Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Corporate Program

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit May 31, 2012 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning 
 Afternoon
 Evening 
 Night        
 
 
   
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Ottawa
 

 

 
 
 
 
Sarah A.     Age 20      Female      Ottawa, ON  - Wendover Ave
 
Member ID: 89666 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type: Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
 
  Join now for access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
Hi, I'm Sarah and I've just finished my 1st year at Queen's University. I have 5 years experience working with children. I've worked at the Ottawa South Community Centre as an After-4 counsellor for children ages 6-12 from 2009-2011. I have also spent the past two summers as a counsellor at YMCA Wanakita, a residential camp in Haliburton. Prior to that and throughout those years I have had experience babysitting children of a variety of ages, between 3 and 14 year. I've had experience working with children in a variety of settings.

Pay is negotiable, and a resume and references are available upon request.

I look forward to hearing from you soon! 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, French 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Willing to obtain 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
5 years experience, 2 references
I have spent 2 years working at the Ottawa South Community Centre as an After-4 counsellor, and a year volunteering prior to that. As a counsellor I had a number of responsibilities. I was required to run a variety of different activities each week ranging from active games to quieter crafts, games, or cooking activities. Groups of children engaging in activities ranged from 5-30 children ages 5/6-12. I was required to help walk groups of children from school to the centre and help prepare a nutritious snack for when they arrived. I also helped in maintaining a clean and organized environment and often ensured that the centre was clean at the end of each day.
I also gained experience working with children at the summer residential camp YMCA Wanakita in 2010 and 2011. As a counsellor I had the opportunity to work with cabin groups varying in ages for 1-2 weeks. As a residential counsellor my responsibilities included organizing activities for cabin groups, staying on a fixed schedule, ensuring the overall well-being for up to 10 children, and ensuring that all children had the best experience possible. I was also fortunate to gain some experience working with special needs children through the Reach for the Rainbow Program. I spent a week doing so in August of 2010, and a month doing so in the summer of 2011. 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, special needs children, twins, triplets  
Education/Training:
Bachelor's Degree 
I have completed high school at Glebe Collegiate as an honour roll student three years in a row, and am a recipient of the Bob Dagenais award for community involvement. I have been fortunate to continue my studies at Queen's University this year in the Faculty of Arts & Science. I hope to major in health studies with a minor in psychology starting next September. 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
Work Hours:
30 - 40 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   Less than 3 months
 
   3 - 12 months
 
   Summer Position
 
Will work with up to:
Three children 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
April 30, 2012 
Desired Salary:
$12/Hour or Negotiable salary 
Will work at night:
Yes 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
Yes 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family laundry
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
 
 
 
Additional Experiences/Qualifications/Preferences:
I am certified in CPR and First-Aid as well as having my Bronze Cross.