Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit December 11, 2018 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning 
 Afternoon
 Evening 
 Night
 
 
   
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Vancouver
 

 

 
 
 
Brittni H.     Age 28      Female      Vancouver, BC  - E Georgia Street
 
Member ID: 158554 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type: Live-In or Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
I am currently transitioning out of my position as a Full-Time caregiver/nanny/private educator to a 5-year old boy and a 14-month old girl. I have been with this family for over 3 years (began in 2015). My responsibilities include assessing and scaffolding various adolescent developmental and behavioural milestones. I bring my experience as a Pre-Kindergarten teacher into the home, as well as in different outdoor environments (literacy, arts, science, gross and fine motor skills, cultural awareness, sociodramatic play, etc. ) I drive the children to and from school, and often assist with and interact in different community and educational activities. Aside from these priorities, I am also am responsible for cooking, cleaning, taking care of pets, and other day-to-day duties around the home.

I am strongly interested in working with children long-term, and have invested in strengthening my Professional Development whenever possible. I have a desire to create different programs for parents and children that enable them to reach their fullest potential. I am an art and eco-therapy advocate and have a strong drive to continue to nourish this passion of mine through working in one-on-one and group settings.

I am uniquely qualified for the position because I have a sincere interest in working with children, and have made it my life long mission to immerse myself in various educational and therapeutic capacities for children. I believe that my University degree in Psychology and Sociology has equipped me with necessary analytical knowledge, and that the many years of experience working with children in a variety of settings, has allowed me to come to an extensive understand of human developmental needs. I often apply my values as an advocate for eco-and art-therapy modules, to many areas of my approach in working with children. 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English, Spanish, Japanese 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Willing to obtain 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
6 years experience, 3 references
WORK EXPERIENCE

Au Pair (August 2015 - November 2018)
Vancouver, BC
Children 0-5 years old (References available)
- Take children to various nature-based environments (gross motor development, sensory development, immunity building)
- Assist with and engage in different community and educational activities (gymnastics, music, art, swimming, and more)
- Drive children to and from school
- Responsible for cooking, cleaning, taking care of pets, and other day-to-day duties around the home

Saplings Outdoor Preschool & Vancouver Society Of Children's Centres (2017-Current)
Casual Early Childhood Educator
(West Vancouver, BC)
- Povide children with an opportunity to connect with the environment in a safe and enjoyable way

Pre-Kindergarten Educator
YMCA of Northern Alberta: Early Years Child Care
William Lutsky & Norwood YMCA Early Years
(April 2014 - July 2015)
- Create and follow through with weekly planning of developmentally appropriate activities and educational components of the YMCA Playing to Learn Curriculum
- Ensure a safe and sanitary classroom environment, following rigid cleaning schedules
- Help to guide, redirect, and assist children with problem solving and self-help skills during situations of conflict
- Communicate to parents daily, both verbally and in writing (Play Highlights, Documentaton)
- Interacting respectfully and team-building with staff members throughout the day
- Ensure confidentiality of parents, children and fellow staff
- Offer great customer service to participants, YMCA staff and volunteers (following through when information is requested)

Educational Assistant
Community Options: A Society for Children and Families
Learned Robin Montessori Daycare
(October 2013 – April 2014)
- Ensure that the child with behavioral and developmental delays participates fully in the Individual Program Plan set out by the Occupational, Speech, and Physical therapists. Observes and documents child’s progress on target goals.
- Assists at the early learning site with the curriculum and daily routines in the classroom
- Meet with therapists and teachers to share information, supporting full inclusion and communication with the families

Volunteer / Teacher Assistant
Rundle Elementary School
(November 2012 – January 2013)
- Interacting with and supervising elementary students in classroom settings
- Assessing academically struggling children’s reading and writing levels and instruction and support for their reading and writing abilities
- Assisting teachers with marking and various play and art related activities 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, special needs children, twins, triplets  
Education/Training:
High School, Graduated High School or Equivalent, College, Bachelor's Degree, CPR Training, First Aid Training, ECE License 
At the University of Alberta I pursued a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology, and have taken many courses related to Childhood development, as well as many theory-based Seminar courses (Vygotsky, Piaget, etc. ) I have a minor in Sociology with a specialization in Criminology. I also have a diploma in Early Childhood Education. 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type:
Live-In or Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
Work Hours:
30 - 40 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   Less than 3 months
 
   3 - 12 months
 
   1 - 2 years
 
   greater than 2 years
 
   As Long as Needed
 
   Summer Position
 
   Occasional/As Needed
 
Will work with up to:
Three children 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Mending Children's clothing as required
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
November 11, 2018 
Desired Salary:
Negotiable salary 
Will work at night:
No 
Willing to relocate:
100 km Radius 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
Yes 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Full meal preparation and service
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Greeting/serving household guests
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family laundry
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
 
   Maintain household accounts/ pay bills
 
   Book household travel arrangements
 
   Supervise contractors and tradespersons
 
   Supervise other household staff
 
   Event and entertainment planning and organization
 
 
 
Additional Experiences/Qualifications/Preferences:
I received a scholarship for the 2017 Children in Nature Network Conference 
 
 
  References
 
Available Upon Request