Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes



Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit April 20, 2017 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
  Could stay overnight if needed.  
Nanny & Babysitter in Ottawa


Miranda M.     Age 24      Female      Ottawa, ON  - Catherine
Member ID: 171625 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter 
Position Type: Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
  About Me
I am a fourth year social work student with a minor in women’s and gender studies. I come from a small town called Napanee. I was raised in a big, loving and supportive family with three older sisters who are now married and have sons. My nephews are very important to me, whenever I go home the majority of my time is spent with them and the rest of my family. My hobbies include reading and biking and my favorite TV show is Grey’s Anatomy. I have extensive experience looking after youth starting with The Greater Napanee Gymnastics Club as a Coach and Camp Counsellor, The Ottawa Boys and Girls Club as well as babysitting my young nephews since they were born. I am very strong and comfortable working with children and families. Personally I am a responsible, caring and a professional individual who understands the importance and joys of looking after children. I hope you will give me the opportunity to discuss this very important position more. 
Valid Driver's License:
Has a Vehicle:
Can Swim Well:
Smoking Status:
Comfortable with pets:
Languages spoken:
English, English 
My Nationality:
Police Check:
Eligible to work in Canada:
Civil Status:
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
  Work Experience & Education Background
10 years experience, 5 references
Gymnastics Coach, 2009 – Present

* Coach children from ages one to fifteen using positive leadership skills

* Work with co-ed recreational classes ages two to fifteen

* Lead conditioning exercises

* Set up various stations to improve skills using various equipment

* Assist with fundraisers

* Encourage learning using gym equipment, games, and skill development

Coach and Camp Counsellor for the GNGC Day Camp, summer 2008 – Present

* Supervise children on day trips and engage in activities with them at camp

* Use my team skills to lead games and activities during the day

* Organize and set up a craft for each day

* Taught children different gymnastic moves using a variety of equipment

* Supervise lunch breaks and interact with students to promote inclusivity

* Effectively communicate with young children to keep everyone on task

* Stay at work afterwards to meet parents and ensure everyone is picked up

* Work with children with disabilities such as Autism

* Talk with parents, making myself available to answer any questions or concerns

Waitress at The Waterfront River Pub and Terrace & The Breakfast Club

* Arrived in a timely manner for each shift

* Worked hard under pressure

* Managed to serve up to five full s at once while keeping all guests happy

* Worked as part of a team with other staff to ensure a positive dining experience for all customers

Summer Student at Hospice in the Lennox & Addington County General Hospital, summer 2015

* Provided emotional support to patients, and their families, in palliative suits

* Delivered music therapy within the hospital setting

* Conducted follow-up visits with clients between hospital and community

* Assisted with delivering medical equipment to clients in need in the community

* Managed data, including detecting missing information, and developed a new file system

* Adept at handling confidential and/or sensitive information

* Planned, organized and successfully executed Loonies for Hospice fundraiser

Prestige Dance Academy, 2005 – 2010

* Supervised children ages four to six in the studio

* Encouraged fun and learning

* Demonstrated skills

* Assisted with fundraising

Boys and Girls Club Student Placement, 2014-2015

* Built relationships with at risk youth and encouraged them to better understand their own abilities and skills and identify and pursue their goals for the future

* Assisting in delivering programs that focused on the following: social responsibility; education; physical activity and healthy lifestyles; leadership and social skills; and creative arts

* Assisted with the Homework Club, which is an after-school mentoring program offered to youth who require academic support

* Designed and developed the “bullying booklet”

* Assisted youth to write applications for bursaries

* Made myself available to support youth with any issues they were dealing with

* Responsible to uphold confidentiality and ethical practices 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, special needs children, twins, triplets  
High School, Graduated High School or Equivalent, CPR Training, First Aid Training 
I have graduated high school with honors in 2012 and I am currently in my fourth year of my B. A in Social Work with a minor in Women's and Gender Studies. Next year I plan to work on my Masters in Social Work. I have various gymnastics coaching certificates as well as CPR and First Aid training both are up to date. 
  Job Preferences
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
Work Hours:
30 - 40 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   As Long as Needed
   Summer Position
   Occasional/As Needed
Will work with up to:
Four or more 
Childcare Duties:
   Light Housekeeping
   Preparing meals
   Children's Laundry
   Limited/light housekeeping
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
   Children's baths and dressing
   Help with homework
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
   Packing Children's lunches
   Mending Children's clothing as required
   Planning activities for the children
Desired Start Date:
March 20, 2016 
Desired Salary:
Will work at night:
Willing to relocate:
Will care Special Needs Children:
Will travel with the family:
Housekeeping Duties:
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
   Feed pets during work day as directed
   Walk dog and/or pet care
   Plant care (indoor)
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
   Empty kitchen trash as required
Additional Experiences/Qualifications/Preferences:
I have experience working with all age groups of youth and a range of abilities. 
Bill Pierson 
This is the Director of the Gymnastics Club. He has known me since I began gymnastics when I was two. He has watched me work with various age groups in different leadership roles. 
Cynthia Bekolay 
Cynthia is the Director of the Boys and Girls Club. She was my supervisor at The Boys and Girls Club.