Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit June 11, 2019 
 
 
 
 
 
Candidate Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning 
 Afternoon
 Evening 
 Night
 
 
  I am generally available for short-notice help  
 
 
 
Housekeeping Profile 
Caregiver in Pickering

 

 
 
 
Gillian Y.     Age 32      Female      Pickering, ON  - Finch & Altona
 
Member ID: 320640 
Seeking work as a : Caregiver / Companion or Personal Support Worker 
Position Type: Live-Out, Part Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
May 3 2019

Hi I am Gillian or Jill, a former full-time PSW (Personal Support Worker) looking to assist families in the Greater Toronto Area, with non-routine activities or tasks.
I graduated in 2013 with my PSW certificate and began working in retirement community in Pickering, later moving to the administration side of things, and assisting families and their loved ones to make the 'big move' to a seniors residence, at different residences in the GTA.
I was born in Quebec, but raised in Ontario, so I speak English, and conversational French, and appreciate the Montreal Canadiens- but only tolerate the Leafs.
I enjoy watching and playing sports, camping, hiking, and I am comfortable with the care and upkeep of (most) pets.

I am comfortable with all aspects of personal care, and have a lot of experience supporting people living with Alzheimer's disease and other dementias, as well as their families. I have volunteered for a while with the Alzheimer Society, and received my certificate in Gentle Persuasive Approach. I have made many connections with seniors in my communities, and am generally able to adapt to any religious or cultural background, to put people at ease.

While dementia-care is my main focus, I am open to child-care, as well as house keeping, or a combination of these.

I live my life with a smile, and love to help anyone I can, so please feel free to email me if you have any other questions, or would like to know more :)
 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
No 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, French 
 
My Nationality:
Other 
Police Check:
Willing to obtain 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Single 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
No Religion 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
5 years experience, 2 references
In my roles in leasing for retirement residences, I met many families who did not live close to their loved ones, or did not have the flexibility in their schedule to provide assistance when it came to things such as unexpected issues or non-routine tasks that suddenly arose (changing light bulbs, help with computer not printing/WIFI not working, grocery shopping/meal prep, soiled bedding cleaning, yard work or accompaniment to doctors/day procedure appointments).

While I have been employed by larger residences or "retirement homes", and supported many residents at once, I have spent the last several months, assisting a family member at her personal home, while she has been receiving chemo (among other care-needs), and was no longer able to live alone.

Those 2 situations are what made me decide to help families who are in need of this type of infrequent assistance, where there may not be the option to move into a retirement community, or they are safe and comfortable at their current home, but would benefit from some extra support from time to time.

I will generally not have a minimum hour requirement, as I would just like to be available for these "things" that come up in life that don't require a "3 hour minimum" visit.

If you're looking for a bit more detail for assistance that can be provided not in-home, I would accompany the senior client to appointments such as the doctor or to the bank, or with tasks like shopping for groceries or personal necessities. We would take a Lyft/Uber or taxi, if there isn't a personal car that can be used (I will not be insuring my car for client transportation). For shopping**, if the senior client wants, I can help them shop from the comfort of their own home using my iPad to purchase what they need online for either home delivery or click n' collect (myself or family to pick up).
If the family prefers to email a list on their behalf, I can also complete the shopping and deliver to the senior client (unpack and putting away if necessary).

I will either record audio, WhatsApp video call a family member or note take for any appointments, and provide the family an email of what transpired. An email will be done for any visit as well, to outline what was done, and provide insight on anything notable (changes in health, or mood, home maintenance required etc. )

**Note regarding senior fraud - I would only allow any shopping (excursions or online) to happen with families who have access to the senior client's banking, so that they are aware of what is being spent and where. I will provide a copy of the itemized receipt, so that transactions can be matched up.
 
 
 
Skills:
   Dressing Grooming assistance
 
   Range of Motion Exercise
 
ROM exercises as provided by family or physio/doctor
 
Experience and skills with following Diagnosis :
   Alzheimer's
 
   Amputee
 
   Arthritis
 
   Cancer
 
   Chemotherapy/Radiation Treatment
 
   Congestive Heart Failure
 
   Dementia
 
   Diabetes
 
   Hearing Impairment
 
   Hepatitis
 
   Hospice
 
   Incontinence (diapers)
 
   Malnutrition
 
   Osteoporosis
 
   Paralysis
 
   Parkinson's
 
   Pneumonia
 
   Quad/ Paraplegic Care
 
   Speech Impairment
 
   Stroke
 
   Visual Impairment
 
Education/Training:
Personal Support Worker (PSW) Certificate , First Aid Certificate, CPR Certificate 
CPR and First Aid have lapsed, but will re-obtain before start date (was not needed for admin. roles) 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Caregiver / Companion or Personal Support Worker 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Part Time 
Work Hours:
30 - 40 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   As Long as Needed
 
   Occasional/As Needed
 
Prefer to work in:
   Home Health Care
 
 
Desired Start Date:
May 03, 2019 
Desired Salary:
$20/Hour or Negotiable salary 
Willing to travel :
Yes,but up to 30 km 
Duties:
   Housekeeping
 
   Laundry
 
   Grocery Shopping
 
   Meal Planning / Preparation
 
   Supervise Home
 
   Errands
 
   Clean Bathroom
 
   Assist with Pet Care
 
   Vacuuming
 
   Hand Wash Dishes
 
   Escort to Appointments
 
   Plan Visits, Outings, & Trips to Visit Neighbours, Friends, Family
 
   Alzheimer/Dementia Care
 
   Palliative Care
 
   Parkinson Care