Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes



Find a   within   from Postal code    Basic Search  
Living Arrangements:
Language(s) spoken:
Age Range:  
Last Login:
Special needs children
Has Driver's License
Has own car
Comfortable with pets
Travel with family
Has photo
Willing to work at night
Years Experience:  
 Experience with age groups:
Newborn - 3 months   3 - 12 months  
1 - 2 years   2 - 5 years  
5 - 10 years   over 10 years of age  
special needs children   twins, triplets  
Willing to relocate
Live in Caregiver Program Required
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit May 14, 2020 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
  Don't have a car, but can walk, bike or bus if close enough.  
Nanny & Babysitter in Victoria


Emma W.     Age 26      Female      Victoria, BC  - Pandora St.
Member ID: 141833 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper 
Position Type: Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
  About Me
Hi. My name is Emma Whicher. I just graduated from University of Victoria with a BA in English in June 2019.
I was born in Minnesota, but moved out here to go to university and row for the Vikes women's rowing team. My family, who still live in Minnesota, includes my dad, mom, and younger sister. I love all things outdoors; going hiking, exploring parks, and just generally being outside. Staying active is one thing that is quite important to me. Another important thing about me is that I love music. Listening to everything, playing the guitar, and singing are more than just a passion for me. I live with my amazing boyfriend of 5 years here in lovely Victoria where I plan to stay for the rest of my life.
I absolutely love kids and I enjoy spending my time with them either in a daycare setting, babysitting position, or spending time with my younger sister and/or younger cousins at home. I would like to say I have a long experience in childcare, being the oldest child in my family; I have always been around to help with my younger sibling and cousins. From this experience, my passion and love for helping and caring for my younger siblings grew into a passion for teaching other children. Because of this, I eventually held a position for 4 winters with Ski Jammers Ski and Snowboard School, teaching kids from about 7-10 how to snowboard. In the summers, I held a position as a camp counselor for 4 years, prior to those 4 years I was a camper at that same camp. Another amazing experience was at daycare in Minnesota called Especially for Children, where I worked for two summers in full-time positions. During my time there, I floated between different aged rooms and worked with infants, toddlers, and pre-school children; the youngest being 4 months and the oldest being 5 years. My last and most influential experience that truly made me want to purse an education in teaching was working at a local daycare called Simply Fun Childcare here in Victoria. I have worked at this daycare for over 4 years. Although I currently still work at this centre, I first started off as a full-time teacher working closely with 7 children ages 1-5 years. As I slowly went back to school, I transitioned to part-time work and afternoon care. Currently, I work closely with my boss and do more daycare maintenance and administrative work to help her business run smoothly. Being a leader at this centre allowed me to provide a safe, fun, approachable, nurturing learning environment; qualities I will always strive to bring forward within my experiences within childcare and teaching.
Eventually, as I have a passion for teaching and children, I will be applying to the Elementary PDPP at UVIC to pursue Elementary education and teaching. Depending on work, I will be applying to this program in hopes to get in for next September. With my current schedule, I need one day in the afternoon (Fridays) to volunteer at George Jay Elementary school to gain more experience for this program. Because of this I am looking for an almost full-time nanny position for January 2020 and would also be willing to start part-time work sooner. Along with this position, I am more than willing to help out around the house (cleaning, housework, and/or cooking). I am a very approachable, genuine and loving person. I love watching children grow and learn and have fun and love being a part of their little lives :)
Thank you.
Valid Driver's License:
Has a Vehicle:
Can Swim Well:
Smoking Status:
Comfortable with pets:
Languages spoken:
English, English, Spanish 
My Nationality:
Police Check:
Eligible to work in Canada:
Civil Status:
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
  Work Experience & Education Background
5 years experience, 3 references
Summer camp Counselor at Tamahay Camp for Girls for 4 years. In charge of guiding and leading various activities for 2 2-week sessions. Activities include being in charge of a cabin of a closely aged ranged group, cabin counselor, group leader, horseback riding, swimming, canoeing, arts and crafts, tennis, archery, gymnastics, and outdoor nature activities. The girls ages ranged from 7-16 years old. I was also a camper at this camp and started when I was 8.

Snowboard iInstructor for 4 years at Skijammers Ski and Snowboard school. In charge of teaching and leading snowboard classes on weekends for 8 weeks. I taught kids age ranges from 6-10 years old.

Worked as a full-time aide at a daycare called Especially for Children for 2 summers. Provided care and supervision of children ages 4 months to 5 years old. Assisted with all daily learning and care routines, facilitated with pre-k education, helped with meal preparation, toileting and diapering..

Worked as a Daycare Teacher at Simply Fun Childcare. Provided care and teaching of 7 children ages 11 months to 5 years. Daily care and supervision of children, teaching of daily lessons/activities (including pre-k education, outside play, sensory learning, art, stories, songs, etc. ), scheduling routines and field trips, facility centre cleaning, supervision of meals times, nap times, and toileting/diapering.

Worked/working as a Daycare helper at Simply Fun Childcare. Includes various part-time inside and outside jobs at each centre location (6 locations) such as office work/paperwork, answering phones, scheduling, giving tours of the centers, assisting with field trips/concerts, babysitting, yard-work, gardening, housework, cleaning, painting, and fixing/putting together equipment in order to maintain and keep up the physical presentation of each daycare center. 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, special needs children, twins, triplets  
High School, Graduated High School or Equivalent, College, Bachelor's Degree, CPR Training, First Aid Training 
Graduated from Minnetonka High School in 2012 Graduated from University of Victoria with a BA in English June 2019 
  Job Preferences
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
Work Hours:
30 - 40 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   1 - 2 years
   As Long as Needed
Will work with up to:
Two children 
Childcare Duties:
   Light Housekeeping
   Running errands
   Preparing meals
   Transporting children
   Children's Laundry
   Limited/light housekeeping
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
   Children's baths and dressing
   Help with homework
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
   Packing Children's lunches
   Mending Children's clothing as required
   Planning activities for the children
Desired Start Date:
January 06, 2020 
Desired Salary:
Will work at night:
Willing to relocate:
Will care Special Needs Children:
Will travel with the family:
Housekeeping Duties:
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
   Full meal preparation and service
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
   Greeting/serving household guests
   Feed pets during work day as directed
   Walk dog and/or pet care
   Plant care (indoor)
   Family laundry
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
   Empty kitchen trash as required
Elaine Denne 
Camp counselor at Tamahay Camp for Girls for 4 summers: 2010-2012 and 2014. Myself, mother, aunts, sister, and cousins have all gone to the camp as campers/counselors so Elaine has known me my whole life. Chose to stay out here. 
Cathie Underwood 
Teacher aide at Especially for Children for 2 summers in 2013 and 2014. Chose to stay out here.