Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit March 31, 2020 
 
 
 
 
 
Candidate Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning 
 Afternoon              
 Evening               
 Night
 
 
   
 
 
 
Caregiver in Ottawa

 

 
 
 
Brenda M.     Age 55      Female      Ottawa, ON  - Queen Elizabeth
 
Member ID: 238233 
Seeking work as a : Caregiver / Companion or Registered Nurse (RN/PRN) 
Position Type: Live-Out, Part Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
I am a mom of three children and 5 animals. My children are mostly grown and on their own. I recently went back to school to become a PSW and loved the work. I wanted to learn more so became an RPN. I have a degree in Psychology with ECE that I utilized years ago before having children of my own. I have always had an interest in health and wellness. Having my children at home with a midwife, I became very interested in the life cycle and the idea that we are all connected and the question of, ' what is a life well lived'? I have an interest in working in palliative care, which I do very often. I am passionate about helping seniors live their fullest life. We often ignore or minimize the importance of the presence of seniors in Western society. I believe all beings are worthy of living their best life until their last breath.
I love animals, nature, cooking, baking, reading, learning new skills and plan to become an RN in the future.
I was raised with music, dance, skating and skiing as my active pursuits and feel best when I can hike every day with my beautiful Labrador Retriever. 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
No 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Yes 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Married 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
Other 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
4 years experience, 3 references
I worked in Home care for several years before becoming an RPN. I worked full-time, half of it visiting clients in retirement homes, and half of it visiting clients in their homes. Most of my clients were palliative; palliative care is end of life care but it is also caring for those with life-limiting illness and disease i. e. Multiple Sclerosis.
I am a nurse who works in Community Care as well as visiting clients in their own homes. 
 
 
Skills:
   Ambulation Assistance
 
   Bathing Assistance
 
   Bed Bath
 
   Bed Pan
 
   Catheter/ Colostomy Care
 
   Dressing Grooming assistance
 
   Giving Injections
 
   Heavy Patient lifting & transfer
 
   Hoyer Lift
 
   Oxygen Administration
 
   Patient Positioning
 
   Range of Motion Exercise
 
   Toileting Assistance
 
   Tube Feeding
 
 
Experience and skills with following Diagnosis :
   Alzheimer's
 
   Bedridden
 
   Brain Tumor
 
   Cancer
 
   Chemotherapy/Radiation Treatment
 
   Decubitus Ulcers
 
   Dementia
 
   Diabetes
 
   Dialysis
 
   Fractured Hip
 
   Hearing Impairment
 
   Hospice
 
   Incontinence (diapers)
 
   Osteoporosis
 
   Paralysis
 
   Parkinson's
 
   Pneumonia
 
   Quad/ Paraplegic Care
 
   Speech Impairment
 
   Stroke
 
   Visual Impairment
 
Education/Training:
Personal Support Worker (PSW) Certificate , Registered Practical Nurse (RPN) Certificate, First Aid Certificate, CPR Certificate, Bachelor's Degree 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Caregiver / Companion or Registered Nurse (RN/PRN) 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Part Time 
Work Hours:
 
Position Duration:
   1 - 2 years
 
Prefer to work in:
   Home Health Care
 
   Retirement Homes
 
 
Desired Start Date:
May 27, 2017 
Desired Salary:
$21/Hour or $2800 - $3000/month 
Willing to travel :
Yes,but up to 30 km 
Duties:
   Laundry
 
   Grocery Shopping
 
   Supervise Home
 
   Errands
 
   Assist with Pet Care
 
   Assist with Walking
 
   Escort to Appointments
 
   Bathing Assistance
 
   Palliative Care