Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit October 16, 2017 
 
 
 
 
 
Candidate Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning 
 Afternoon
 Evening 
 Night              
 
 
   
 
 
 
Caregiver in Edmonton

 

 
 
 
Merle K.     Age 55      Female      Edmonton, AB  - 9090 Shaw Way SW
 
Member ID: 247749 
Seeking work as a : Caregiver / Companion or Personal Support Worker 
Position Type: Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
Hello, I was an LPN for 20 years and still hold current CPR and First Aid tickets. I am divorced and my 2 children are grown and moved away from my home. In my spare time I like to refurbish old furniture and I enjoy reading fiction. I currently live alone but have large extended family which means the world to me. My mother is elderly but very healthy and I play a big part in her life, she lives in a care facility in Evansburg AB. I enjoy the elderly generation and love to help where I can. I feel independence is very important to them, while supervision and assistance is crucial for their well being and ability to stay in their own home. I miss working in the health care profession but I chose a change while my children were teenagers as they needed me more than I needed to work shift work. My most recent employment has been in an office environment which I also enjoyed but the economic conditions in AB have me seeking yet another career path. 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Willing to obtain 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Divorced 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
Christian 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
10 years experience, 3 references
I was an LPN from 1983 till 2004. I worked in all different departments at 2-3 different hospitals during those 20 years. I found at the end of my nursing career, that my preference was with the elderly. I worked 4 years on a locked Alzheimers unit and enjoyed the challenge and rewards of this environment. 
 
 
Skills:
   Ambulation Assistance
 
   Bathing Assistance
 
   Bed Bath
 
   Bed Pan
 
   Catheter/ Colostomy Care
 
   Dressing Grooming assistance
 
   Heavy Patient lifting & transfer
 
   Hoyer Lift
 
   Oxygen Administration
 
   Patient Positioning
 
   Range of Motion Exercise
 
   Toileting Assistance
 
   Tube Feeding
 
 
Experience and skills with following Diagnosis :
   Alzheimer's
 
   Amputee
 
   Arthritis
 
   Bedridden
 
   Cancer
 
   Cataract Removal
 
   Chemotherapy/Radiation Treatment
 
   Congestive Heart Failure
 
   Decubitus Ulcers
 
   Dementia
 
   Diabetes
 
   Fractured Hip
 
   Hearing Impairment
 
   Hospice
 
   Incontinence (diapers)
 
   Osteoporosis
 
   Paralysis
 
   Parkinson's
 
   Quad/ Paraplegic Care
 
   Speech Impairment
 
   Stroke
 
   Visual Impairment
 
Education/Training:
Caregiver / Companion, Home Support Worker , First Aid Certificate, CPR Certificate, College 
LPN, graduated 1983. I no longer have a license but believe my ability to care for people mostly comes from the heart. After my 20 year career, I am confident I can care for anyone. 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Caregiver / Companion or Personal Support Worker 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
Work Hours:
 
Position Duration:
   As Long as Needed
 
Prefer to work in:
   Home Health Care
 
   Retirement Homes
 
   Clinic / Hospital
 
 
Desired Start Date:
August 11, 2017 
Desired Salary:
$20/Hour 
Willing to travel :
Yes,but up to 30 km 
Duties:
   Housekeeping
 
   Laundry
 
   Grocery Shopping
 
   Meal Planning / Preparation
 
   Supervise Home
 
   Errands
 
   Clean Bathroom
 
   Assist with Pet Care
 
   Assist with Walking
 
   Vacuuming
 
   Hand Wash Dishes
 
   Escort to Appointments
 
   Plan Visits, Outings, & Trips to Visit Neighbours, Friends, Family
 
   Bathing Assistance
 
   Alzheimer/Dementia Care
 
   Palliative Care
 
   Parkinson Care
 
   Lifts and Transfers