Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit April 07, 2021 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning     
 Afternoon    
 Evening 
 Night              
 
 
   
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Vancouver
 

 

 
 
 
Hannah C.     Age 28      Female      Vancouver, BC  - Broadway and Cypress
 
Member ID: 228153 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type: Live-Out, Part Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
Hello/Bonjour.

My name is Hannah and I am a kind, energetic nanny looking to care for some great kiddos in the Kitsilano area. I am 28 years old, a recent master's graduate in psychology and currently work as a mental health counsellor in private practice. I am looking to provide childcare and light household support to 1 to 3 families in my neighbourhood, as I love feeling part of a family and deeply miss spending time with great kids. Having graduate training in developmental psychology, I take special interest in the psychological and emotional wellbeing of children under my care (i. e., I understand the importance of validating kids' big emotions. ). I take privacy and safety very seriously, am highly ethical and professional, and value open and communicative working relationships with parents. While English is my native language, I am comfortable working in French after having nannied for several families in Montreal.

I grew up on the shore of Lake Superior in Duluth, Minnesota and come from a relatively large family of six, so I am familiar with the joyful (and sometimes difficult) dynamics of siblings. I spent a large portion of my life pursuing an Olympic dream as a professional long track speed skater. While I never qualified for the Olympics, I had the great privilege of representing my country on the international stage at World Cups and World Championships around the globe. After retiring from sport, I now balance my time between my psychology practice, remaining physically active (I love to hike, bike, ski, you name it. ), and staying connected with loved ones back in the states. (I am a recent auntie who loves her baby nephew very much. ) Over the years, I have spent my summers, and much of my spare time, caring for children. During my time as a counsellor at YMCA Camp Chief Hector in the Canadian Rockies, I had the immense responsibility of caring for groups of preteens 24/7 for weeks at a time. This experience reinforced my love of working with kids and ignited in me a passion for the outdoors. While living in Montreal, I grew quite close with the families I worked for, providing after school care, cooking family meals, and investing my time and energy in their children's development. It genuinely fills me with joy to build meaningful relationships with the families I support.

In addition to spending time outdoors, I love to sing, do yoga (I am a certified yoga teacher), cook nourishing meals, and read feminist literature. I am an advocate of radical self-love and compassion as the keys to healthy psychological development. Having attended a Montessori school from preschool through 3rd grade, I am a huge proponent of child-centred education and believe that children have an innate curiosity about life. I believe it is my job as a nanny to nurture that innate curiosity through hands-on learning and time spent connecting with the natural world. I aim to be fully present when I am with your kids so that their needs for attention and connection are met.

I am looking for regular part-time as well as occasional hours. I am generally available 8am-10am and 3pm-5pm on weekdays. I have occasional weeknight and weekend availability (i. e., date night availability) if scheduled ahead of time. Please don't hesitate to contact me if your needs differ slightly from my available hours; my schedule is flexible.

Please know I take all COVID guidelines seriously. Currently, myself and my roommate both work from home, with each of us having small friend bubbles. I am happy to discuss safety precautions with you so that we all feel as comfortable as possible.

I have a loving, generous heart that I feel called to share with a great family. Previous families would describe me as warm, dependable, and fun. I am happy to provide referrals upon request. If you believe I would be a good fit, please contact me at hcurwin [at] gmail [dot] com.

I look forward to connecting with you.

Hannah 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
No 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, French 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Willing to obtain 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Single 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
10 years experience, 2 references
I have over 10 years experience caring for children ages 3 to 13 with diverse needs. Please read my bio to learn more about my experience. I look forward to connecting with you. 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, special needs children  
Education/Training:
Master's Degree, CPR Training, First Aid Training 
Master of Arts in Counselling Psychology 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Part Time 
Work Hours:
less than 20 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   Less than 3 months
 
   3 - 12 months
 
   1 - 2 years
 
   greater than 2 years
 
   As Long as Needed
 
   Summer Position
 
   Occasional/As Needed
 
Will work with up to:
Three children 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
March 23, 2021 
Desired Salary:
$20/Hour or $1600 - $1800/month 
Will work at night:
Yes 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
Yes 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Full meal preparation and service
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family laundry
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed