Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Corporate Program

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit August 21, 2012 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning           
 Afternoon    
 Evening 
 Night            
 
 
  I have much more available time in September. Summer I am doing a two-week course in July. Overall my schedule is very flexible, so we can discuss it.  
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Vancouver
 

 

 
 
 
 
Alison L.     Age 25      Female      Vancouver, BC  - Dunbar and Alma
 
Member ID: 91537 
Seeking work as a : Babysitter or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type: Live-Out, Part Time 
 
  Join now for access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
I am an energetic person with great social and interpersonal skills. I love to have fun with everything I do because I truly believe that laughter is the best kind of medicine. I love spending time with children! At an event, if there are children around, you can always bet you'll find me with them. I have a large extended family and have been heavily involved in child care throughout my life.

I am a recent graduate from the psychology program at Ubc - focusing on childhood development and the clinical stream. I also have a background in sciences and have worked in the medical field with hands-on involvement in health care (including child health care from infancy onwards). I was born in Taiwan but raised in Vancouver since I was a one year old. My father is Canadian born Chinese and my mother is Chinese from the Philippines. So I have close ties with the Filipino culture as well.

I am a musician; I have played piano for almost 20 years. I taught myself how to play the guitar and the drum set. I am a drumming teacher and play in various gigs around town. I also tutor subjects such as English, math, french and science. These skills would be valuable assets for any family looking to expand their children's world of learning. I have also worked as a camp leader and bible school teacher for children ages 5-15.

I love animals, especially dogs. I love to do art when I have the opportunity. I grew up playing tennis and played for varsity in high school. I am able to relate to both girls and boys of any age extremely easily. I am also able to be stern when I have to be. Although I do not have children of my own, I am knowledgable in many aspects of applied child development. I believe that my experience in the medical field, combined with my academic training in child psychology, have prepared me for an extensive range of situations I may be faced with. I am also an excellent help around the house and take initiative where I see work to be done.

I believe I would be an exceptional candidate for any child-caring position. I look forward to meeting your family soon! 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, French, Fujian 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Yes 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Single 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
Protestant 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
9 years experience, 2 references
Babysitting & nannying (2003 - present)
-travelled to Maui with a mother and her two children (3 month boy and 2 year old girl) to help take care of them.
-babysat for various families around the Vancouver area, with children of all ages

Bible School Teacher for ages 3-12

Vacation Bible School Camp Leader for ages 5-13

Youth Fellowship Leader for ages 10-17

Medical Physician's Assistant - infant and child care

 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, twins, triplets  
Education/Training:
Graduated High School or Equivalent, Bachelor's Degree, College Child Education Courses 
High school - Crofton House School University - Trinity Western University & University of British Columbia Bachelor's degree in Psychology with a background science focus on pre-medicine courses. 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Babysitter or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Part Time 
Work Hours:
less than 20 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   3 - 12 months
 
   1 - 2 years
 
   As Long as Needed
 
   Summer Position
 
   Occasional/As Needed
 
Will work with up to:
Three children 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
August 21, 2012 
Desired Salary:
$16/Hour or Negotiable salary 
Will work at night:
Yes 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
No 
Will travel with the family:
Yes,but up to 30 km 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Greeting/serving household guests
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Supervise contractors and tradespersons
 
   Supervise other household staff
 
   Event and entertainment planning and organization
 
 
 
Additional Experiences/Qualifications/Preferences:
Music lessons (piano, drumming, guitar) Tutoring (English, French, Math, Science) Anything that is needed I am extremely capable of doing. All the information I listed is flexible and can change with negotiations. For the summer I would like a part-time position and will help as much as I can. Come September my schedule is much freer and we can discuss scheduling again. Please feel free to contact me and let me know what your needs are and I am confident we can work something out.