Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit November 27, 2020 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning 
 Afternoon
 Evening 
 Night
 
 
   
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Calgary
 

 

 
 
 
Ulla A M.     Age 58      Female      Calgary, AB  - 2712 40th Street SW
 
Member ID: 168352 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter or Mother's Helper 
Position Type: Live-In or Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
My name is Ulla. I am at a unique stage in my life where I am seeking a position that will allow me to share my life experience raising children, running a business and a household, and my love for cooking with others. I was born and raised in Aulum, Denmark. Following my graduation from high school, I worked for a year as a live-out au pair caring for twin two-year old boys and their five-year old brother. In September, 1983, I followed my family and moved to Calgary, Alberta. I am fluent in both written and spoken Danish and English.

Soon after moving to Canada, I met the love of my life, Kevin, and we married in 1985.

Professionally, I worked for 20 years developing a food manufacturing business that, together with my family, to we started in 1987. As the company’s General Manager, we operated the business from Okotoks, AB until 2003 when we grew into a larger facility that we bought in Claresholm, AB.. We manufactured tortilla chips and tortillas in the private label sector. Our business success was confirmed when we sold it in 2007.

Personally, I have always had an interest in exceptional child care, both for my family and for new mothers. Having worked as an au pair I knew what we needed when my husband and I set out to find our own live-in nanny in 1996. Over the next 5 years, we had two very successful live-in nanny relationships under the Federal Government’s Live-In Caregiver program. In 2009, I completed the Calgary Doula Association’s Post-Partum Doula course. Known as ‘Ulla the Doula’, I enjoyed the course material very much.

Most recently I worked as the general manager for a senior’s retirement village covering a seven month sick leave.

At this time in my life, working to support another growing family is exactly where I would like to be. With my own children grown and living away, I am fortunate to have the time to devote to this effort. Supporting a family through healthy nutrition is a key component in my interest area. I am mobile with a new all-wheel drive SUV and looking for a position in the Calgary area.
 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
Danish, English 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Yes 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Married 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
Lutheran 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
10 years experience, 0 references
I raised my own three children, born in 1990, 1993 and 1996. Prior to this in 1980, I worked as an au pair for a year in Denmark caring for two 2-year old boys and one 5-year old boy. 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, twins, triplets  
Education/Training:
High School, Graduated High School or Equivalent, College, CPR Training, First Aid Training 
Both my CPR-A and Standard First Aid have expired - Will re-cert as necessary 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter or Mother's Helper 
Position Type:
Live-In or Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
Work Hours:
20 - 30 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   Less than 3 months
 
   3 - 12 months
 
   As Long as Needed
 
Will work with up to:
Two children 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
January 01, 2021 
Desired Salary:
$22/Hour 
Will work at night:
Yes 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
No 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Full meal preparation and service
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
 
   Maintain household accounts/ pay bills
 
   Book household travel arrangements
 
   Supervise contractors and tradespersons
 
   Supervise other household staff
 
   Event and entertainment planning and organization
 
 
 
Additional Experiences/Qualifications/Preferences:
You can consider me the equivalent of a Mrs. Doubtfire except I am a female. I am easy going, fun loving and understand first hand the demands of a busy family, juggling work and family. 
 
 
  References
 
Susan Dunn 
Pioneer Land Service, Calgary, AB - Susan is a Petroleum Industry Landman and I was her Land Secretary. We have known each other for 30 years and had our children at the same time.  
 
 
Ali Shivji 
Ali hired me to be the GM of his 58 suite retirement home in Claresholm AB.