Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit October 06, 2017 
 
 
 
 
 
Candidate Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning       
 Afternoon      
 Evening               
 Night              
 
 
   
 
 
 
Caregiver in Whitby

 

 
 
 
Shelley W.     Age 49      Female      Whitby, ON  - Thickson/Rossland
 
Member ID: 220992 
Seeking work as a : Personal Support Worker 
Position Type: Live-Out, Part Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
As a PSW for over 13 years, since 2004, I believe I have found my calling. I have worked in the public all my life, but find that being able to help people remain in their home (I enjoy mostly home care) the most rewarding. In me, you will find someone who is compassionate, and pays close attention to detail. I feel it is extremely important to build a trust with the clients that I help, and the best way to do that, is to be a great listener. It's very important to make the client feel comfortable, and allow them to maintain their dignity and independence where possible. Working together as a team with the client, and the family will allow a smooth transition into a more vulnerable state for the more elderly, or physically challenged client. I have not come across a situation yet where I haven't been able to get a smile, or a twinkle in the eye of someone I have helped.
My palliative care training has taught me to be sensitive to the care and needs of both client and family. It has taught me to not be afraid of death, but to acknowledge the inevitable, and prepare for it in the best way possible. 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Willing to obtain 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
10 years experience, 3 references
I have been working as a PSW since 2004, working the majority of that time in the community doing home care. I also worked for 2 years in a long term care facility on the locked unit with Alzheimer's and dementia residents. 
 
 
Skills:
   Ambulation Assistance
 
   Bathing Assistance
 
   Bed Bath
 
   Bed Pan
 
   Catheter/ Colostomy Care
 
   Dressing Grooming assistance
 
   Hoyer Lift
 
   Patient Positioning
 
   Range of Motion Exercise
 
   Toileting Assistance
 
 
Experience and skills with following Diagnosis :
   Alzheimer's
 
   Amputee
 
   Arthritis
 
   Bedridden
 
   Cancer
 
   Cataract Removal
 
   Congestive Heart Failure
 
   Decubitus Ulcers
 
   Dementia
 
   Diabetes
 
   Fractured Hip
 
   Hearing Impairment
 
   Incontinence (diapers)
 
   Osteoporosis
 
   Paralysis
 
   Parkinson's
 
   Pneumonia
 
   Quad/ Paraplegic Care
 
   Shingles
 
   Speech Impairment
 
   Stroke
 
   Visual Impairment
 
Education/Training:
Personal Support Worker (PSW) Certificate , First Aid Certificate, CPR Certificate 
PSW diploma from Durham Continuing Education - Oshawa, ON Level 1 and Level 2 Palliative Care 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Personal Support Worker 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Part Time 
Work Hours:
 
Position Duration:
   As Long as Needed
 
Prefer to work in:
   Home Health Care
 
   Retirement Homes
 
   Clinic / Hospital
 
 
Desired Start Date:
February 01, 2017 
Desired Salary:
$23/Hour 
Willing to travel :
Yes,but up to 10 km 
Duties:
   Laundry
 
   Grocery Shopping
 
   Meal Planning / Preparation
 
   Errands
 
   Clean Bathroom
 
   Assist with Walking
 
   Escort to Appointments
 
   Plan Visits, Outings, & Trips to Visit Neighbours, Friends, Family
 
   Bathing Assistance
 
   Palliative Care