Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit May 24, 2019 
 
 
 
 
 
Candidate Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning           
 Afternoon          
 Evening 
 Night
 
 
   
 
 
 
Caregiver in Toronto

 

 
 
 
Verona B.     Age 54      Female      Toronto, ON  - Sheppard
 
Member ID: 151634 
Seeking work as a : Caregiver / Companion 
Position Type: Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
I enjoy caring for seniors and particularly but not limited to those with Dementia/Alzheimer. I love what I do and I am very skilled at it. I am extremely competent, dependable and punctual. I observe my clientÕs needs and cater to them with patience and understanding. I pay attention to detail. I enjoy travelling, watching old black & white movies and listening to music. I am a great listener and a good conversationalist.
 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
No 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Yes 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
10 years experience, 5 references
I enjoy caring for seniors and anyone with Dementia/Alzheimer. I love what I do and I am very skilled at it. I am very dependable and punctual. I observe my client’s needs and cater to them with patience and understanding. I enjoy travelling, watching black and white movies and listening to music. I am a great conversationalist.
 
 
 
Skills:
   Ambulation Assistance
 
   Bathing Assistance
 
   Bed Bath
 
   Bed Pan
 
   Dressing Grooming assistance
 
   Heavy Patient lifting & transfer
 
   Hoyer Lift
 
   Patient Positioning
 
   Range of Motion Exercise
 
   Toileting Assistance
 
 
Experience and skills with following Diagnosis :
   Alzheimer's
 
   Amputee
 
   Arthritis
 
   Bedridden
 
   Cancer
 
   Dementia
 
   Diabetes
 
   Fractured Hip
 
   Hospice
 
   Incontinence (diapers)
 
   Paralysis
 
   Pneumonia
 
   Ventilator Dependent
 
   Visual Impairment
 
Education/Training:
Caregiver / Companion, Home Support Worker , First Aid Certificate, CPR Certificate, College, Background Check Appropriate For Individuals Employed With Vulnerable Persons 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Caregiver / Companion 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
Work Hours:
 
Position Duration:
   As Long as Needed
 
Prefer to work in:
   Home Health Care
 
 
Desired Start Date:
November 01, 2018 
Desired Salary:
$25/Hour or Negotiable salary 
Willing to travel :
Yes 
Duties:
   Housekeeping
 
   Laundry
 
   Grocery Shopping
 
   Meal Planning / Preparation
 
   Supervise Home
 
   Errands
 
   Clean Bathroom
 
   Assist with Walking
 
   Vacuuming
 
   Hand Wash Dishes
 
   Escort to Appointments
 
   Plan Visits, Outings, & Trips to Visit Neighbours, Friends, Family
 
   Bathing Assistance
 
   Alzheimer/Dementia Care
 
   Palliative Care
 
   Parkinson Care
 
   Lifts and Transfers
 
Hoyer Lift
 
 
Additional Experiences/Qualifications/Preferences:
I performed the following but not limited to: o Provided primary care, daily shower/wash, shave, mouth care, getting dressed o Prepared meals, tidied kitchen, washed laundry o Prepared grocery list and bought groceries o Accompanied on daily walks o Ensured safety at all times o Engaged conversation to stimulate mind o Administered daily medications and applied medical patch o Maintained and organized medication log sheet o Picked-up medication at the pharmacy o Arranged and attended doctors’ visits and liaison with family o Monitored health for possible changes o Applied medical knowledge and skills o Provided companionship o Assisted with crossword puzzles and reading o Documented relevant and useful client information o Initiated safety procedures and practices o Applied body mechanics o Provided palliative care 
 
 
  References
 
Doug Reilly 
To Whom It May Concern, Beginning in June 2016 our father, who was then 99 years of age, required assistance to continue living in his condo. We discovered Verona from a local website for caregivers. She was chosen due to her impressive references. When we met her for the first time we liked her warm personality, confidence in her abilities and willingness to accommodate our needs. We were concerned how Dad would approve of a complete stranger spending every day with him as he was not always an easy person to get along with. It was discovered that Verona would take great pleasure in listening to Dad�s life experiences on a daily basis and they would have long conversations. Over time Verona and Dad�s relationship formed a strong bond and part of this was due to Verona�s great sense of humour. Our Father could be a very picky eater and Verona would go to great lengths to prepare meals just the way he liked them. We found Verona to be very professional in her care of our father. No detail was too small and she communicated every change in behavior, health or requirement into a journal she implemented and maintained daily. Verona maintained Dad�s home immaculately and every need was fulfilled. She would even buy decorations to brighten up his home for the various holiday occasions. A big concern was getting Dad to agree to having assisted bathing. No family member had succeeded in convincing him to go along with this. Somehow, amazingly, Verona managed to make him comfortable enough with this awkward situation and to our relief he agreed to her helping him with a regular bathing schedule. We found Verona to be very trustworthy and reliable. She never let our family down. Caring for our father was more than just a job and her heart was in it 100 percent. She would stay over scheduled time if she felt it was necessary and she would drop by and check on him after hours to make sure he was ok. Our family is forever grateful for the loving care and support Verona provided Dad. We highly recommend her services as a caregiver and know that she will exceed your expectations. Most Sincerely, Doug  
 
 
Feizel Suleman 
TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN I am writing to highly recommend Verona to you. Verona helped me by assisting me look after my mom after she was released from hospital in December 2015. We asked Verona to help us as an additional resource to the assistance we got from CCAC. There were a lot of CCAC PCW�s who looked after my mother, and my mother always like Verona the best. Verona was highly dependable, very compassionate and caring, very kind and gentle, and highly knowledgeable about medications, treatments and needs for the elderly. One example of Verona�s excellent care is how she helped my mom with her discomfort with constipation. The nurses/doctor caring for my mom recommended oral medication or suppositories while Verona recommended something more natural instead. In Verona�s experience, her method was more effective, and relieved discomfort better. We followed Verona�s recommendation and it was very effective, and my mom did not have to swallow more pills every night or experience discomfort of suppositories. Please feel free to call me anytime if you need any more information on my recommendation. Thank you, Feizel