Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit May 25, 2019 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning 
 Afternoon
 Evening 
 Night              
 
 
   
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Victoria
 

 

 
 
 
Manuella S.     Age 21      Female      Victoria, BC  - 4148 Gordon Head RD
 
Member ID: 198516 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter 
Position Type: Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
I am a current third year psychology student at the University of Victoria, but I am originally from Calgary, Alberta. My main focus is on Youth Psychology. My goal is to obtain a masters’ degree and work with young adults and children in a hospital, specifically in the Mental Health unit. I love volunteering, helping others and connecting with people as I am very sociable and personable.
I have worked in the customer service industry for six years with the Calgary Stampede and as a barista at Starbucks for three years. For my first two years at the Calgary Stampede I was a guest service host. This meant helping people on the grounds with any questions they had. In my past two years I was promoted and worked in side answering guests over phones and emails and supervising other employees. Saying this, I have a lot of experience with working in big and small groups, and have learnt how to handle and manage stress in a professional manner, avoiding conflict. I have also learnt how to work independently when needed. In this role I have received two major awards for my guest relation experience, along with being promoted again and reeving the title of “team lead” and having my own team to be responsible for. I am highly organized and this was very beneficial for this job.
In the Summer of 2018, I worked at a summer camp in Calgary with children ages 5-15. I worked mostly with our kindergarten group which included kids ages 4-6. I was responsible for taking a group of 20-25 kids through their day of activities such as swimming, art, and games. I was also responsible for partaking in all activities as this is motivational for the kids to also join in. My end career goal is to be working with kids and I found that summer camps are an amazing opportunity for me to gain experience. The other job I did was a Health Care Aide for six-year old boy with many disabilities that include having a G-tube for feeding and a trach tube for breathing which I was responsible for. I have also spent many hours helping high school ALP and Access classes. These are classes for kids with mental disabilities.
I chose to pursue psychology, not only because I am very interested in the subject, but because I know this field truly allows me to give back to a community and help others. Along with school and work I have a passion for music which has taught me discipline, but also has shown me ways to deal with stress and anxiety. I began vocally training when I was four and continued to compete and sing for fun as I grew up along with learning theory, piano and flute to a high level. I have never considered a different degree and was ecstatic when I was accepted to the psychology program at the University of Victoria. I started my first year at Mount Royal University in Calgary but soon knew that I would benefit from the program offered here. I have completed more than half of my courses and have been enjoying it very much. Through all of my past work experience, I have learnt different techniques on how to communicate with large or small groups of people while still having fun and taking on a leadership role and being extremely organized. Along with this I pride myself on being very easy to get along with. I hope that all of the skills and experience I have obtained, specifically working with people, will come in handy for this particular position.
 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
No 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Yes 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Single 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
8 years experience, 3 references
I am a 21 year old psychology student at the University of Victoria. I am from Calgary, AB and have worked with children of all ages as a baby sitter, reading buddy and a camp counselor. Kids are creative, spontaneous, have fun-loving personalities and are always entertaining. Growing up I loved taking care of my sister and it has helped me transition into a reliable caregiver. I look forward to continuing spending time with children of all ages as I have so much fun and enjoy being apart of their lives.
Thank you for considering me for this position as I am aware of how important this decision is for families. 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, special needs children, twins, triplets  
Education/Training:
High School, Graduated High School or Equivalent, CPR Training, First Aid Training 
I am in my third year of psychology at the University of Victoria. 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
Work Hours:
40 - 50 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   3 - 12 months
 
   Summer Position
 
Will work with up to:
Three children 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
April 20, 2019 
Desired Salary:
$20/Hour 
Will work at night:
Yes 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
Yes,but up to 10 km 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Greeting/serving household guests
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family laundry
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required