Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit September 11, 2019 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning           
 Afternoon          
 Evening 
 Night
 
 
   
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Vancouver
 

 

 
 
 
Genevieve M.     Age 40      Female      Vancouver, BC  - Arbutus and West 16th
 
Member ID: 166537 
Seeking work as a : Babysitter or tutor 
Position Type: Live-In or Live-Out, Part Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
Hi there, family. I am a Montessori-trained educator with decades of experience in child care and education. While I am attending university on a part-time basis (I am applying to do my Master's degree in Counselling Psychology in order to better serve children and young people). I am absolutely loving working with kids on a more individual level than I could in the classroom.

In the years I have spent as a teacher and tutor, I have done my utmost to provide my students with every opportunity for success. I have taken pride in creating classroom environments where students feel safe, cared about, and free to express themselves. I have been a passionate advocate for my students' special interests and special needs. Years of teaching also exposed me to a number of different parenting styles and discipline theories; I have picked up lots of great tips and tricks, and I am happy to go with your family's flow and do my best to maintain consistency for your child(ren).

In addition to tutoring in both French and English, I have volunteered my services to underprivileged children in need of academic assistance. My work as a freelance Behaviour Interventionist has afforded me experience with kids on the Autism Spectrum, among other special needs, and enriched my techniques in behaviour management and conflict resolution. I believe my enthusiasm and genuine care for the spiritual as well as educational development of children contribute to my value as a nanny. I am also a pretty fab cook and I love to do laundry. : ) 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English, Spanish, French, (very) basic Spanish and Italian 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Yes 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Single 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
10 years experience, 4 references
2010 – present Professional Nanny. Provided exceptional childcare to families of diverse socio-cultural backgrounds and to children with Special Needs. Responsible for the safety, well-being and happiness of children ages six months to 12 years. Planned wholesome and educational activities and outings based on children’s interests, current studies, and local cultural events. Prepared nutritious, balanced meals and snacks. Maintained neatness and order of the home, occasionally supervising household support staff. Performed other duties as required to maintain the smooth operation of the household, including, but not limited to, homework assistance, laundry and dry cleaning, children’s doctors’ appointments, errands, and supporting children in their extra-curricular activities.

2002 – 2010 Lead teacher in various Montessori schools in Canada, the Caribbean, and Southeast Asia. Bilingual education specialist. Created and implemented individualized lesson plans. Performed individual and group assessments. Maintained records of presentations and of behaviours observed. Maintained stakeholder relations with parent and upper management. Demonstrated excellent organizational skills. Provided educational consulting. Provided recruitment of educational professionals. Acted as a program ambassador. Involved in school promotion. Provided training of educational assistants and career coaching for teachers internationally.
 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, special needs children  
Education/Training:
Bachelor's Degree, CPR Training, First Aid Training, College Child Education Courses, Montessori Diploma 
2014 - present University of British Columbia Diploma in Counselling (completion date: 2019) 2010 - 2011 University of Ottawa French Program of Study: Psychology (Hon. BA) 2007 - 2009 Toronto Montessori Institute Diploma for Elementary Program (Grades 1-6) 1998 – 2002 McGill University, Montreal, QC Anthropology (BA)  
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Babysitter or tutor 
Position Type:
Live-In or Live-Out, Part Time 
Work Hours:
less than 20 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   Less than 3 months
 
   3 - 12 months
 
   As Long as Needed
 
   Occasional/As Needed
 
Will work with up to:
Two children 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Mending Children's clothing as required
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
May 21, 2019 
Desired Salary:
$25/Hour or Negotiable salary 
Will work at night:
Yes 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
Yes 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Full meal preparation and service
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Greeting/serving household guests
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family laundry
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
 
   Maintain household accounts/ pay bills
 
   Book household travel arrangements
 
   Supervise contractors and tradespersons
 
   Supervise other household staff
 
   Event and entertainment planning and organization
 
 
 
Additional Experiences/Qualifications/Preferences:
2014 – present Behaviour Interventionist. Worked as part of a team to deliver ABA therapy to children and young adults on the Autism Spectrum. Delivered therapy to increase social, language, play, and conversation skills, appropriate and expected behaviour, as well as practical life skills. Specialised in academic and social skills. Generalized mastered/learned skills into various settings. Kept meticulous records of therapy programs and observed behaviours. 2002 – 2012 Freelance bilingual tutor. Assessed academic strengths and challenges of students aged six to sixteen years. Provided academic, linguistic and social/emotional support for students in a variety of settings. Delivered lessons and created support material using traditional and innovative methods, supporting multiple intelligences and learning differences as needed. Implemented varied learning support programs including Simultaneous Multi-Sensory Training and the Orton-Gillingham Method. Helped identify personal and educational needs and goals; celebrated and showcased the strengths and milestones of each student. Communicated with parents and liaised with classroom teachers regarding students’ progress and challenges.  
 
 
  References
 
Lauren Binnendyk 
I met Lauren through my training to be a Behaviour Interventionist and was delighted at the chance to work with her more closely. Her daughter, Charlie, is a magnificent little girl with a rich imagination and keen curiosity for the world around her. It was a joy to help in fostering the growth and creativity of this amazing kid for two years, watching her grow from a cheeky, precocious preschooler to a clever, confident, and articulate kindergartener. I feel privileged to remain a part of her life even after she has outgrown the need for a nanny.  
 
 
Heike and Rich Joyes 
This family and I met through a private nannying agency, last spring. I knew they were the perfect family for me the moment I read their posting. We met for an interview and they cancelled their later appointments, they'd met their nanny. These wonderful people quickly welcomed me as a member of their loving, growing family and circle of support for their beautiful boy, Leighton. This little dynamo has boundless energy and a passion for sports and Nature and made me laugh every day. I was so pleased to be able to continue to assist this family through the birth of their second child and mama's year at home with Baby Addyson. I love getting to see these guys grow as I continue to babysit for the family on occasion.