Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit July 23, 2019 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning           
 Afternoon  
 Evening 
 Night
 
 
   
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Mercier
 

 

 
 
 
Sophie Rose D.     Age 20      Female      Mercier, QC  - Salaberry ouest
 
Member ID: 304430 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type: Live-In or Live-Out, Part Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
My name is Sophie Rose. I am a nursing student at Dawson College. After my DEC program, I will go on to university for my bachelors. I am born in Virginia, United-States. I am the third born child out of four. My mother is from Germany and the United-States, and my father is French Canadian. Their love story started in Florida. My parents travelled somewhat often before fully settling in Montreal, Quebec. This is why my siblings and I are born all in different places.
After doing a year and a half abroad in Frederick, Maryland, I discovered that I absolutely want to specialize in pediatrics. I worked at an assisted living home in an Alzheimer unit. This was an extreme eye opener and great hands-on experience for me. Also, I worked at a day care in an amazing gym, where we cared for kids between the age of three months to twelve years old. By connecting and creating bonds with the kids, I often got called to babysit for several families in their homes. Even though I am back in Canada now, I keep contact the families, and I have gotten ask to accompany one on vacation to help with the babies. I really love this job. Frederick is a town in which there is a great school for the hearing impaired. Thus, there were a lot of hearing impaired families living in the town for this school. I had the opportunity to develop a greater understanding and communication with this community by working at the gym. I have always loved children, but this experience allowed me to determine that this is exactly what I want to do in nursing field. My first “big babysitting gig” was when I was fourteen with baby Mia when she was four months old. She is now five years old, and I still care for Mia and have grown a relationship with her and her family. I love taking care of kids, creating bonds with them and having fun. It brings joy into my life by helping others.
I started playing the violin at the age of five, and remained with the same teacher for twelve years. She will forever be a part of my life, for she has taught me one of my greatest gift. Also, she now has her first-born child, bringing us even closer. I am a long-time basketball player. I played AAA throughout high school at College Charles-Lemoyne, and will play for AA Dawson College next fall.
 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, French 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Willing to obtain 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Single 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
Christian 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
6 years experience, 5 references
I am a first year nursing student at college. I am fluent in both French and English. I have been babysitting since I was 13 years old. I am comfortable and worked with all ages. I have more one on one experience with newborns and toddlers. I took a leap year in Maryland, United States, where I worked in a beautiful gym day care where the starting age is 3 months to 12 years old, with no number limitation of kids. In this day care, I had the opportunity in caring for twins, hearing impaired children, newborns, special needs children such as ADHD and autism. I also babysat during my time there and build great relationships with the children and families. I currently take care of an incredibly smart 3 year old autistic boy and his little brother in the mornings part-time. My schedule is flexible and I am looking for extra hours over my summer break. CPR and first aid training infants to adults. I am comfortable at cooking/serving meals, housekeeping work, driving children (I have a one booster seat), following safety measures and creating lots of fun activities, bed time and over nights. I have been playing violin for fourteen years so I like to incorporate music in activities or for relaxation/therapeutic. Amazing references will be given. Feel free to ask me any questions. Look forward to hearing from you. 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, special needs children, twins, triplets  
Education/Training:
High School, College, CPR Training, First Aid Training 
I followed training at assisted living, where I followed CPR and First Aid training. In my first year, first semester of nursing school I got PDSB certified, and followed hygiene classes. My first clinical was in Kahnawake at Kateri hospital in long-term care. 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type:
Live-In or Live-Out, Part Time 
Work Hours:
20 - 30 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   Less than 3 months
 
   3 - 12 months
 
   1 - 2 years
 
   greater than 2 years
 
   As Long as Needed
 
   Summer Position
 
   Occasional/As Needed
 
Will work with up to:
Four or more 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Mending Children's clothing as required
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
January 12, 2019 
Desired Salary:
$20/Hour 
Will work at night:
Yes 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
Yes 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Full meal preparation and service
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Greeting/serving household guests
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family laundry
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
 
   Book household travel arrangements
 
   Supervise other household staff
 
   Event and entertainment planning and organization
 
 
 
  References
 
Ashley Thirdwell 
I babysat Mia for Ashley for five years now. I did a whole summer everyday with her, two New Years eve nights, as well as upon call. 
 
 
Kyle 
Kyle and I met while I was working at the gym. He came in looking for a last minute babysitter and I gladly said I was available. I went from my shift at the gym to babysitting Olivia. Kyle and his wife Chrissy now have a second baby. I babysat Olive for full days, drove her to the gym with me (with parents approval of course. They enjoyed when I would bring her because it would bring her stimulation and make her somewhat tired). They have asked me to come on vacations with them to care for the babies. I very much miss Frederick because of Olivia.