Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit February 10, 2020 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning 
 Afternoon
 Evening   
 Night  
 
 
   
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Calgary
 

 

 
 
 
This Job seeker already found a Job and not available for Job Offers
Join now and get access to thousands care providers and housekeepers in your area.
 
  About Me
 
Out of the mouths of babes and sucklings hast thou ordained cheese whiz and spittle 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, French 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Willing to obtain 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Single 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
No Religion 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
10 years experience, 3 references
About a decade ago, I was blessed with the opportunity to help care for my boyfriend’s daughter, who was but eight months old at the time. It was determined between her parents that shared custody would be best, with each parent getting a week at a time. I worked from home at this time while my boyfriend worked full time downtown, so together we decided that it was I who would become a full time parent, every other week. As a nervous new stepmum, I immediately immersed myself completely in the world of child development and child care, reading endless books on the subject and taking every class I could find in my efforts to prepare for my new role as guardian. Through my research and interactions with other parents, I discovered the tenets of positive parenting, an approach to parenting with which I immediately identified, and on which I determined I would build a style of parenting of my own. I loved the philosophy this style advocated: that encouraging and rewarding good behaviour in children is a more powerful tool and can make a greater impact in a child’s thought processes than can punishing that child for poor behaviour. I learned of the possible rationale behind tantrums and acting out and how I to best handle these behaviours; I also learned ways I could help minimize or even prevent these behaviours from occurring, by thinking and planning ahead for how a child might feel and react to a given situation. I learned of the different stages of emotional development in children, and how I must cease to expect the same reasoning or control of difficult feelings that I would from an adult. Expanding on this premise, it was made clear to me that children need to be free to express their feelings without fear of judgement or punishment, even the unpleasant ones, in appropriate ways and in a safe and supportive environment; that the way each child expresses their feelings would be predicated mostly on their age and in what stage of emotional development they are currently engaged.

And then finally, it was time. With this knowledge in hand and with what I hoped was a solid base of understanding of these concepts, I eagerly began my new life as my sweet little girl’s stepmum. Looking back on it now, with my greater experience not only with my boyfriend’s daughter but also with the other children I would care for and interact with and learn from, I know now that I was blessed with an incredibly special, what some might call ‘easy’, child. Sweet and gentle, this lovely child simply bubbled over with smiles and giggles and kisses. My little girl had a wonderful curiosity and a desire to explore; everything was to be picked up, examined, and tasted. Through observing and interacting with my new charge, I was afforded the opportunity to put into practice all of my newfound knowledge and to thus begin to create that style of parenting that would be mine alone. My little girl confirmed for me my hope that kindness could be the source from which all of my actions would stem; that I could still provide structure and boundaries and direction without having to relinquish my belief that kindness should always come first. I learned so much from my sweet little girl over our ten years together, as she helped me define and solidify my style of parenting, based on my beliefs and the philosophies with which I most identified. And while today, I may not have an excess of experience outside of my own family, I do feel that I have developed a style in which I believe children feel loved, respected and safe, while it also allows me to provide structure and enforce necessary boundaries. I believe that I have gained the experience necessary to confirm my initial theories and beliefs, turning them into solid childcare techniques on which I base my approach to childcare today. However, it must be said here that, despite believing passionately in the tenets I have found to be true, I am still very keen to see how you and your children interact so that I may learn from you and then follow suit. I have the upmost respect for you as a parent and the devotion and effort you have thus put into creating your child’s environment; this is to be honoured and maintained in your absence, which I will do by following your lead in how your household is run. By maintaining your household rules and the Do’s and Don’t’s with which your children are already familiar, I will provide consistency for the little ones by reinforcing the routine you have already established and to which they are familiar and thus accustomed. And as my sweet little girl taught me to do all those years ago, I will always lead the way with kindness and compassion, keeping patience and understanding forever as my watchwords. 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years  
Education/Training:
High School, Graduated High School or Equivalent, College 
Veterinary Medical Receptionist Certificate 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Babysitter 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Part Time 
Work Hours:
20 - 30 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   As Long as Needed
 
Will work with up to:
Two children 
Childcare Duties:
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
May 17, 2019 
Desired Salary:
$17/Hour 
Will work at night:
Yes 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
Yes,but up to 30 km 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Greeting/serving household guests
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family laundry
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
 
   Maintain household accounts/ pay bills
 
 
 
  References
 
Gita Varma 
 
 
 
Kirk Kimberley