Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes



Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit January 14, 2017 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
  I work Monday-Friday 9:00-5:30pm and I do not drive--therefore, depending on where one lives in the city, I may not be available until 6:30pm/7:00pm.  
Nanny & Babysitter in Ottawa


Margo W.     Age 35      Female      Ottawa, ON  - Cummings Ave
Member ID: 221012 
Seeking work as a : Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor 
Position Type: Live-Out, Part Time 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
  About Me
My name is Margo. I am Inuit/Irish from a small community in Northern Quebec, I moved to Ottawa to pursue my post secondary studies. I come from a family of 4 siblings, 4 nephews and parents who have been happily married for 35 years.

Proudly, I am a registered elementary teacher with the Ontario College of Teachers. I have taught grade 3 and grade 6 in Ottawa. I have had the opportunity to work with children diagnosed with special needs and behavioral issues for a year in Northern Quebec providing 1-on-1 support services. I have also provided 1-on-1 and small group tutoring for children ages 3-18 as an Education Coordinator with the Oxford Learning Centre.

As the Akwe:Go Program Coordinator at the Odawa Native Friendship Centre, I have provided 1-on-1 and group support services, organized weekly activities and special events.

I am passionate about education, encouraging creativity and providing positive feedback. I have babysat for many years in high school, as well as, my sisters' children.

I love to dance, go to the gym, color and read.

I am energetic, caring, attentive and committed to helping/supporting children succeed.

Please be advised, that I can provide more references than the ones listed.

Valid Driver's License:
Has a Vehicle:
Can Swim Well:
Smoking Status:
Comfortable with pets:
Languages spoken:
English, English 
My Nationality:
Police Check:
Eligible to work in Canada:
Civil Status:
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
Roman Catholic 
  Work Experience & Education Background
5 years experience, 5 references
Babysat children in my hometown of Blanc Sablon, Quebec for 3+ years in highschool, as well as, my sisters' children

Daycare Assistant
Ginger’s Home Day Care, St. Augustine River, QUE., September 2008-June 2009

• Assisted primary childcare provider with serving lunch to children
• Assisted in entertaining children through enriching activities

Math and English Tutor
Private Tutoring Ottawa, ON, Sept. 2001- June 2007

• Privately tutored children of various ages in Mathematics and English

While attending University in Ottawa, I had babysat my landlord's children occasionally during the day, afternoon, night and overnight Sept 2000-April 2004

I had a part-time cleaning position in Ottawa for less than a year, wherein I cleaned people's homes

Childcare experience within the following age groups:
1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, special needs children  
Graduated High School or Equivalent, Bachelor's Degree, Master's Degree, CPR Training, First Aid Training 
Summer 2009 Additional Qualification Course- Special Education Part 1 University of Ottawa, Ottawa, ON 2007-2008 Bachelor of Education, Primary/Junior Division University of Ottawa Ottawa, ON 2001-2005 Bachelor of Social Sciences, Honours Criminology, Minor Psychology University of Ottawa Ottawa, ON  
  Job Preferences
Seeking work as a :
Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Part Time 
Work Hours:
less than 20 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   1 - 2 years
   As Long as Needed
   Occasional/As Needed
Will work with up to:
Two children 
Childcare Duties:
   Light Housekeeping
   Running errands
   Preparing meals
   Transporting children
   Children's Laundry
   Limited/light housekeeping
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
   Children's baths and dressing
   Help with homework
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
   Packing Children's lunches
   Mending Children's clothing as required
   Planning activities for the children
Desired Start Date:
January 11, 2017 
Desired Salary:
Will work at night:
Willing to relocate:
Will care Special Needs Children:
Will travel with the family:
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
   Full meal preparation and service
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
   Greeting/serving household guests
   Feed pets during work day as directed
   Walk dog and/or pet care
   Plant care (indoor)
   Family laundry
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
   Empty kitchen trash as required
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
   Maintain household accounts/ pay bills
   Book household travel arrangements
   Supervise contractors and tradespersons
   Supervise other household staff
   Event and entertainment planning and organization
Inga Walsh 
Sister---babysat nephews 
Deena Fontaine 
I worked in collaboration with Ms. F at the Native Friendship Centre re: children and youth programming from 2011-2014