Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes



Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit August 11, 2017 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
  Would be able to work overnight on occasion, if required under specific circumstances.  
Nanny & Babysitter in Nepean


Darby W.     Age 23      Female      Nepean, ON  - Stonepointe avenue
Member ID: 114048 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type: Live-Out, Full Time 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
  About Me
My name is Darby and I have recently graduated university, hoping to begin Teacher's College in the fall. I am currently working as an Au Pair in Paris, France, but will be returning home to Nepean at the end of May 2017, where I will be living with both of my parents, my younger brother, and our black lab, Holden. I have a great amount of experience working with and caring for children of all ages. I was employed by the City of Ottawa Aquatics department for about three and a half years, beginning as a volunteer assistant swim instructor, working my way up to a qualified swim instructor and lifeguard myself. I spent years lifeguarding and teaching swimming lessons to children of all ages, ranging from the "parent and tot" level (infants to 3 years of age) to the beginnings of the lifesaving courses (ages 14 and up). After completing my bachelor's degree, unsure of what to pursue next, I moved to France and am presently working as a live-in Au Pair, caring for two children aged 4 and 6. I am enjoying every second of the job, actually finding it hard to consider my day-to-day life "work". being one of these kids' primary caregivers has been an incredibly rewarding experience that I wouldn't change for the world.

I have always enjoyed spending time with children and have always jumped at opportunities to help friends and family members with babysitting their young children. I am an extremely responsible, kind, and hard working person and have had years of extensive first-aid training. I would love the opportunity to spend the summer working with a nice, caring family and am up to any challenges that may come with caring for one or many children this summer. 
Valid Driver's License:
Has a Vehicle:
Can Swim Well:
Smoking Status:
Comfortable with pets:
Languages spoken:
English, English, French 
My Nationality:
Police Check:
Eligible to work in Canada:
Civil Status:
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
  Work Experience & Education Background
1 years experience, 3 references
I have always been interested in childcare, and began babysitting for friends and family members as soon as I was old enough. I spent three summers as a junior leader at day camps within the City of Ottawa, and there, gained valuable experience working with children of all ages. I then began working as a lifeguard and swim instructor for the City of Ottawa and continued there for 2 full years plus two summers, after I left the area for university and could no longer work during the school year. At the city, I was exposed to children of all ages, and of all abilities and spent those few years learning how to teach, communicate with and bond with each and every one of them. Most recently, I am currently working as an Au Pair in Paris, France, caring for two children, a boy and a girl, aged 4 and 6. I have been living with this sweet family since September 2016 and will be with them until the end of May 2017, when my contract is up. I have thoroughly enjoyed this experience and would love to continue in a similar position as a nanny, babysitter, or mother's helper when I return home to Ottawa at the end of May.

I have spent extensive amounts of time with children of all ages and have been rightfully trusted with their safety and well being. I believe that I have the experience, the work ethic and the desire to be an excellent caregiver. 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age  
High School, Graduated High School or Equivalent, Bachelor's Degree, CPR Training, First Aid Training 
I graduated from Merivale High School and later Queen's University as an honour roll student, achieving a Bachelor's Degree of Science with a major in Life Sciences. I hope to continue my education in the Teacher's Education program at the University of Ottawa in September 2017. 
  Job Preferences
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Full Time 
Work Hours:
40 - 50 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   Summer Position
Will work with up to:
Three children 
Childcare Duties:
   Light Housekeeping
   Running errands
   Preparing meals
   Transporting children
   Children's Laundry
   Limited/light housekeeping
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
   Children's baths and dressing
   Help with homework
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
   Packing Children's lunches
   Planning activities for the children
Desired Start Date:
June 01, 2017 
Desired Salary:
$14/Hour or $2000 - $2200/month 
Will work at night:
Willing to relocate:
Will care Special Needs Children:
Will travel with the family:
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
   Feed pets during work day as directed
   Walk dog and/or pet care
   Plant care (indoor)
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
   Empty kitchen trash as required
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
Jessica Rooryck 
Jessica is the mother of my amazing host family in Paris. I have been taking care of her and her husbands' children, before and after school while they are at work, since September 2016 and will be with them until the end of my contract in May 2017. 
Carolyn MacLeod 
Carolyn was my supervisor at Crestview Outdoor Pool, one of the City of Ottawa pools I worked at during the summer of 2012. She was also a supervisor while I worked at Walter Baker Sports Centre. My employment was terminated when I left for university.