Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit May 13, 2019 
 
 
 
 
 
Candidate Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning   
 Afternoon  
 Evening   
 Night  
 
 
  Every second saturday and 2-4 days during the week as alternating with my 2nd job schedule. Can discuss specific schedule plans, willing to pick up whenever I possibly can.  
 
 
 
Nanny Profile 
Caregiver in Pickering

 

 
 
 
Erica S.     Age 21      Female      Pickering, ON  - 5155 Sideline 14
 
Member ID: 319837 
Seeking work as a : Caregiver / Companion or Personal Support Worker 
Position Type: Live-Out, Part Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
Hello,
My name is Erica and I am a nursing student attending Lakehead University. I am from northern Canada, and I am relocating to the pickering area. Due to my northern upbringing, I love the outdoors, being active, and being in nature. I am looking for casual/part time babysitting, home care and housekeeping jobs. I have my Health Care Provider first aid & CPR, and have acquired some nursing skills throughout my education and prior job experiences. I have just completed a clinical placement through my schooling and have the skill set to look after people of all ages and conditions. I have been working in the health field for a few years now, and find it extremely rewarding. The experience of providing quality care to a client and being able to make a difference is what makes me passionate about this field. The ability to make a small difference in a clients day (even just putting a smile on their face) is what drives my desire to provide the best care. I have had experience within my own family with fatal illness, palliative care, cancer and other diseases. This has given me a great deal of empathy and understanding when working with clients. I want clients and their families to feel confident in knowing that I will care for them as if they were my own family member in need of care. Providing equal care to all clients is something I value as a health care provider. Meaning and personal growth is a gift my clients give to me when I am given the wonderful opportunity to care for them in a professional manner. 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Yes 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Single 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
No Religion 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
3 years experience, 5 references

Community Services for Independent Living: Caring for adults with disabilities. I cared mainly for post stroke patients(aphasia, dysphagia), diabetic clients, paraplegic care, quadriplegic care, persons with schizophrenia, persons with depression, cerebral palsy, brain injuries and more. Care included all activities of daily living such as bathing, feeding, transferring, running errands, accompanying clients to activities, medications, insulin administration, catheters, ostomy, wound care and more.

Nursing Clinical Placement at Hogarth Riverview Manor: Clinical Nursing Placement through Lakehead University at a long term care facility. Caring for older adults with dementia, alzheimers, MS, COPD, and various health conditions. I have learned many effective therapeutic communication techniques throughout my job experiences and educational experiences allowing me an ability to connect and establish rapport with those from all walks of life.

Paramed: Home care Services. This job included going out into the community to service clients in their homes. I cared mainly for older adults assisting with medications, personal care, house work, feeding, dressing, bathing, catheter care, transferring, ostomy care and more. 
 
 
Skills:
   Ambulation Assistance
 
   Bathing Assistance
 
   Bed Bath
 
   Bed Pan
 
   Catheter/ Colostomy Care
 
   Dressing Grooming assistance
 
   Heavy Patient lifting & transfer
 
   Hoyer Lift
 
   Patient Positioning
 
   Range of Motion Exercise
 
   Toileting Assistance
 
 
Experience and skills with following Diagnosis :
   Alzheimer's
 
   Amputee
 
   Arthritis
 
   Bedridden
 
   Brain Tumor
 
   Cancer
 
   Cataract Removal
 
   Chemotherapy/Radiation Treatment
 
   Congestive Heart Failure
 
   Decubitus Ulcers
 
   Dementia
 
   Diabetes
 
   Dialysis
 
   Fractured Hip
 
   Hearing Impairment
 
   Hepatitis
 
   Hospice
 
   Incontinence (diapers)
 
   Malnutrition
 
   Osteoporosis
 
   Paralysis
 
   Parkinson's
 
   Pneumonia
 
   Quad/ Paraplegic Care
 
   Shingles
 
   Speech Impairment
 
   Stroke
 
   Visual Impairment
 
Education/Training:
Caregiver / Companion, Personal Support Worker (PSW) Certificate , Health Care Aides (HCA) Certificate, Home Support Worker , First Aid Certificate, CPR Certificate, College, Bachelor's Degree, Nursing Student 
2018 +: Enrolled at Lakehead University in the Bachelors of Science in Nursing Program. 2017: Graduated from Confederation College Pre Health Sciences Pathways to Advanced Degrees and Diplomas Program with first class standing. 2015: Graduated high school. 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Caregiver / Companion or Personal Support Worker 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Part Time 
Work Hours:
20 - 30 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   3 - 12 months
 
Prefer to work in:
   Home Health Care
 
   Retirement Homes
 
   Clinic / Hospital
 
 
Desired Start Date:
April 27, 2019 
Desired Salary:
$20/Hour 
Willing to travel :
Yes,but up to 10 km 
Duties:
   Housekeeping
 
   Laundry
 
   Grocery Shopping
 
   Meal Planning / Preparation
 
   Supervise Home
 
   Errands
 
   Clean Bathroom
 
   Assist with Pet Care
 
   Assist with Walking
 
   Vacuuming
 
   Hand Wash Dishes
 
   Escort to Appointments
 
   Plan Visits, Outings, & Trips to Visit Neighbours, Friends, Family
 
   Bathing Assistance
 
   Alzheimer/Dementia Care
 
   Palliative Care
 
   Parkinson Care
 
   Lifts and Transfers
 
 
 
  References
 
Michelle Proudfoot 
Michelle was my Clinical Instructor during my Winter 2019 nursing placement at Riverview Manor, Long Term Care. This placement took place through my nursing program at Lakehead University and is a mandatory component of the course. Attendance, professionalism, and meeting care standards are also mandatory for success. My placement ran from January to April, with weekly evaluations and check ins by the Clinical Instructor.