Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit March 25, 2020 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning       
 Afternoon      
 Evening 
 Night
 
 
  Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, my school has been moved online. My professors are still organizing the online curriculum, so these hours may vary. Please ask for my time schedule.  
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Toronto
 

 

 
 
 
Makenna M.     Age 19      Female      Toronto, ON  - Beverely and College
 
Member ID: 364274 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper or Meal Prep 
Position Type: Live-Out, Part Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 

My name is Makenna and I am a premed student at the University of Toronto. I have 5 years of experience in childcare in both an institutional and nannying capacity. In 2015 I began babysitting children as young as 3 months of age, and my love of children has grown from there.

A bit of background on me; I grew up in Washington D. C. and then attended Phillips Academy Andover in Andover, MA for high school (which is just outside of Boston). As a boarding student, I learned to excel while being independent at a young age. City living has always been a part of my life, and I think Toronto has a wealth of resources to explore. At the University of Toronto I am a human biology undergraduate student with medical school aspirations. When I am not in school I am a member of Pi Beta Phi sorority, I bake, I play the harp, and I volunteer with the Toronto Public Library as a tutor in their 'Leading to Reading Program'.

When it comes to my care-giving style, I believe engagement and enthusiasm are key. I love to sing, play instruments (the ukulele and harp specifically. ), cook, and go on field trips. These skills are certainly an asset in child care. For example, at the Capitol Hill Day School, I worked as an Early Childhood Instructor, creating and executing summer curriculum for children ages 4 to 12. When making my weekly schedules for camp I incorporated field learning and hands-on crafting as much as possible, and I attempt to do the same with the children I babysit. I also attempt to engender empathy and kindness in all households by providing an example for the children I work with.

On an administrative level, candid communication with parents and professionalism are priorities. You can expect that I am punctual, responsible, and honest in all aspects of my work. My multiple references will affirm this fact if given the chance. I am CPR and First Aid certified and I renew my certifications as needed. I am also Red Cross Babysitter certified and a former Lifeguard. I have also taken cooking classes to hone my skills, and I love trying new recipes. I can accommodate dietary needs such as gluten sensitivity, veganism, and religious needs.
 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
No 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English 
 
My Nationality:
American 
Police Check:
Yes 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
5 years experience, 4 references
I began babysitting children as young as 3 months old when I was 15 years old and I have continued caring for children since and working with families since then. I worked as an early childhood instructor for 2 years at the Capitol Day School in Washington D. C. In this position, I was responsible for creating a curriculum for 30 4-6-year-olds, an hourly schedule for each week, communicating with parents regarding camp information, and the implementation of said curriculum. This included leading a team of 4 counselors who worked under me in-class activities such as crafting, movement games, recess, field trips, and much more. In this role and others, I proved myself to be responsible, creative, and kind.
 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age  
Education/Training:
High School, Graduated High School or Equivalent, College, CPR Training, First Aid Training 
I attended the prestigous prepatory school Phillips Academy Andover from 2014 till my graduation with distinction in 2018. Phillips Academy is the #1 school in the United States, and my time there was rigorious yet rewarding. Being a boarding student gave me the independence I needed to thrive. Phillips Academy also prepared me to succeed at my current academic institution, the University of Toronto. As a human biology major my current GPA is 4. 0, and I participate in extracurricular academic pursuits. My goal is to go to medical school in 2022 to complete an MPH and an MD. 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper or Meal Prep 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Part Time 
Work Hours:
less than 20 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   Less than 3 months
 
   3 - 12 months
 
   1 - 2 years
 
   As Long as Needed
 
   Summer Position
 
   Occasional/As Needed
 
Will work with up to:
Three children 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Mending Children's clothing as required
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
March 14, 2020 
Desired Salary:
$16/Hour or Negotiable salary 
Will work at night:
Yes 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
Yes,but up to 10 km 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Full meal preparation and service
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Greeting/serving household guests
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
 
   Event and entertainment planning and organization
 
 
 
  References
 
Tara Arthur 
I've worked for Tara and Patrick with their 6 month year old and 4 year old since 2015 on and off. 
 
 
Njonjo Smith 
Njonjo was my boss during my time as an Early Childhood Camp Instructor and Counselor at the Capitol Hill Day School