timely notice with respect to changes in both schedule and duties. I extend this same respect to any family I work with. 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Smoker but will abstain when with children 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Willing to obtain 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Widowed 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
Spiritual - Not Religious 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
10 years experience, 5 references
I have cared for children 0 - 18. Predominantly my work has been with 6 - 16 yrs old, and have stayed with the families often til the children come of age. I have been a foster parent, a respite foster parent, group home parent, private contract Nanny, and have run my own daycare. I have worked with special needs youth, both privately and for the Ministry. (Downs Syndrome, FASD, ADHD, ADD, Behavioral challenges have been where I seem to excel. I do have minimal experience with Autistic children at a respite level). 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, special needs children, twins, triplets  
Education/Training:
High School, College, CPR Training, First Aid Training, Some university 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Nanny/Housekeeper 
Position Type:
Live-In, Full Time 
Work Hours:
30 - 40 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   3 - 12 months
 
   1 - 2 years
 
   As Long as Needed
 
Will work with up to:
Three children 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Mending Children's clothing as required
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
February 15, 2014 
Desired Salary:
$20/Hour or $2800 - $3000/month 
Will work at night:
Yes 
Willing to relocate:
any city in Canada 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
Yes 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Greeting/serving household guests
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family laundry
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
 
   Maintain household accounts/ pay bills
 
   Book household travel arrangements
 
   Supervise contractors and tradespersons
 
   Supervise other household staff
 
   Event and entertainment planning and organization
 
 
 
Additional Experiences/Qualifications/Preferences:
Due to the nature of my work with the Ministry, I have both exp. and qualifications in areas specific to special needs of the youth I was caring for. I prefer a family that teaches manners, kindness and consideration for themselves and others. Clear, timely commmunication is essential. Fair scheduling and advance notice of changes unless otherwise agreed upon at the time of hiring. My personal time and space to be respected. 
 
 
  References
 
Barbara Pellerin 
Owner/operator of Senior's Residence where I was Manager for 2 years. Friend and respite worker for all of my foster children, stepdaughter and youth. Hired me as tutor to her twin step children. I continue to be in regular contact with Barbara.