Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit September 15, 2019 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning     
 Afternoon    
 Evening     
 Night              
 
 
  I am flexible.  
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Victoria
 

 

 
 
 
Dana B.     Age 23      Female      Victoria, BC  - Midgard Avenue
 
Member ID: 339430 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type: Live-Out, Full Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
My name is Dana and I am from the Yukon, Territory. I am 23 years old and am currently taking lots of time to try new things before going to university and settling into a career. Since graduating high school, I have worked many different jobs and lived in many different places.

Most of my work experience is in the areas of recreation and aquatics. I have worked as lifeguard and/or swim instructor in Alberta, Ontario, the Yukon, and Australia. In my hometown, Faro, I have had the opportunity to teach the kids learn-to-skate program and facilitate the kids after-school programs and day camps as a Recreation Assistant. My most recent position was as the pool manager for the small, seasonal pool in Faro where I got to do everything from creating schedules to coaching the swim team to planning special events and overseeing the work of the senior and junior guards.

Throughout my experiences in aquatics and recreation I discovered the unmatched joy that comes from working with kids. This led me to an interest in teaching and I recently spent two years volunteering as an English teacher at a bilingual school in Honduras, Central America. My first school year there I taught grade six and seven. My second winter there, I was the volunteer coordinator/vice director and kindergarten teacher. This was an amazing time in my life that lead me into the Teacher Education Program at Yukon College.

This is a wonderful program, but I found myself uncertain after one year whether or not I was on the right path. Based on my uncertainty I decided not to continue and to instead spend a winter living and working in Victoria while enjoying city life and a change of scenery.

I am a hard-working, diligent, dedicated, and fun person who demonstrates a lot of passion and enthusiasm for everything I do. I love working with kids and how this allows me to be active and creative. I love spending time outdoors and enjoy a busy lifestyle. I have the standard first aid and CPR/AED certification as well as a current criminal record check.

I look forward to the possibility of meeting you and your family.
 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
No 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Yes 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Single 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
No Religion 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
2 years experience, 4 references
Faro Swimming Pool - Faro, Yukon Territory
Summer 2019
Pool Coordinator

Summer 2018
Pool Co-Coordinator and Recreation Assistant
▪ Completing administrative duties such as scheduling and submitting funding applications
▪ Planning events to increase pool use and promote water safety and drowning prevention
▪ General lifeguarding, instructing, coaching, and pool operation duties
▪ Organizing and facilitating kids summer camp programs

Summers 2016/17
Senior Guard and Swim Instructor
▪ Supervising the facility and patrons to ensure safety
▪ Teaching swim lessons, instructing adult water aerobics, and coaching the swim team
▪ Reporting issues and general information to the pool coordinator and recreation manager

Whitehorse Lions Aquatic Centre - Whitehorse, Yukon Territory
January 2019 – May 2019
Instructor/Lifeguard
▪ Performing general lifeguard and supervision duties
▪ Instructing swim lessons
▪ Maintaining changeroom cleanliness

Cofradia’s Bilingual School - Cofradia, Cortes, Honduras
June 2017 – May 2018
Volunteer Coordinator/Vice Principal and Kindergarten English Teacher
▪ Recruiting, training, and providing on-going support to volunteers
▪ Developing and updating teacher manuals, curriculums, website, and advertisements
▪ Liaising between volunteers and our Honduran counterparts and parents
▪ Creating and distributing school schedules to students and teachers

August 2016 – June 2017
Grade Six and Seven English/Social Studies Teacher

March 2016 – June 2016
Grade One English/Social Studies/Science/Physical Education Teacher
▪ Instructing classes of 16 to 30 students in various subject areas
▪ Planning and preparing lessons / giving assignments and exams based on these lessons
▪ Assessing exams, assignments, homework, and classwork to provide feedback and grades

Del Van Gorder School - Faro, Yukon Territory
Sept. 2015 – March 2016
Substitute Teacher
▪ Fill in for absent teachers of various grades, often on short notice
▪ Writing detailed reports for the returning teacher outlining what was accomplished during the day

Swallowdale Summer Camp - Huntsville, Ontario
Summer 2015
Lifeguard and Camp Counsellor
▪ Supervising the water front area to ensure safety for all campers and counsellors
▪ Instructing activities such as kayaking, canoeing, archery, arts and crafts, swimming, and yoga
▪ Was responsible for a cabin of 10 to 12-year-old girls
▪ Received the Counsellor of the Summer award

Fitness Perfection - Orange, NSW, Australia
Dec. 2014 – May 2015
Swim School Teacher
▪ Teaching swim lessons and writing swim school report cards

Innisfail Aquatic Centre - Innisfail, Alberta
Summer 2014
Lifeguard and Swim Instructor
▪ Supervising the facility and patrons to ensure safety
▪ Teaching swim lessons and writing report cards
▪ Reporting issues and general information to the aquatics supervisor

Faro Recreation Centre / Arena - Faro, Yukon Territory
Dec. 2010 – Jan. 2014
Seasonal Youth Recreation Worker
▪ General supervision of the facilities
▪ Assisting with the planning and running of community events
▪ Facilitating the Coordinated Approach Towards Child Health (CATCH) program
▪ Teaching the kids Learn to Skate program
▪ Planning and running the 2013 kids summer day camp
 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age  
Education/Training:
Graduated High School or Equivalent, CPR Training, First Aid Training 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Full Time 
Work Hours:
30 - 40 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   3 - 12 months
 
Will work with up to:
Four or more 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
September 16, 2019 
Desired Salary:
Negotiable salary 
Will work at night:
No 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
Yes 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family laundry
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Book household travel arrangements
 
 
 
  References
 
Liz Faris 
Liz was the Volunteer Coordinator at the bilingual school where I taught in Honduras during my first year there. 
 
 
Kara Went 
Kara is a parent of two boys that I coached in swim team this past Summer. I have also been her house and babysitter for many years.