Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit March 19, 2019 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning   
 Afternoon  
 Evening   
 Night  
 
 
   
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in North Vancouver
 

 

 
 
 
Brigitte L.     Age 24      Female      North Vancouver, BC  - 680 seylynn cres.
 
Member ID: 152828 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor 
Position Type: Live-Out, Part Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
Hi there :)

My name is Brigitte Langford, a 24 year-old psychology graduate, specifying in Developmental Psychology at Simon Fraser University. I am currently taking part-time design courses at Emily Carr and am looking to continue the fulfilling job of being a nanny for the foreseeable future. I have a niche for working with kids, as I myself love most of the activities and interests they love. I grew up being raised by nannies, so I recognize the importance of having a patient, exciting, interesting, creative, and positive person to take care of your children. I am often described as all of those things, along with "bubbly", enthusiastic, compassionate and empathetic - best known for always having a smile on my face.

I have past work experience painting full-bedroom murals and freelance graphic design. I consider myself to be fairly artistic. In my spare time I am also a part-time vocalist - I adore teaching children to sing. I prefer being on my feet during the workday, being on-the-go, being outdoors.

I truly believe my purpose is to work with children. :) 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
No 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Yes 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Single 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
4 years experience, 3 references
Work Experience/Cover Letter:

I am often described as having child-like qualities such as high enthusiasm, energy, optimism, and creativity. I also love comic books, disney movies, outdoor activities, singing, drawing and painting - which is why babysitting has been my preferred job thus far in life.

For the past two years I have been a nanny, while finishing my Psychology degree at Simon Fraser University and attending part-time classes at Emily Carr University for Art and Design. I was the full-time caretaker of two incredible twins, Henry and Daisy, from when they were 2. 5 - 4. 5 in age. We spent everyday going to the park, making crafts, having dance parties, talking about our love for puppies, practicing our numbers and letters, learning how to sing, and trying to become the kindest people we could be. While they are in preschool full time now, I now undoubtedly consider them (and their parents) my family and am frequently over visiting.

Prior to this, I also gained experience nannying an 8 year-old boy in the summer of 2013. Marshall and I spent each day walking to parks, playing with bubbles, kites, making crafts, "racing" hot wheels cars, reading, dancing around the house, talking about comic book characters, drawing his favourite superheros, etc. One of the highlights of the summer was when we went to a pirate themed playground, where I drew out a map to find "buried treasure" in the large sand box. I put a stick next to where I had buried a few quarters, and slowly navigated us to that area. He went absolutely ecstatic when he found the "goods" and we ran from the imaginary vengeful pirates to the convenience store to get popsicles.

 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, special needs children  
Education/Training:
Graduated High School or Equivalent, Bachelor's Degree 
St. Theresa's High School - Midland, Ontario: 2009-2012 - Student Council Vice President - Valedictorian - Legacy Award Queen's University - Kingston, ON: 2012-2013 - Bachelor of Arts - AMS Student Government Vice Principle Simon Fraser University - Burnaby, BC: 2013-2016 - Psychology Major: Developmental Specialized - Completed Study-Abroad in Glasgow, Scotland for the Fall 2015 term 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Part Time 
Work Hours:
20 - 30 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   As Long as Needed
 
Will work with up to:
Four or more 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Mending Children's clothing as required
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
May 01, 2016 
Desired Salary:
$20/Hour 
Will work at night:
Yes 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
Yes 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Full meal preparation and service
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Greeting/serving household guests
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family laundry
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
 
   Maintain household accounts/ pay bills
 
   Book household travel arrangements
 
   Supervise contractors and tradespersons
 
   Supervise other household staff
 
   Event and entertainment planning and organization
 
 
 
Additional Experiences/Qualifications/Preferences:
Volunteer Experience: Musical Theatre Workshops - Kingston, ON: Oct 2012-Feb 2013 - Queen’s University AMS - Elementary School visits to multiple schools; attempting to showcase the talents of children - Conducting 1. 5 hour-long sessions on singing, acting and dance Best Buddies Program - Burnaby, BC: January 2014-Current - Simon Fraser University SFSS Club - Dedicated to enhancing our communities through one-to-one friendships between people with intellectual disabilities and students - Minimum of two hours per week