Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit September 16, 2019 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning 
 Afternoon      
 Evening       
 Night      
 
 
   
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Ottawa
 

 

 
 
 
Katharine S.     Age 21      Female      Ottawa, ON  - Nepean
 
Member ID: 289263 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type: Live-Out, Full Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
Hi. My name is Katharine, I am 20 years old and I live in Nepean, Ottawa. I attend school at Algonquin college where I study Early Childhood Development/Education. Working with all kinds of children is something I am greatly passionate about and am working towards pursuing as a future career. My program includes co-op in which I am in a setting working with and playing alongside a variety of individually unique children of all ages. If given the opportunity to work with your children, I am confident that my skills and experience will help me to form lasting bonds. I am committed to providing a safe, nurturing environment for the children in my care. I take safety very seriously, and am trained and certified in Basic First Aid, Emergency First Aid, CPR-B and Standard First Aid and CPR-C (Child & Infant CPR). Taking care of young children, especially babies, is rewarding but sometimes challenging. Over the years, I have developed special techniques that prove useful in calming young babies, including the most restless ones. I am in favour of a structured day as it gives children an opportunity to follow a schedule and to learn and understand discipline. I usually like to bring games and provide the children in my care with a variety of activities (arts/crafts) to do throughout the day. I donít mind doing extra duties for you, like cleaning and cooking dinner.

I have a big family which consists of three brothers along with myself. With my large family size I like to think I have had a special insight into how hectic things can get in a household with many siblings growing up. My oldest brother has autism which has been one of many inspirations of mine to enter this field of study as many children have differences that make them unique and inspiring to learn from. On weekends, I enjoy spending quality time with my friends and my family.

Overall, I love children and enjoy their company immensely and find nothing is more rewarding than taking care of them. I believe in creating a positive, happy environment for children, one in which they feel protected and can thrive. I am deeply interested in working for you, and hope you will give me a chance to meet you in person to discuss my candidacy in detail.

 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English, French 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Yes 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Single 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
Christian 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
3 years experience, 3 references
- I have babysat my cousins four children ages 3, 14, 10, and 1 often (three years old suffers from cerebral palsy) and completed the City of Ottawa babysitting course before offering my services in that area

-I am currently studying Early learning and community development and obtaining a Bachelor's degree in that area. Within the program, there is hands-on training and engaging (planning activities) with all ages of children. I am currently completing a placement at Elmdale Public school, once a week for 8 hours a day with infants, pre-schoolers, and toddlers in which I am involved in all aspects of the program.

-I was a coach with the Nepean Synchronized Swimming Club in which I previously swam with for a Season. In this role, I coached a competitive swim team of children of the age of 10 and was involved in all aspects of the program from teaching swimming strokes and techniques to developing swim routines and pool safety. Coaching reinforced my observational, communication and leadership skills.

-I have previously been working as a lifeguard and swim instructor at the Jewish Community Centre teaching children ages 5-14. This involved creating detailed lesson plans for each week and each different class/level of swimmers.
 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, special needs children  
Education/Training:
High School, Graduated High School or Equivalent, College, Bachelor's Degree, CPR Training, First Aid Training, College Child Education Courses, Infant/Toddler Educator Certificate, Special Needs Educator Certificate 
I previously attended Sir Robert Borden High school and graduated with honors in 2016. Since then, I have been attending Algonquin College obtaining an Honours degree in Early Learning and Community Development. 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Full Time 
Work Hours:
40 - 50 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   As Long as Needed
 
   Summer Position
 
Will work with up to:
Three children 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
April 22, 2019 
Desired Salary:
$16/Hour or Negotiable salary 
Will work at night:
Yes 
Willing to relocate:
100 km Radius 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
Yes,but up to 30 km 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Full meal preparation and service
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family laundry
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
 
   Supervise contractors and tradespersons
 
 
 
Additional Experiences/Qualifications/Preferences:
I have a G class License and my own vehicle. 
 
 
  References
 
Jordan Masson 
Jordan was the head of swim at the Jewish Community Centre where I worked as a swim instructor. I quit this job when I started college as I wanted to focus mainly on my studies.