Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit August 10, 2020 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning     
 Afternoon    
 Evening               
 Night              
 
 
  I am primarily looking for hours during weekdays, when my children are at school, but am willing to work occasional evenings or overnight as needed.  
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in London
 

 

 
 
 
Mel J.     Age 45      Female      London, ON  - William St near Oxford
 
Member ID: 344108 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Nanny/Tutor 
Position Type: Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
I am a mother of 2 boys who are now in their teens. I ran a home preschool when my children were small, and currently am volunteering at our church nursery. I spent many years living in Roatan, Honduras, where I opened a hostel 9 years ago, becoming 'mom' to many travellers. I have recently relocated back to Canada for the educational needs of my children. This past year, I have been working part-time at the Montessori school as a yard supervisor, as well as picking up a 4 year old from his school bus after school. I speak fluent French and Spanish and would be happy to work on teaching these languages to your children, if that is of interest. I also love to do crafts and artwork. I have my current First Aid/CPR. 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, Spanish, French 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Yes 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Divorced 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
Christian 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
10 years experience, 2 references
I am a single mom of two teenage boys, who I have raised on my own. When they were young, I conducted a home preschool with a group of 8 children aged 3-4. This past year, I have been working part-time as a yard supervisor at the Montessori school, as well as picking up a 4 year old from his school bus after school. I volunteer at our church nursery. 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age  
Education/Training:
High School, CPR Training, First Aid Training 
I graduated high school in London in 1994. My high school included a year abroad in France as an exchange student. I attended McGill University for 1 year, after which I decided to leave my studies to travel. I attained my scuba dive instructor certification in 1996, and spent several years traveling, teaching scuba diving. 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Nanny/Tutor 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
Work Hours:
30 - 40 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   Less than 3 months
 
   3 - 12 months
 
   1 - 2 years
 
   As Long as Needed
 
   Occasional/As Needed
 
Will work with up to:
Three children 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
May 10, 2020 
Desired Salary:
$18/Hour 
Will work at night:
Yes 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
Yes 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Greeting/serving household guests
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family laundry
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Book household travel arrangements
 
   Supervise contractors and tradespersons
 
 
 
  References
 
Milesse Kennedy 
Owner of the resort that I worked at, Barefoot Cay. I worked there 9 years, and left once my own business had grown and needed my full-time commitment. REFERENCE LETTER: Mel was employed by Barefoot Cay Resort from January 2008 through to January 2017. She began in a part-time role in guest services and reservations, and quickly proved to be an indispensable asset to the company, advancing to a position of reservations and marketing manager. She was successful in raising our rates and at the same time increasing our occupancy, leading to an overall significant increase in our gross revenue. She was responsible for incorporating multiple changes that benefited the company tremendously, including converting many of the reservation practices from paper to online, and implementing standardized yearly performance appraisals for staff. Her friendly, welcoming demeanor allowed her to develop a unique rapport with resort guests. As part of our management team, Mel worked closely with other departments, and was greatly respected and looked up to by her coworkers and subordinates. Her problem solving and conflict resolution skills were invaluable. We were fortunate to have Mel work for the resort, and would highly recommend her to any potential employer.  
 
 
Peggy Stranges 
Founder of a non-profit healthcare clinic that I volunteered with in Roatan. REFERENCE LETTER: Re: Melanie To whom this may concern: It is with great satisfaction and confidence that I recommend Ms. Melanie for employment. For several years I have known Mel both as a friend and volunteer at my clinic for the poor. She is selfless, hardworking, dependable and of good moral character. I cannot imagine a more dedicated employee and would highly recommend her as an asset to whatever she pursues. I am sure you will find the same. She would be a great benefit to your organization. Blessings, Peggy S, RN Founder/President Cllinica Esperanza Bay Islands Community Healthcare Association