Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit January 14, 2019 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning         
 Afternoon      
 Evening         
 Night              
 
 
  With my current school schedule, my availability fluctuates monthly. Please contact me for more information.  
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Edmonton
 

 

 
 
 
Jean V.     Age 25      Female      Edmonton, AB  - Charlesworth Drive SW
 
Member ID: 205070 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type: Live-Out, Part Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
Hello. My name is Jean V. and I am twenty-five years old. Currently, I am a full-time final year after degree Nursing student with the University of Alberta with a schedule that changes monthly.

For as long as I can remember, I have always been involved passionately in child care; my experiences range from taking care of my own little sister (where I am nine years her senior) when I was twelve years old, to neighbourhood teens to a full time nanny position for a family with children under three years old, or as a helper in a daycare for both the toddler and infants side.

My drive and interest towards children has guided many paths I have taken in my life, most importantly, the path towards my future. For example, I attained a Bachelor of Arts degree in Psychology with Distinction from the University of Alberta in 2015 with a particular interest in childhood and adolescent development; I learned and hold dear to my heart the many lectures I have attended regarding the importance of proper mental stimulation, understanding the stages of and theories of development, and other psychological practices that will ensure children are happy, fit, and, most importantly, free to be who they are with proper guidance and knowledge- I try my best to implement these theories in practice whenever I am around children, whether in a formal or informal setting. Furthermore, with my interest in mental health, I am currently pursuing a second Bachelor's degree in Nursing in the near future with an emphasis in mental health. Thus, children have truly molded my future endeavours in ways I am truly thankful for.

In addition, it is important for you to know some personal things about myself in order to garner a general idea of who I am: I come from a loving family of five and we immigrated to Canada from the Philippines fourteen years ago; I was taught that education, honesty, empathy, and hard work are the keys to life and I hold these values every single day. Currently, I reside in Edmonton with my supportive partner and our pet Hedgehog and I have been living in Edmonton for seven years (previously in Grande Prairie with my family). Furthermore, I can be described by peers and professionals as kind, optimistic, sociable, personable, caring, hardworking, open-minded, and an excellent team leader and member. Finally, some of my personal interests and hobbies include cooking, baking, organizing, interior decorating, watching re-runs of Seinfeld, Yorkshire Terriers, and working out at the gym when I can, among others.

Also, in addition to my experience in child care, I have been mainly employed or volunteered with non-profit organizations such as Society for Support to Pregnant and Parenting Teens as an event coordinator and daycare helper, the Canadian Red Cross as a Bullying program presenter to teens, the Good Samaritan Society in musical recreation and life stories development for the elderly, Summerside Residents Association as an assistant events and programs coordinator, and Scouts Canada as an office administrator. My dedication to non-profits reflects my desire to give back and improve our communities by providing my services to the institutions that hold similar beliefs to mine.

In sum, there is nothing more fulfilling than being in the company of children and the opportunity to watch them grow and impact their lives positively is what makes this area of work so appealing to me and unlike any other.

Thank you; I look forward to hearing from you in order to further discuss my qualifications and meeting your family. 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
No 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, Tagalog 
 
My Nationality:
Filipino 
Police Check:
Yes 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Single 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
Roman Catholic 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
3 years experience, 2 references
I have a wealth of experience in childcare beyond my own personal babysitting experience within my family (specifically, babysitting my younger sister)- these are:

First, I have worked as a neighbourhood babysitter occasionally for two years for a family with two boys aged six and nine when I was fourteen years old. At that time, I attained the St. John's Ambulance Babysitting course. Some of my duties included cooking, cleaning, helping with homework, settling disputes between the children, taking them to the park, and stayed for some late evening asleep hours.

Second, I worked as a daycare helper briefly for the summer months of 2013 with the non-profit organization Society for Support to Pregnant and Parenting Teens. In this role, I assisted the Early Childhood Educators on both the infant (zero to twelve months) and toddler (one to three years old) side with food preparation, cleaning, disinfecting, and organizing toys and spaces, partaking in activities such as story time, nap time, singing time, play time, and neighbourhood walks. I also worked with the team to share my perspectives on each individual child's needs and development and devising plans for a new space for the children to improve its mental stimulation for the children. At the same time, I was also babysitting a one year old boy for a family with an at-home working mother.

Third, I worked as a full-time Live-Out Nanny for the summer months of 2014 for a family with a three year old girl and a one year old boy. In this position, my duties included vacuumming, mopping, sweeping, and dusting the house, doing laundry, preparing breakfast, lunch, and sometimes dinner for the children, created activities to keep the children stimulated and busy (such as baking, crafts, reading stories, role playing, water activities, bike rides, and others), and taking care of their dog.

I am looking for ways to further extend and develop my child care skills and I am always open to opportunities that will allow me to do so. 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age  
Education/Training:
High School, Graduated High School or Equivalent, Bachelor's Degree, Certified Nanny Training, CPR Training, First Aid Training, College Child Education Courses 
I have attained a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Psychology with a minor in History with Distinction from the University of Alberta in 2015. Currently, I am a full-time final year after degree nursing student with the University of Alberta. I previously took the St. John's Ambulance Babysitting Course at around 2006. I currently hold my standard first aid and CPR certification and a Basic Life Support for Health Care Providers certification. 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Part Time 
Work Hours:
less than 20 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   Less than 3 months
 
   3 - 12 months
 
   Occasional/As Needed
 
Will work with up to:
Three children 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
January 05, 2019 
Desired Salary:
$18/Hour or $800 - $1000/month 
Will work at night:
Yes 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
No 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Full meal preparation and service
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Greeting/serving household guests
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family laundry
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
 
   Supervise contractors and tradespersons
 
   Supervise other household staff
 
   Event and entertainment planning and organization
 
 
 
  References
 
Melodie or Cassandra 
Melodie is the Executive Director and Cassandra is the childcare centre supervisor for the Society of Support to Pregnant and Parenting Teens in 2013. I worked for this organization for the summer of 2013 in a summer student position as an event coordinator and a daycare helper. 
 
 
RaeAnne 
I worked for the L family as a full-time live out nanny for the summer of 2014. My term ended because I returned to school on the fall of 2014.