Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit July 30, 2020 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning 
 Afternoon
 Evening       
 Night              
 
 
  - Tuesdays only until 4pm - Willing to do Friday and Saturday evenings with sufficient notice - May be willing to do nights once I get to know the family well  
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Oakville
 

 

 
 
 
Cynthia M.     Age 25      Female      Oakville, ON  - 6th Line & Dundas
 
Member ID: 248386 
Seeking work as a : Babysitter or Mother's Helper 
Position Type: Live-Out, Part Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
I have an advanced diploma from Sheridan College's Child and Youth Worker program. I am currently working on my post-graduate (Autism and Behavioural Sciences) from Mohawk College.

I love working with children and learning new things. Most of my experience is with children in a school-setting between the ages of 6-12. That being said, I would greatly enjoy the opportunity to work with children and youth of any age.

Thank you for taking the time to read about me. 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
No 
Has a Vehicle:
No 
Can Swim Well:
No 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Yes 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Single 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
1 years experience, 1 references
Most of my child care experience was gained while working in a private school primarily for grades 2-8 with various learning abilities (i. e. ASD, ADD/ADHD, developmental delay, etc. ) for two years (one year college field practicum, one year paid) as an Educational Assistant. Additionally, I was a part of the after-school care team where we had homework club and supervised gym time. Through this experience, I learned how to incorporate a child's interests to make learning fun and utilized token and reward systems.

This experience made my passion for working with children grow, and I hope for the opportunity to work with various age groups. I am very interested in child development and would like to be a part of helping children reach milestones while providing them with their daily needs (i. e. meals, cleaning, physical activity).

Another one of my college field practicums was at a group home for ages 15-18. With the residents, I went for walks, went to the grocery store, and engaged in group activities (i. e. baking, games). I was in charge of dinner and snacks during some of my practicum shifts. Additionally, I had to ensure that staff and resident chores were completed at the end of each week. At the end of my practicum, I completed an overnight (24hr shift).

As someone who has worked in a school and group home with various allergies/dietary restrictions (and as a vegetarian myself), I respect and understand the importance of ensuring dietary needs are met. Even though I am a vegetarian, I am willing to handle and prepare meat products for the children in my care. My family consists of meat-eaters, so I know how to properly cook meat products. 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, special needs children  
Education/Training:
High School, College, CPR Training, First Aid Training 
Child and Youth Worker Advanced Diploma Sheridan College Sept. 2013 - Apr. 2016 In progress: Autism and Behavioural Sciences Mohawk College May 2017 - Present 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Babysitter or Mother's Helper 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Part Time 
Work Hours:
less than 20 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   Less than 3 months
 
   3 - 12 months
 
   Occasional/As Needed
 
Will work with up to:
Two children 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Mending Children's clothing as required
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
September 01, 2017 
Desired Salary:
Negotiable salary 
Will work at night:
Yes 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
No 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Supervise contractors and tradespersons
 
   Supervise other household staff
 
   Event and entertainment planning and organization
 
 
 
  References
 
Michelle Quick 
Michelle was the Head of School at the private school I worked at. I worked for her as a field practicum student for one year and then as a hired Educational Assistant for another year. The reason for termination was because each year the contract has to be renewed, but there were not enough families that signed up for extra support, so my service was no longer needed.