Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit October 19, 2020 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning   
 Afternoon  
 Evening   
 Night              
 
 
   
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Victoria
 

 

 
 
 
Rachel K.     Age 22      Female      Victoria, BC 
 
Member ID: 271106 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Tutor 
Position Type: Live-In or Live-Out, Full Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
Hello, my name is Rachel.

I am a 22-year-old female who recently graduated from University of Victoria where I obtained a Bachelor’s of Science in Psychology. I come from a small town located in the interior of British Columbia. I have 3 siblings, all older. My hobbies include, reading, writing, hiking, yoga, and spending quality time with family and friends. I have worked in child care since the young age of 11. I have babysat/nannied children ages 0-13. Additionally, I have worked summer camps and currently am working at an after-school care program. These experiences have taught me enthusiasm, and how to maintain a cheerful and uplifting attitude throughout the day. It has also taught me patience, and how to appropriately address each situation correspondingly. I was also able to create a relationship with each child that resembled a balance between a leader and a friend. While not only being in charge of the physical safety of each child but also the emotional well-being of each child, I made sure they felt welcomed and safe within their environment. I also developed strong communication skills with the parents of each child as to address any concerns or points of interest specific to the needs of their child.

Additionally, I have worked over two hundred hours as a nanny to two children on the spectrum of autism along with volunteer experience working in the University of Victoria Child Development Lab. Within the development lab I work closely with preschool age children three days a week conducting research to measure working memory. Through the lab I have further developed my patience. I approach each day with a positive mind set to solve games with children at an appropriate pace suited to them, understanding that each child has different needs. These job have helped me learn the value of treating each and every child as an individual. As the spectrum is of very broad scale, situations need to be approached differently for each child. Working closely with these children has taught to step back, analyze each situation, and approach it with alternative ways best suited to their needs.

Currently, I am looking for a full time position as a nanny. I cannot wait to hear from you and see if I am the right fit for your family.

Best Regards,
Rachel
 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Yes 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Single 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
Atheist 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
10 years experience, 2 references
After School Care Attendant
Oak Bay Recreation
September 2018- Ongoing
Victoria, BC

• Working with a diverse group of children and families in an after-school care program.
• Providing one-on-one support for children with specific and additional cognitive and behavioral needs and disabilities.
• Working with minimal supervision, independently and as a member of a multi-disciplinary team.
• Creating child-specific programming though the use of self-regulation tools to help develop social and emotional skills.
• Communicating daily with parents, teachers and staff regarding children’s goals and needs.
• Picking up children from their school in a timely manner, prepare and serve nutritional snacks.
• Prepare and facilitate a daily activity.
• Providing high-quality care that allows children to express themselves creatively in a non-judgmental facility.

Summer Camp Instructor and Support Worker
Saanich Recreation
June 2019-September 2020
Victoria, BC

• Facilitating summer camp for children ages six to twelve.
• Daily scheduling, running age appropriate activities, and staying in communication with other staff and parents.
• Providing one on one care for children with special needs. In this role, I was in charge of one child’s well-being and safety throughout the week of camp activities.

Summer Camp Instructor
Oak Bay Recreation
July 2018-August 2018
Victoria, BC

• Co-facilitating summer camp program for children ages 5-12.
• Monthly scheduling, food preparation, playing games, running activities, taking children on out trips throughout our community.
• In charge of the safety and emotional well-being of all the summer campers, and communication with parents to express and hear of any concerns or points of interest concerning each child.

Respite Care and Childcare
Summer 2009-Sept 2018
Armstrong, BC

• Caring for children on the autism spectrum from ages 0-8.
• Engaging in appropriate activities and games as well as outdoor games suited to their needs.
• Assisting children with their daily routines.
• Facilitating continuity with parents by creating set behavioral plans.
• In charge of food preparation and household cleanup.
 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, special needs children, twins, triplets  
Education/Training:
High School, Bachelor's Degree, CPR Training, First Aid Training 
Bachelor of Science (Psychology) University of Victoria 2020 Relevant Course Work: Child Development, Psychological Disorders of Child and Adolescents, Child Developmental and Learning Disabilities • Comprehensive understanding of infant and child development  
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Tutor 
Position Type:
Live-In or Live-Out, Full Time 
Work Hours:
30 - 40 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   3 - 12 months
 
   1 - 2 years
 
   As Long as Needed
 
   Occasional/As Needed
 
Will work with up to:
Three children 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
September 25, 2020 
Desired Salary:
$22/Hour or $3400 - $3600/month 
Will work at night:
Yes 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
Yes 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Greeting/serving household guests
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family laundry
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
 
   Maintain household accounts/ pay bills
 
   Book household travel arrangements
 
   Supervise contractors and tradespersons
 
   Supervise other household staff
 
   Event and entertainment planning and organization