Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit May 21, 2019 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning   
 Afternoon  
 Evening 
 Night
 
 
   
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Burnaby
 

 

 
 
 
Jada O.     Age 21      Female      Burnaby, BC  - Armstrong Ave
 
Member ID: 277853 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter 
Position Type: Live-Out, Full Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
Just finished my third year as biology student at the University of British Columbia and will be returning as a full-time student in the fall. I have taken a wide range of classes these past three years and I have become increasingly more interested in the structure and functions of the human body. This past semester especially, I became fascinated with mutations and how they metastasize and what effects they have on functions of the human body. I am also very interested in organic chemistry, and love solving challenging mechanism problems. I aspire to work in health care as a paediatric surgeon in the future.

I am very organized and have great time management skills due to my experience balancing school with my extracurricular activities and volunteer experiences. I have extensive experience working in groups and taking a leadership role in group projects, working with my team at the Canucks Autism Network and leading my dance troop in competitions and performances. I also have great problem-solving skill from my experience at CAN since often we get students who are very afraid of water or reluctant to swim, I am very good at coming up with creative ways to get them excited and interested in learning how to swim.

My previous employers and my current volunteer coordinator continuously commend me for my attention to detail, hard work, and willingness to go out of my way to go above and beyond what is expected of me.

I am very passionate about school, my family and animals. I am very energetic and love being outside and doing activities such as running, hiking and swimming.

 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
No 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Willing to obtain 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
No Religion 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
5 years experience, 2 references
I volunteer with the Canucks Autism Network (CAN), working with children in the swim program. I have become very comfortable with working with children in the program of all ages and I am continually commended for my ability to connect with the kids. I have learnt a lot about working with vulnerable populations while volunteering at CAN. Autism looks different in everyone, one child may be very chatty, outgoing and easily distracted, while another could be non-verbal and very easily overwhelmed by noises and other people, at the Canucks Autism Network I have learnt so much about how to care for children on all ends of the spectrum. My experience with CAN has taught me a lot about how to make these children, some of which are extremely vulnerable and cannot advocate for themselves, feel safe and welcomed during our lessons. I also have experience working with kids as a volunteer leader at a Summer Fun summer camp while I was in high school, as well as my extensive experience with babysitting and being a math tutor for an elementary school student. I absolutely love working with children.

I also volunteer at BC Children's Hospital. I work with child-life specialists on the surgical floor of the hospital, my job as a volunteer is engage with the families, check in with the children and provide any support that I can. My main role is to make the kids and their families feel supported in their stay. I get to bring games, toys and books to the children and play with them for a few hour, giving their parents a small break to walk around or make phone calls. We have a great playroom on our floor and most of our patients look forward to playing with the volunteers everyday. I have a long term patient who has been in the hospital since birth (for the past six months) and her older siblings adore when I stop by to bring them to the play room and her parent are so grateful for a break. As a volunteer at BCCH it is my job to help put a smile on patients faces everyday. I have learn so much about working with kids in my time at the hospital and I continue to learn new things every week.
 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, special needs children  
Education/Training:
Graduated High School or Equivalent, College 
I am currently in my third year (going into my fourth year in the fall) at the University of British Columbia. I study biology with a focus in human anatomy and physiology and I will be graduating from the faulty of science in 2020. 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Full Time 
Work Hours:
30 - 40 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   Less than 3 months
 
Will work with up to:
Three children 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
Doing special actives with children (ex going to the water park or taking them bowling)
 
Desired Start Date:
May 17, 2018 
Desired Salary:
$15/Hour 
Will work at night:
Yes 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
No 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
 
 
Additional Experiences/Qualifications/Preferences:
I am looking for a summer position from mid May to the end of August. 
 
 
  References
 
Noam Samet 
Noam was one of the coordinators of a volunteer mentor program I was selected to participate in while I was in the 11th and 12th grade. This mentoring program was created to give elementary school children role models to look up to and it gave them someone to talk to about their worries about going into high school and making new friends. When I was in the 11th grade the program was newly introduced and I was one of the students from my school who was selected to be a mentor. Noam was always around to help us and give us advice if it was needed. I am no longer apart of the program since I have graduated from my high school, but I loved being in the program and I am honour to have had the opportunity to help my little buddy. 
 
 
Taylor Sands 
Taylor is a part of the support team at my program with the Canucks Autism Network (CAN), she oversees what is going on with the workers, volunteers and of course the children. My position at CAN is ongoing and I absolutely love it. At CAN I am apart of the swim program and I help teach children with autism how to swim, it is such a fun and happy environment and it is such a rewarding position.