Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes



Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit September 10, 2018 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
  I have another job so hours would have to be discussed.  
Nanny & Babysitter in Edmonton


Sherry S.     Age 57      Female      Edmonton, AB  - 11142 76 ave
Member ID: 223933 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type: Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
  About Me
Child Care - I have experience in a broad spectrum of areas. I have worked in settings where the focus is imaginative lpay. I have also work where the focus is learning English, and being exposed to the Canadian culture. I have helped my charges explore skills in arts, music, science, mathematics, language, reading, physical movement, social skills, and natural sciences when and as needed. Sometimes with a single course area and sometimes within an integrated program. I have always tried to change lessons so that children learn skills through the use of multimedia, with both serious and fun lessons to help what is learned become integrated. Though my best group is 3 to 5 years old, I am also comfortable working with 12 month to 3 year olds. I have tutored school age children in English, reading, spelling, and basic mathematics skills. I am only fluent in English, but over the years have learned some French, Mandarin, and Spanish. Not enough for full conversations, but enough to sometimes help a child feel more welcome, or tell a child mom or dad will be back soon when it matters.

My full resume is available upon request, in person or sent to your email address should you provide it

Adult Care - Partly as a candystriper when younger, then later in voluntary positions, I have acted as a companion for older people on location. Sometimes, it was reading novels or non-fiction books to someone for enjoyment. Other times, taking trips to nearby parks or malls to just enjoy an afternoon. I have played cards, as well as games like Rummoli, Cribbage, and Yahtzee for afternoons. I have cooked light and heartier meals, always trying to combine 'tastes good' with nutrients so as to create a happy balance. I do not drive, but I do not at all mind long walks in all seasons.

Availability - I am available from morning until 1pm. What time in the morning depends on how far from me you live, and how hard the bussing is. I have another job for afternoons and evenings, but am available late evenings and over night if needed. For one or two days in a week I can work a full day, if booked in advance. 
Valid Driver's License:
Has a Vehicle:
Can Swim Well:
Smoking Status:
Comfortable with pets:
Languages spoken:
English, English 
My Nationality:
Police Check:
Eligible to work in Canada:
Civil Status:
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
  Work Experience & Education Background
10 years experience, 3 references
I have a Child Development Supervisor (formerly Level Three) certificate. I have worked both short term and long term part and full time positions in profit and non-profit locations in Edmonton, as well as temporary positions at the same as a substitute caregiver. I am adaptable enough that I can walk into any age group on-call, or work with any group up to and including developing programming and creating materials to explore themes with. In two locations the program I taught was also developing English skills as a second language for the children. Between 1990 and 2009 I worked part-time, on-call, or full-time in the daycare field in Edmonton. I took a break to be more available for my parents for their last few years, but am now able to work in the field again. 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, special needs children, twins, triplets  
High School, Graduated High School or Equivalent, Bachelor's Degree, CPR Training, First Aid Training 
Bachelor education with major elementary and minors of teaching English as a second language, and special education courses. Also picked up offered courses dealing with cross cultural education. 
  Job Preferences
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
Work Hours:
20 - 30 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   Less than 3 months
   3 - 12 months
   1 - 2 years
   greater than 2 years
   As Long as Needed
   Summer Position
Will work with up to:
Three children 
Childcare Duties:
   Running errands
   Preparing meals
   Children's Laundry
   Limited/light housekeeping
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
   Children's baths and dressing
   Help with homework
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
   Packing Children's lunches
   Planning activities for the children
Desired Start Date:
July 16, 2018 
Desired Salary:
Will work at night:
Willing to relocate:
Will care Special Needs Children:
Will travel with the family:
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
   Full meal preparation and service
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
   Feed pets during work day as directed
   Walk dog and/or pet care
   Plant care (indoor)
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
   Empty kitchen trash as required
   Maintain household accounts/ pay bills
Jessica Stevens 
Jessica was Assistant Manager at the store at Mayfield Common where I was a part-time sales professional between 2011 and 2012. She is now works at the West Edmonton Mall outlet. Jessica has seen my work ethics, and how responsibly I approach my position with people of all ages. Also, as many women would bring their children into the store with them, she has seen how I was able to relate to and with them when and as needed. 
Cordella Campbell 
Cordella was my room supervisor at Primrose Place, where I worked relief and later full time. I first met her in 2007 when she became a room supervisor there. When I became a regular employee, I spent half days in her room and we worked on creating the program plans together. We also did a lot of staged dramatic role playing together to help our charges see and understand how they could deal with day to day living more effectively, with social and communication skills.