Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit June 16, 2019 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning 
 Afternoon
 Evening 
 Night
 
 
  Each family has it's own needs, hours and days will be part of the discussion  
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Burnaby
 

 

 
 
 
Kitty C.     Age 52      Female      Burnaby, BC  - 4762 Cambridge St
 
Member ID: 324360 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type: Live-In, Full Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
My name is Katrina, most people call me Kitty, I am a recently (un)retired 52 year old who discovered a couple of things in a soul search the last time I took the time to really contemplate: 1 - not ready to retire. 2 - given a choice of working a "regular job" or serving a family and making their days better with clean sheets and a nice dinner, then the board room loses. Currently located in North Burnaby's Capitol Hill, I am willing/able to relocate to another area of Canada fairly easily.

I bring to the :

20+ years of parenting both my own and on several occasions sibling groups brought to me by crisis in their family who were merged into my family for whatever amount of time was required. These were occasionally funded by the Ministry of Children and Families and on others they were cared for simply because it was the right thing to do.

all of the first aids. industrial, child, senior, and even pet - all with CPR most have been renewed multiple times in the past.

criminal record: no.
drive: yes.

non smoker and friend of Bill for 22 years now.

have dealt with the following dx in people under my care: Aspergers, Tourettes, OCD, (middle child - lives independently successfully now), cancers - both child and senior, severe food/cat allergies, Asthma, Celiac disease, and the usual gamut of childhood illnesses and sports injuries when you have young men who play rugby and street hockey, bonus points for me to have raised twins, and have fostered triplets while their mother was hospitalized unexpectedly for a few weeks.

I was a "working mom" through my family's years and an only parent for the bulk of it. So there is a resume of sometimes divergent jobs as I picked and chose by hours more than career path.

Since Feb 2016 I have been hopping from one place to another helping an old foster kid who needed a "mom" to pop into her life to assist with her twins while she had surgery, then to an aging aunt, to stay while she resolutely remained home in her final months, then to the beautiful Island of my youth because of a tragic illness in my second grandson, freeing up my son and his lovely wife to look after his needs in a larger center while I was blessed with a grandma's dream, months with my grandchildren. :) My son's need for me has sadly come to a conclusion and I looked around to see what sort of job I wanted and where.
After some soul searching I have decided that really, I can afford to be happy and what would make me happy is making a difference for a family, being a great nanny who has all the patience and all the years and all the time in the world. I can make bread with my bare hands, I can tell when you're sick or if you just need to snuggle in front of some Disney until the words come out about what really is going on.

Clearly I am fluent in English, I have enough French to be an average Canadian.
I drive - can stick and can parallel park have coped with Island snow, and was fine up north with the "real" stuff.

People ask me what's my favourite age range of children. There's reasons to love them all. Infants with the sweet baby smell and they're always where you left them. Toddlers for never being where you left them, the endless unlocking of the universe. The wordies, who want to know everything and never edit a question. The young schoolers who come home with new words and see what you're going to do about it. The old schoolers who you go do practice driving with and take for ice cream just because you need your blood pressure down a little. All the ages in between. They all have some way of making you smile.

I am pet friendly, but sadly allergic to cats. I can and have coped with live fed snakes, tarantulas large enough you can hear them walk (although, really, GAH. ), and all manner of household pets.

Feel free to snoop me up on facebook. There I am found under the name of Katrinasaurus . 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
No 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Willing to obtain 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Widowed 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
10 years experience, 3 references
Raised 3 sons, largely alone as an only parent. Current ages: 30, 25 and 25 they're all good humans.
Had a number of foster children who arrived with varying needs of care.
I have been nannying now for 3 years, references available. 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, special needs children, twins, triplets  
Education/Training:
Graduated High School or Equivalent, College, CPR Training, First Aid Training, College Child Education Courses 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type:
Live-In, Full Time 
Work Hours:
40 - 50 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   As Long as Needed
 
Will work with up to:
Four or more 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
June 15, 2019 
Desired Salary:
$15/Hour 
Will work at night:
Yes 
Willing to relocate:
any city in Canada 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
Yes 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Full meal preparation and service
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family laundry
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
 
   Maintain household accounts/ pay bills
 
   Supervise contractors and tradespersons
 
   Supervise other household staff
 
   Event and entertainment planning and organization