Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Corporate Program

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit May 07, 2012 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning 
 Afternoon
 Evening 
 Night
 
 
   
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Ottawa
 

 

 
 
 
 
Naomi R.     Age 22      Female      Ottawa, ON  - Chesterton Drive
 
Member ID: 89876 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type: Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
 
  Join now for access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
I am an active, enthusiastic caregiver with over five years of experience. I have been the primary sitter/nanny for two wonderful children since the younger was a newborn and the elder was two. I have also been a camp counselor, a swimming instructor, a relief preschool teacher, and a baby-sitter for multi-family events. I created and led a girls' club for pre-teen girls for a number of years, and taught a mentoring program for teen girls out of a local Crisis Pregnancy Center.

I try to integrate active play, creativity, and learning into the activities that I do with children - from crafts, make-believe, outings, and of course a little bit of quiet time just to play too - I aim for balance.

During the school year (Sept - April) I am studying Humanities and Biology at Carleton University. Due to it's demanding course load, I am considering continuing as a part time student in the fall, and a good fit with the right family, would definitely enable me to do so. I have open availability for the summer, and although I don't have my fall schedule yet, it will definitely have evenings, weekends, and some afternoons free. 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
No 
Has a Vehicle:
No 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English, French 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Willing to obtain 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
5 years experience, 0 references
I took care of two children for just over five years. The younger was a just a newborn when I started and the elder was two. I was more of a babysitter during the school year - a couple of evenings a week and on the weekends - a full-time nanny in the summer. I have also taken care of them overnight, both for a single night, and consecutively.

I worked as a lifeguard and swimming instructor. As a swimming instructor, I taught children of all ages as well children with special needs. Through working with children with special needs, I picked up some minimal sign language - if this is something that would be helpful for your child, I would be happy to continue learning it.

I spent a summer working as a camp counselor, during which I was responsible for 8-15 children in age groups of either 6-9 or 10-14. Among many activities, I took them swimming, rock climbing, and horseback riding. I also worked as the nurse's assistant while I was at the camp.

In addition, I have helped lead multiple week long children's day camps, I worked as a pre-school teacher for one morning a week, and I have been the caregiver for multi-family events.

From a house-keeping perspective, I have worked as a housekeeper/office assistant at a motel. I performed regular housekeeping duties, including laundry, gardening, and general maintenance. In addition, I organized construction workers, arranged for check-ups to ensure the hotel was keeping with city standards and answered phone calls. 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, special needs children  
Education/Training:
High School, Graduated High School or Equivalent, Bachelor's Degree, CPR Training, First Aid Training, Lifeguard and Swimming Instructor 
I have just completed my second year of a Bachelor's degree in Humanities and Biology. It seems like a strange double major, but they connect through their attempts to understood who we are and how we're connected to the rest of the world. Humanities accesses this through philosophy, religion, and anthropology. Biology attempts to do the same but through experimentation and pushing what we can really know. I am passionate about my studies, and have thus far been very successful in school. I bring my love for learning into my childcare as well, a walk is an opportunity to talk about beetles, a scratch, the chance to discuss the way our white blood cells work. 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
Work Hours:
20 - 30 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   Less than 3 months
 
   3 - 12 months
 
   1 - 2 years
 
   greater than 2 years
 
   Summer Position
 
   Occasional/As Needed
 
Will work with up to:
Four or more 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Mending Children's clothing as required
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
I eat gluten-free, and have had to eat dairy-free in the past, so I am used to cooking for a variety of dietary needs.
 
Desired Start Date:
May 04, 2012 
Desired Salary:
$13/Hour 
Will work at night:
Yes 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
Yes 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Full meal preparation and service
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Greeting/serving household guests
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family laundry
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
 
   Maintain household accounts/ pay bills
 
   Book household travel arrangements
 
   Supervise contractors and tradespersons
 
   Supervise other household staff
 
   Event and entertainment planning and organization
 
 
 
Additional Experiences/Qualifications/Preferences:
My salary is negotiable. I've been paid $12-$15/hr in the past, but the amount can fluctuate according to the number of children as well as the housekeeping duties required. 
 
 
  References
 
Deanna McClure 
Deanna is the mother of the two children I took care of for five years. The family is in BC so I've only put the email to avoid the long distance charges, but they reply to their emails promptly.