Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit January 25, 2021 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning     
 Afternoon    
 Evening               
 Night              
 
 
   
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Victoria
 

 

 
 
 
This Job seeker already found a Job and not available for Job Offers
Join now and get access to thousands care providers and housekeepers in your area.
 
  About Me
 
I am a Victoria- based mother with grown children (3 of my own and 4 step children, but sadly no grandchildren) who loves kids and who would like to take on a new role in helping to look after someone else's. I have 22 years experience in Social Services, having worked previously as a Child and Youth Worker, Developmental Service Worker, Community Health Worker and Support Worker in a variety of residential and institutional settings. I was last employed as a Support worker for a 4 year old for a child with special needs at a local daycare and preschool. I also filled in as a casual worker at a daycare/preschool and in after school programming. I can confidently handle a group of small children, and I love being outside with the kids.

In my personal life, I am an avid hiker, tent camper, lake swimmer in all kinds of weather, and I like to to take the kayak out for a spin on week-ends, I am a flexible, caring, compassionate, and relational sort of person who gets along with everybody. I have been told that I have a calming influence on others. This is probably because I am also gentle, sensitive and kind. I like to use humour in, creative intelligent ways that can diffuse tension, and bring others a laugh and some encouragement. I like building rapport and meeting new people, and I can make even introverted people feel at ease. I really enjoy reading to kids and exploring fun activities to do together. I have successfully raised three kids who are inquisitive, adventurous, artistic, practical, sensible, and well adjusted; each of them have taught at least part time in high school and university, I love

In my next job, I am hoping to find a family for whom I am a good fit You can be sure that I will always be respectful of boundaries, and I understand that I am acting in a support role, and will respect the authority and wishes of the parents who employ me. But I also like to be trusted with being able to take care of things on the home front, given that I have a lifetime of experience to bring to this task. I can speak French, and am happy to offer bi-lingual services if this is desired.

My ideal job situation would be part time, if possible, and I will give preference to employment situations that are based in the Westshore, where I live, since proximity to work would facilitate commuting and enhance my availability. Please feel free to contact me if you think you would be interested in working with someone with my background and qualifications. Thanks you, and good luck with your finding the right child care for your children 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English, French, Dutch 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Yes 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
Christian 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
10 years experience, 3 references
I have successfully raised 3 of my own children who are now in their twenties and thirties. I have also worked with young children in a formal daycare and preschool setting, as my resume indicates. This was at the Little Steps day care and preschool, at the Victoria, West Community Centre in Victoria 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, special needs children  
Education/Training:
High School, College, Bachelor's Degree, CPR Training, First Aid Training 
I have a Bachelor's Degree in Sociology and Social Work. I have also taken a Child Development Course in 2019 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Nanny/Tutor 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
Work Hours:
20 - 30 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   As Long as Needed
 
Will work with up to:
Four or more 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
April 01, 2020 
Desired Salary:
$18/Hour 
Will work at night:
No 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
No 
Will travel with the family:
Yes,but up to 10 km 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Greeting/serving household guests
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Supervise contractors and tradespersons
 
 
 
Additional Experiences/Qualifications/Preferences:
Given my extensive employment experience, I am looking for a wage of app $20. 00, but would be willing to work for $16. 00 and upwards for the right family or shared nanny arrangement 
 
 
  References
 
Beth Hume 
Beth is the manager of the Little Steps preschool at which I have been working since September 2019. In October, 2019 I was hired by the previous manager to begin a temporary contract position working with a special needs child. As both the relationship between the centre and this child's family, and the conditions of the original contract have now changed, my support services will be ending on February 28, 2020. I will be available for a new position beginning in March or April 2020  
 
 
Yolanda Akhtar 
Yolanda was my manager at a group home where I worked as a Developmental Service Worker with adults with cognitive delays, In Sarnia, Ontario. I left this position when I moved to Victoria British Columbia where my husband was employed in a government position. Yolanda served as my reference when I began a new career as a Community Service Worker (known also as a Personal Support Worker) for Beacon Community Services. Given that my old employer was taken over by Island Health, in Victoria BC, and they have never supplied personal references, other than to confirm length of employment contract, and my attendance record and rate of pay, I am giving you my reference from my earlier job. As indicated Yolanda was my supervisor and knows me both professionally and personally and can therefore attest to my good character.