Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit March 14, 2021 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning       
 Afternoon        
 Evening             
 Night              
 
 
   
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Qualicum Beach
 

 

 
 
 
Madison A.     Age 27      Female      Qualicum Beach, BC  - Hoylake Rd.
 
Member ID: 140888 
Seeking work as a : Nanny 
Position Type: Live-Out, Part Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
Hello, my name is Maddy and I am new to this area. I grew up in northern Alberta and moved to Nanaimo five years ago where I completed a diploma at the Canadian School of Natural Nutrition. I fell in love with the land, the people and my partner and now call Vancouver Island home. We moved to Qualicum Beach for my partner's job in September and are enjoying the slower pace that this community offers. I am a student, entering my second year of study in Fertility Awareness and Reproductive and Sexual Health. I am super passionate about well woman care and have dreams of one day becoming a midwife.

I enjoy cooking, going to farmers markets, being in nature and my plants. I don't have kids of my own but I have a large family so I have grown up around kids all of my life. I also have work experience with kids from nannying, teaching yoga, and nutrition and lifestyle classes that I used to offer in schools.

In most cases, I connect well with kids. I think they are so funny and sweet and honest and I love spending time with them. My best quality is my warmth and gentleness. I am good at making people feel welcome and heard; I think that listening is important and I try to include and honor kids perspectives while keeping healthy boundaries that create a sense of safety and containment for them.

 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Yes 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Married 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
Spiritual - Not Religious 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
2 years experience, 5 references
I have been a nanny for two families. My first experience was with two five year olds. It was a perfect exchange for the family and I. At the time, I was attending school and their parents both worked, with the mom being out of town Monday-Thursday. I stepped in for after-school care, making dinners, playing, driving to classes and preparing the kids for bed before their dad got home. The kids were wonderful, I miss them thinking about them. The parents were very considerate, always very organized and communicating early and effectively with me.

I lived with the second family I worked with as part of an exchange. They had two boys, an eight year old and a five year old. The mom was away at school and the dad worked, sometimes part-time hours, sometimes full-time. This experience was challenging for me because expectations were not made clear, and communication was often lacking, or passive-aggressive. It was challenging to navigate the entanglement of my place of work and home sharing the same space, and I frequently felt uncomfortable and unappreciated. I chose to leave earlier than we had originally agreed because I felt that it was affecting my well-being.

I also have experience teaching yoga classes for kids through Tilicum Lelum as well as nutrition and healthy lifestyle series and cooking classes in schools. These were all amazing opportunities that I enjoyed very much. 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, twins, triplets  
Education/Training:
High School, Graduated High School or Equivalent, College, CPR Training, First Aid Training, Reiki Level 2, Yoga Instructor, Registered Holistic Nutritonist 
Since graduating from high school I have completed an introductory course in Psychology and Sociology at GPRC. I have 275 hours of training as a yoga instructor and I have graduated as a Registered Holistic Nutritionist. I am currently in my second year of a Fertility Awareness, Reproductive and Sexual Health program, as well as studying Anatomy and Physiology through Thompson Rivers online learning, and English at VIU. 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Part Time 
Work Hours:
less than 20 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   Less than 3 months
 
   3 - 12 months
 
Will work with up to:
Three children 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
November 25, 2016 
Desired Salary:
$20/Hour or Negotiable salary 
Will work at night:
No 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
Yes,but up to 30 km 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
 
 
  References
 
Stephanie Green 
I have been a teacher at her yoga studio, OmTown, for four years. 
 
 
Breana Curnow 
I have taught kids yoga classes to the Qeq College group that she coordinates through Tilicum Lelum.