Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit July 08, 2020 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning     
 Afternoon    
 Evening     
 Night              
 
 
   
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Ottawa
 

 

 
 
 
Cecylia L.     Age 24      Female      Ottawa, ON  - 1720 Baseline Rd
 
Member ID: 371196 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type: Live-Out, Full Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
Hi there.

I am currently an Educational Assistant with the Catholic school board (OCSB). I work with children with special needs and pride myself on being one of the most empathetic, patient EAs at the elementary school I work at. I am looking for a job where I feel safe during this pandemic and I am looking after children, for July and August. I have about 12 years of working with children of all ages.
Of course during the summer months and when there’s no school, I usually do some form of childcare with the board but with the pandemic, it’s a different story this year. My partner and I are also trying to have a baby as well so it is important I feel safe, with minimal risk. I also own a good vehicle as well, have certified first aid and my criminal records check done from the school board.

I really look forward to introducing myself - I think we would be a great match, where we would be comfortable and feel safe during this difficult time period.

All the best,
Cecylia 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English, French, Italian 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Yes 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Married 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
Christian 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
10 years experience, 5 references
EDUCATION
Teacher’s Ed Stream – Trent University September 2014 – April 2016
Sociology Honours BA, Carleton University September 2016 - Dec 2017
GPA: 10. 0
Computer Proficiency Skills Developed:
● Proficient using Software such as: Microsoft Office (Word, Excel, PowerPoint)/Google Drive programs
● Proficient using Apple Software (iTunes, MAC Operating System) and PC systems

WORK EXPERIENCE
· Educational Assistant at OCSB September 2019-present
o Supervised and worked with children with exceptionalities (for example attention deficit
hyperactive disorder, Angelman’s syndrome, children with autism, etc. )
o Helped children in the classroom setting
o Helped students understand lessons further in detail
o Assisted the teacher with marking tests, assignments, and other school related activities

· Extended Day Program Facilitator at OCSB March 2019-September 2019
o Provides active and engaged supervision to children between the ages of 4 – 12 yrs in the before and after school programs.
o Provides opportunities for children that help to support physical, cognitive, emotional and social development.
o Following the program philosophy of a relaxed, warm and safe environment, I would help to nurture and support children and their families.

· City of Ottawa, Saturday Social Program, Special Needs Program Leader Sept. 2016 - January 2017
o Organized programs for adults with varying learning disabilities including trips to museums, crafts, fairs, etc.
o De-escalated situations when clients were agitated with a calm demeanor
o Ensured safety of clients was prioritized

· City of Ottawa, Dance Instructor (Jazz & Ballet) Sept. 2016 - November 2016
o Choreographed separate one hour Jazz and Ballet dances and activities for children from ages 3-5
o Assisted children with separation anxiety feel comfortable with other children by working with children’s parents to help their child adjust to the dance classroom setting

· City of Ottawa, Camp Counsellor May 2016 - August 2016
o Lead children from ages 5-14 and a staff of camp counsellors and organized the weekly camp’s schedule including away trips and activities in the facilities
o Maintained appropriate ratios for staff to children to ensure their safety was prioritized
o Intervened when bullying took place and whenever necessary

· Teaching Assistant at OCSB January 2011-June 2011
o Through Co-op with St. Gabriel’s Catholic Elementary School in Kanata, Ontario in 2011: Assisted with teaching units, creating lesson plans for poetry and the arts curriculum to Grade 5 class as well as working closely with a child with behavioural issues due to the toxic home environment in kindergarten classrooms)

CERTIFICATIONS AND AWARDS
· PECS Training Level 1 Certification date: April 17, 2020
· Canadian Red Cross First Aid + AED Certified Level C Expiry date: March 16, 2022
· CORE Training, City of Ottawa; Expiry July 9, 2017
· SAFEGUARD, City of Ottawa; Certification date: June 30, 2016
· HIGH FIVE Training for City of Ottawa: August 2016
· SHSM Diploma June 2013
· WHIMIS Training: All Saints Catholic High School, Training for SHSM Diploma, and Farmboy training, City of Ottawa, various companies

VOLUNTEER WORK
· The Ottawa Men’s Refuge (nonprofit organization for male victims of IPV) - - Sept. 2017 – December 2017
· Taught three grades 1-3 classes hip hop dance in Hong Kong, China – Hong Kong Renaissance College
· Alpine Ski Instructor – Pakenham Ski Resort; taught children, (ages 6-10) how to ski – certification in 2008-2009
· Member of Peer Leadership Program at All Saints Catholic High School 2011 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, special needs children, twins, triplets  
Education/Training:
High School, Graduated High School or Equivalent, Bachelor's Degree, Certified Nanny Training, CPR Training, First Aid Training, Special Needs Educator Certificate 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Full Time 
Work Hours:
30 - 40 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   Less than 3 months
 
   As Long as Needed
 
   Summer Position
 
Will work with up to:
Four or more 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Mending Children's clothing as required
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
June 28, 2020 
Desired Salary:
$26/Hour or Negotiable salary 
Will work at night:
Yes 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
No 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Event and entertainment planning and organization
 
 
 
Additional Experiences/Qualifications/Preferences:
Teachers education stream program Bachelors of Arts degree in Sociology 
 
 
  References
 
Gabriella Gonzalez-Meija 
 
 
 
Joel Landa