Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit August 13, 2019 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning     
 Afternoon    
 Evening               
 Night              
 
 
   
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Victoria
 

 

 
 
 
Sarah B.     Age 20      Female      Victoria, BC  - Wilkinson/West Saanich Rd
 
Member ID: 307000 
Seeking work as a : Nanny 
Position Type: Live-Out, Full Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
Hi there. My name is Sarah and I am a 21 year old nanny from Victoria, BC, looking for full time work in September 2019.

I would say some of the main values that guide my style as a nanny are safety, kindness, communication, autonomy, and of course, fun. I strive to make every day with my charge(s) an enriching experience, through outings to the beach, pool, parks, playdates, and playgroups, while still maintaining a daily routine. I am also comfortable with light housework (child's laundry, some cleaning/organization/pet care) and some meal prep, especially if I am working with a child that is still napping.

The most important things I look for in a potential employer are: a) Communication. I encourage my charges to communicate their feelings, and I find that my relationship with my employers works best when we communicate as well. I am open, flexible, and completely understand that not everyone raises kids the same way, so if something I am doing isn't working for you, let me know what you'd prefer me to do and I am more than happy to oblige. Adjusting to a new family (and nanny) is a process, and that process goes smoother if everyone is open about their feelings. b) Willingness to negotiate a contract. Some of the key categories in a contract for me are schedule, pay (how much, weekly or biweekly, cheque or direct deposit) specific duties (just childcare, or is cleaning required, for example, ) and benefits (guaranteed hours, vacation days, sick days. ) c) Similar values and parenting styles. I believe children learn best when they are given age appropriate freedom to make choices, whether that's letting them take 20 minutes to put on their own socks, or taking 15 minutes to talk through why something is or isn't a good idea. I am not one to just say "no, " without explanation, rather, I prefer "what do you think would happen if you tried that?" I also believe strongly in kindness and inclusivity, and I do not feel comfortable with physical discipline. d) Close to public transportation. As I have not had access to a vehicle in recent years (due to boarding school and moving away from home) I am in the process of getting my driver's licence still. I have used public transportation for full time nanny jobs in the past, and it's always been quite reliable. If it sounds like I might be a good fit for your family, send me a message (messages work better than calls) and I will get back to you ASAP. I am going to be in Duncan visiting family for the summer, so I am looking to start work in early September 2019, but with a few days notice I can interview in Victoria during August no problem.
 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
No 
Has a Vehicle:
No 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English, French 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Willing to obtain 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Single 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
No Religion 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
2 years experience, 3 references
I have spent my whole life caring for children, starting when I took the red cross babysitting course at age 12. After several years of babysitting, I became a nanny full-time in 2017, and never looked back. I have experience with children of all ages, but most recently I have been caring for babies/toddlers aged 9mo-2y. 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years  
Education/Training:
High School, College, CPR Training, First Aid Training 
- Graduated from Brentwood College School in 2016. - Spent 1 year at Uvic on scholarship - Attending Camosun in 2020 to finish a diploma of mental health and addictions, with plans to one day focus on counselling children 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Full Time 
Work Hours:
30 - 40 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   3 - 12 months
 
   1 - 2 years
 
Will work with up to:
Two children 
Childcare Duties:
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
September 01, 2019 
Desired Salary:
$20/Hour or $2800 - $3000/month 
Will work at night:
Yes 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
No 
Will travel with the family:
No 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required