Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit May 26, 2020 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning 
 Afternoon
 Evening 
 Night
 
 
   
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Edmonton
 

 

 
 
 
This Job seeker already found a Job and not available for Job Offers
Join now and get access to thousands care providers and housekeepers in your area.
 
  About Me
 
I am looking for part-time or full-time work doing child care for a professional private family. I have a Bachelor of Psychology, a Mental Health Certificate, a Child and Youth Care Diploma and am a Level 2 Child Care Worker, providing me specific skills in infant, toddler, child and adolescent development. I have over 20 years experience in childcare, having worked previously as a preschool teacher, a lifeguard, volunteered in schools, and have raised two daughters of my own, I also have worked as a SAFE Home Studies assessor, screening parents wanting to foster children. I have very high standards for child care, and can assure you that your children will be well cared for if I am hired.

Personal traits I possess include being well organized, punctual, and flexible in performing my roles to accommodate the needs of my work place. My education and work experience has allowed me to develop effective interpersonal communication skills, and ability to effectively handle any situation that may arise. I have my Red Cross Standard First Aid as well as a Criminal Records Check and Child Welfare Check.

My previous work in child care and human services have helped me to appreciate the importance of providing the stimulation, love and care that children need to thrive. I am very creative, with a great imagination, and love to encourage the same qualities in the children I care for. At the same time, I believe schedules and routines are important in creating a sense of stability in children's lives, and would have no problem carrying out your family's regular daily routine. My personality is quite bubbly, especially around kids, who seem to have a special way of making everything seem new and exciting in the world, which helps to keep me young in spirit too.

I am also able to work a flexible schedule to accommodate your shift work hours, as well as to accommodate for a few evenings when you may want some time to yourself.

 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Yes 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
10 years experience, 3 references
EDUCATION:

Community Mental Health Certificate;
Child and Youth Care Diploma
Bachelor of Arts, Major in Psychology
Medical Office Diploma

PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT TRAINING:
• Positive Behavior Supports
• Little Warriors Training to Stop Sexual Abuse
• Level II Child Care Worker Certification, awaiting my Level III Supervisor Certificate
• SAFE Home Assessment Worker /
Supervisor Training Certification
•Diversity Training
•Grief Support and Trauma Certification
•Substance Abuse Training
• Aboriginal Awareness
• Infant/ Toddler Mental Health Training
• Mental Health First Aid with Teens
• Youth Mental Health: Self-injury Behaviors
• Standard First Aid Certificate
• Alberta Class 5 Driver’s Licence.
• infant & child Development
CHILD CARE EXPERIENCE:
1995 - 2018: Raised my own 2 daughters, one who is a registered child care supervisor and the other works for RCMP - both responsible, moralistic and compassionate individuals.
2010-2013: Volunteered in elementary and junior high schools assisting in teaching mental health and helping at-risk students.
2005-2007: Obtained my National Lifesaving Certification so I could work as a lifeguard and swim club instructor, allowing me to take my kids to work with me. It allowed me to combine work and being a mom. I taught swim lessons and actively participated in Swim Club along with my daughters, winning several ribbons and a few medals along the way.
2003-2005: worked as a preschool teacher, running 2 separate classes - a 3-year-old class and a 4-year-old class. It involved creating program plans, weekly and daily schedules, scheduling parent helpers, arranging special events activities, education planning specific to child developmental ages. I taught children numbers, letters, name writing, social skills like cooperation and sharing and waiting one's turn, along with emotional skills like expressing sadness, frustration and anger in positive ways. I also integrated culture and Diversity through learning about other countries, weather, language differences, and acceptance of others.
1988-2003: worked in hospitals and clinics as a medical office clerk and medical Transcriptionist for over 30 medical specialties including pediatrics.

VOLUNTEER WORK:
Camrose Women’s Shelter: I volunteered to work with the children and women who resided at the Women’s Shelter, helping with childcare and group programs.
Ecole Sifton School: Assisted school counsellor and CHAMP Mentoring Representative, helping with programs to teach students skills in moral, mental, and emotional health issues.
Charlie Killam School: Teacher assistant helping with high-risk grade 9 students.
Chester Ronning School: President for Parent Council, President and Coordinator of the Playground Fundraising Committee, 2009-2010.
St. Joseph's Church: Taught Sundsy School Classes to children ages 5 to 8 years old.
Also Coordinator of Church Cleaning Committee
Dare to Care Program: Assisted in promoting and presenting anti-bullying program in schools.

REFERENCES: Upon Request.

 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, twins, triplets  
Education/Training:
Graduated High School or Equivalent, College, Bachelor's Degree, CPR Training, First Aid Training, Infant/Toddler Educator Certificate 
EDUCATION: Community Mental Health Certificate Toddler & Child Mental Health Education Child and Youth Care Diploma Bachelor of Psychology PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT TRAINING: •Positive Behavior Supports •Little Warriors – Take Action to Stop Sexual Abuse •Level II Child Care Worker Certification •SAFE Home Assessment Worker / Supervisor Training Certification •Diversity and Inclusion •Grief Support & Trauma Certification •Substance Abuse Training •Metis History and Culture in Canada / Aboriginal Awareness •Mental Health First Aid For Adults Working Teens Mental Health: Self-injury Behavior in Youth and Intervention Training • Standard First Aid Certificate • Alberta Class 5 Driver’s Licence.  
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type:
Live-In or Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
Work Hours:
30 - 40 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   Less than 3 months
 
   3 - 12 months
 
   1 - 2 years
 
   greater than 2 years
 
   As Long as Needed
 
   Summer Position
 
   Occasional/As Needed
 
Will work with up to:
Three children 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Mending Children's clothing as required
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
May 01, 2020 
Desired Salary:
$18/Hour or Negotiable salary 
Will work at night:
Yes 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
No 
Will travel with the family:
Yes 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Full meal preparation and service
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family laundry
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
 
   Book household travel arrangements
 
 
 
Additional Experiences/Qualifications/Preferences:
Can help with homework, teaching children routines and chores, social skills and emotion management. Hourly wage will be determined based on number of needs and services your family requires, beyond child care.