Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit May 13, 2020 
 
 
 
 
 
Candidate Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning 
 Afternoon
 Evening 
 Night
 
 
   
 
 
 
Caregiver in Penticton

 

 
 
 
Diane C.     Age 69      Female      Penticton, BC  - Railway Ave
 
Member ID: 138754 
Seeking work as a : Caregiver / Companion or Personal Support Worker or Overnight Care 
Position Type: Live-In or Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
My background employment includes, providing Caregiver/Companion, Administrative and Personal Assistant Services as well as providing nanny and home support services to children, providing seniors with home support, companionship, meal preparation, shopping, care aide services, overnight care, and light housekeeping duties. My volunteer positions include working with children with disabilities, and children and persons in crisis situations. My experience includes working with persons with both mild to moderate and moderate to severe dementia. My most recent experiences (2015 - 2016 and 2018 -2019) includes working with several senior ladies with dementia.

Also, I have some university education and considerable customer service experience. Other education that I have obtained includes an Interior Decorating Certificate and a Palliative Care Certificate from Okanagan College. As an outgoing friendly people person, I thoroughly enjoy working with children, persons with disabilities and seniors.

Reference letter quote:
"In all aspects of her job Diane displayed competence, compassion, flexibility and initiative. We had very positive feedback from the clients she worked with, and we wish her well in her future employment. "

 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Yes 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Single 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
Spiritual - Not Religious 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
10 years experience, 5 references
My past employment includes working as a caregiver/companion, Nurse's Aid, Home Support Worker, and providing Home Management Services. Some of the duties I performed were personal care to clients, assisting with meals, shopping, accompaniment to appointments and other outings, basic companionship, travelling companion, downsizing, packing and relocating, overnight care and light housekeeping. Additionally, I worked with clients who had moderate to severe dementia, and stroke. I have very recent experience working with a lady who had mild to moderate dementia that progressed into the moderate to severe. stage. I worked with her during 2015 and 2016 until she entered a full time care facility, near her family in Edmonton in September 2016. I have kept myself up to date by attending various workshops, seminars and courses, doing research and, in particular, relating to dementia.
My unpaid experience consists of the following:- I was raised by my two great aunts and assisted with providing care to both of them during illness and end of life.

I obtained my Palliative Care Certificate from Okanagan College in 2011.
 
 
 
Skills:
   Ambulation Assistance
 
   Bathing Assistance
 
   Bed Bath
 
   Bed Pan
 
   Dressing Grooming assistance
 
   Hoyer Lift
 
   Patient Positioning
 
   Range of Motion Exercise
 
   Toileting Assistance
 
 
Experience and skills with following Diagnosis :
   Alzheimer's
 
   Arthritis
 
   Bedridden
 
   Dementia
 
   Fractured Hip
 
   Hearing Impairment
 
   Incontinence (diapers)
 
   Osteoporosis
 
   Paralysis
 
   Shingles
 
   Stroke
 
   Visual Impairment
 
Palliative care
Education/Training:
Caregiver / Companion, Home Support Worker , First Aid Certificate, CPR Certificate, College, Palliative Care Certificate, Food Safe 
I have obtained my Palliative Care Certificate from Okanagan College. I have attended seminars and workshops on Dementia, and obtained certificates for Food Safe, Red cross Standard First Aid, CPR, AED, Worldhost, and other health care issues, such as Crisis Intervention etc.. I believe in life long learning and keeping skills up-to-date. 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Caregiver / Companion or Personal Support Worker or Overnight Care 
Position Type:
Live-In or Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
Work Hours:
40 - 50 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   As Long as Needed
 
   Occasional/As Needed
 
Prefer to work in:
   Home Health Care
 
   Retirement Homes
 
 
Desired Start Date:
March 13, 2019 
Desired Salary:
$22/Hour or Negotiable salary 
Willing to travel :
Yes 
Duties:
   Laundry
 
   Grocery Shopping
 
   Meal Planning / Preparation
 
   Supervise Home
 
   Errands
 
   Assist with Walking
 
   Hand Wash Dishes
 
   Escort to Appointments
 
   Plan Visits, Outings, & Trips to Visit Neighbours, Friends, Family
 
   Bathing Assistance
 
   Alzheimer/Dementia Care
 
   Palliative Care
 
   Parkinson Care
 
Companionship, personal Assistand and Administrative Assistant Services, Travel Assistance and Assistance with packing, unpacking, decluttering and moving
 
 
Additional Experiences/Qualifications/Preferences:
- Assisted with care for both of my great aunts during illness and end of life. - Provided overnight care (both at home and in the hospital) for an elderly gentleman who had dementia. - Provided personal care, and assistance with eating to an elderly gentleman who had suffered a stroke. - Provided meal preparation, light housekeeping, assistance to appointments, shopping, with walks, companionship, and other outings to seniors. - Provided assistance to seniors as a travelling companion. - Provided the services of downsizing, packing, moving, and relocation for a smooth transition of a senior client who had dementia. from her home into full time care. In addition to the references listed, l have 3 additional letters of reference and 4 additional names for recent references with phone numbers. These names include Brenda Adin, and her sister Carol who are the daughter's of one of my recent senior clients, and also, Josh and Jackie Heinrich, school teachers in Penticton and the parents of 2 adorable children whom l provided care for. 
 
 
  References
 
Deborah Johnson, RN, BScN 
Deborah Johnson is a Long Term Care Case Manager with Interior Health in Penticton, BC. Deborah was the case manager for one of my most recent clients who suffered with dementia that l provided care for during 2015 and 2016. More References are available upon request. 
 
 
S. Sundby per Gordon Pierre 
Quote from letter of reference:- "During her (Diane's) employment, I found that the children responded well to her, as she demonstrated a good deal of empathy and compassion for them. I found Diane to be reliable, understanding, cheerful and helpful." - S. Sundby per Gordon Pierre - Grand Chief, Tsay keh Dene - Finlay Contracting Ltd., I would be pleased to send a copy of this reference letter to you upon request. I can't copy and paste the reference letter because it is in PDF format, but I can send it to your e-mail address. More letters of reference can be provided upon request.