Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit February 16, 2020 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning             
 Afternoon            
 Evening           
 Night              
 
 
   
 
 
 
Housekeeping Profile 
Nanny & Babysitter in Edmonton
 

 

 
 
 
Farista S.     Age 19      Female      Edmonton, AB  - 96th Avenue 149th Street
 
Member ID: 337745 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor 
Position Type: Live-Out, Part Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
Hi my name is Farista and Iím a university student at MacEwan, studying biology. I live with my mom, dad, and eight-year-old brother. I am nineteen years old and looking for a job I can do while I go to school. I really enjoy working with children and I enjoy being busy.

Iím also very industrious, energetic, intelligent, and focused. I have good gross motor skills and fine motor skills. More importantly Iím kind, empathetic, patient, and I believe in making sure everyone feels cared about, valued and safe.

I have a lot of experience working with children from years of working as a day camp assistant with the City of Edmonton and with the Telus World of Science. I also have babysat my brotherís friends and kids I met at day camp, and I have a lot of experience looking after my brother and younger cousins. Children are so amazing and itís really important for me to make sure they feel safe, comfortable, loved, welcome, important and just. happy. I also try to teach them about stuff like science and history too but like, in a way thatís still fun.

I enjoy volunteering. I volunteer at special events with the city, where I have to be on my feet a lot, cheerful, focused, energetic and organized. I have to keep the area clean, explain the activity to people, especially children, and answer peopleís questions while being friendly and approachable in the midst of an ever-flowing ocean of people. I volunteer at the garden at Ft. Edmonton which means I have to be very focused and also strong. Iíve pulled weeds, spend hours shovelling mulch into wheelbarrows, and also spread mulch. Iíve volunteered at the Heritage Festival where Iíve worked incredibly busy twelve-hour shifts.

I am an amateur writer and I publish on Wattpad. Iíve written short stories and poetry, and Iím working on a novel Iíve written about 100 pages for which I started last year. Iím not too popular was a writer but I really enjoy it. I also really enjoy telling stories and hearing them.

Iíve baked 470 frosted mini cupcakes with almost no help in the span of two and a half days and they were amazing. Also Iíve baked 300 shortbread cookies in eight hours and the only help I got was that my mom put them in the oven and took them out sometimes. I made these for a group I used to be a part of called The Blessings Project and we handed them, along with other food, out to people struggling with homelessness.

I am really passionate about social justice. I care about things like democracy, ending poverty, lgbt+ rights, Climate Change, ending racism, ending sexism, ending ending ableism, ending homophobia, ending xenophobia, and stuff like that. Just, Iím passionate about human rights in general. I want to live in a world where everyone is safe, healthy, free, educated, and happy and Iím willing to work for such a world. I follow organizations like Amnesty International, Human Rights Watch, Global Citizen, Freedom United and World Vision.

Up until a few months ago I was a ballerina. That requires an incredible amount of control over every single part of your body and a good relationship between your cerebellum, your cerebrum, and your sensory and motor neurons. In laymanís terms, it means your brain and your body need to be really in sync and work together really well.

I also like reading, especially realistic fiction about important historical or current events. But unfortunately I donít get as much of a chance to read as I want.

Iím really eager to start a job. Anything goes honestly. Iím looking for a little but if money on the side but more then that Iím looking for work experience and a chance to learn new skills and improve the skills I have. 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
No 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Willing to obtain 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Single 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
Christian 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
2 years experience, 2 references
Iíve had experience working at day camps, babysitting, and caring for younger relatives.

Ever since I was thirteen Iíve been volunteering at daycamps with the City of Edmonton and with the Telus World of Science. I usually work about a month and a week each year. Iíve worked with kids aged three all the way to thirteen. Class are usually 20-30 kids large. I had to make sure all the kids felt safe, welcome, valued, comfortable, cared about, welcome, wanted, and happy. I had to help make sure they were safe and accounted for. I helped them with problems they were having, whether they were having a conflict with another camper, were homesick, were confused, or any other thing. Iíve had to solve some behavioural issues such as kids having trouble getting along or sharing. Iíve also solved emotional issues like the fear of being in a new situation or homesickness or self-doubt. I talked to the kids about how they were and made sure they were doing good. I joked around and played around with them. I helped explain some games and activities. I also helped kids with crafts and stuff if they needed it and I encouraged them. Iíve also helped them to learn new things by making the topic personal to them. For example, if we were learning about history, I could ask them what historical period they wanted to live in and why. The children always really liked me.

I have babysat my younger brotherís friends and their siblings a lot as well. We play stuff like tag and hide-and seek and soccer. We play imagination games based on movies or video games they like or just imagination games in general. We tell stories. We tell jokes (appropriate ones of course). We read books. Sometimes we play on the iPad but I try to not do that too much, We talk about our lives and I listen to them and encourage them and try to help them through any troubles they might be having like for example fear of going into a new grade. Sometimes Iíve had to make sure they go to bed and help them fall asleep. I usually have to god them food and make sure they eat it.

Iíve also been taking care of by brother like, usually every day, since I was like twelve. That includes making sure he eats and brushes his teeth and stuff like that. Iíve also taken care of my two cousins, one of whom is twelve right now and one who is four. 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, special needs children, twins, triplets  
Education/Training:
High School, Graduated High School or Equivalent, College, CPR Training, First Aid Training 
Iíve graduated high school (I went to Archbishop Macdonald) and Iíve finished my first year of college. I maintained an average of above eighty throughout (not tha it makes me better than anyone). 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Part Time 
Work Hours:
less than 20 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   greater than 2 years
 
Will work with up to:
Three children 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Mending Children's clothing as required
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
August 15, 2019 
Desired Salary:
Negotiable salary 
Will work at night:
Yes 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
No 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Full meal preparation and service
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Greeting/serving household guests
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family laundry
 
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
 
 
  References
 
Judy Glen 
Sheís the volunteer supervisor at Ft. Edmonton Park where Iíve volunteered in various positions from special events to day camp to gardening. 
 
 
Laura Nichol 
Sheís the volunteer coordinator at Ft Edmonton Park.