Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit October 12, 2021 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning 
 Afternoon
 Evening 
 Night
 
 
   
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Langley
 

 

 
 
 
Jani W.     Age 59      Female      Langley, BC  - 136, 244th Street
 
Member ID: 376403 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor 
Position Type: Live-In, Full Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
30 years in the caring professions;
reliable, ever cheerful, diligent and kind. Supporting: Ageing Well, Ageing Safely - helping keep people in their own homes.

As well as working in Senior Care, I am currently working as a nanny/tutor for 3 children, ages 13, 9 and 5.
Two of the kids are ASD and one is also ADHD.
I am qualified as a Behavioural Interventionist and Special Education Assistant.

Please see my on-line resume-website for a comprehensive picture of my experience and capabilities:
Janiwittaker dot com

I am looking for a position in the Lower Mainland BC.

I trained with Social Services UK, doing care in the community as I put myself through college.
I have a 25 year career as a Chinese medicine physician and university lecturer.

I have had rigorous training through UK Social Services, in conjunction with the NHS (National Health Service):
I have certified in:

CPR
First Aid at Work - level 3
Food Safety: courses 1 to 4
Moving and Positioning
Using Lifting Apparatus
Dementia Awareness Carer Training
End of Life Care
Stroke Awareness
Diabetes Awareness

I was principle carer for my father-in-law for 15 years, helping through many hurdles in his ageing process; Parkinson's, related dementia, macular degeneration (he became legally blind) deafness, chronic pain due to WW2 injuries, depression.

I have been a doula for 30 years.
I had a specialist practice supporting people with high risk pregnancies.
I have paediatric qualifications.

I am not licensed to practice acupuncture in Canada, thus my decision to pursue employment as a live-in caregiver for either Senior Care or as a Nanny/Tutor.

My current role is within a 4 generation family, caring for the 87 year old Great Grandmother and helping to home-school her 3 Great Grandchildren.

I have 30 years experience, and bring a wealth of calm and cheerfulness to all that I do. If my combination of youthful energy and mature experience appeals to you, then do please be in touch for an informal chat to see if I might be a good fit for your family.

Please check out my website for a comprehensive look at my skills, qualifications and experience.
I look forward to hearing from you. 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Yes 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Divorced 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
Spiritual - Not Religious 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
10 years experience, 5 references
"Nanny McPhee meets Mrs Doubtfire meets Mary Poppins"

Which is how a friend describes me.
I am a caregiver through and through, and truly love working with children.

My entire career has been steeped in helping to bring healthy children into the world.
I have been a doula for 30 years, have a 25 year career in fertility and pregnancy, I hold peadiatric qualifications and I also ran a teen clinic for many years.

I am principally an educator. I have been both an undergraduate and post graduate university lecturer, and have a long career as an international conference lecturer in my subjects.
I have been teaching since my late teens, when I was a riding for the disabled instructor, up through my time as an ESL teacher, on to my aforementioned university career.

My recent posting has been with a 4 generation family in Langley Township. I care for the 87 year old great grandmother, who is bedridden after a catastrophic stroke, and I help with the 3 great grandchildren, ages 13, 9 and 5.

I work as the Behavioural Interventionist and Special Education Assistant for the 5 year old with ASD and ADHD.
I also help support the home schooling for the 9 year old (also ASD) and the 13 year old.

This job has thoroughly re-kindled my love of working with children, and so I have extended my Senior Care remit to also embrace Childcare work.

My current family are relocating to 100 Mile, and I would like to find a live-in post in the Lower Mainland so that I can remain near to my mother who lives on the North Shore.

I would love to stay in the South Langley/Fort Langley area - my perfect job would be to find an equestrian family. I rode dressage, competed nationally, and being in Langley has thoroughly re-kindled my love of horses.
I love all animals and would be happiest on a property fulled with dogs and horses.

If you think my combination of youthful energy combined with mature experience might be right for your family, do please give me a ring and let's have an informal chat to see if this might be a good fit.

I look forward to hearing from you. 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, special needs children, twins, triplets  
Education/Training:
Master's Degree, CPR Training, First Aid Training, Certified Elderly Care Training, Special Needs Educator Certificate, BI / SEA 
MA Oxford Brookes University (UK) - Senior Lecturer Obstetrics and Gynaecology Celta (ESL) NHS / UK Social Services - 'Care in the Community' Paediatric Diploma Behavioural Interventionist Special Education Assistant  
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor 
Position Type:
Live-In, Full Time 
Work Hours:
40 - 50 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   As Long as Needed
 
Will work with up to:
Four or more 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Mending Children's clothing as required
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
October 09, 2021 
Desired Salary:
$25/Hour 
Will work at night:
No 
Willing to relocate:
100 km Radius 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
Yes 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Full meal preparation and service
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Greeting/serving household guests
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family laundry
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
 
   Maintain household accounts/ pay bills
 
   Book household travel arrangements
 
   Supervise contractors and tradespersons
 
   Supervise other household staff
 
   Event and entertainment planning and organization
 
Happy to do any duties relative to the remuneration
 
 
Additional Experiences/Qualifications/Preferences:
I am highly experienced and bring I bring a unique mix of down-to-earth coupled with my extensive education and my highly cosmopolitan international experiences. I have lived in the UK for 30 years, and I have travelled to over 67 countries, including extended time living in Japan and in Australia/NZ. I believe my broad range of experience will benefit any children in my care, and I can safely say that kids love to hang out with me - we have fun. My focus is learning through creativity, through development of imagination and curiosity. Two of my biggest fans are my grown up sons, who often refer to how much they respect the upbringing that has developed them into kind, compassionate, curious and engaged really rather nice human beings. It would be my very great pleasure to bring some of that homespun joy into your family. 
 
 
  References
 
Dr Lorne Brown 
All of my UK certifications, registrations and licences are locked in my storage unit in Kentish Town, London, England. Dr Lorne Brown and I have been professional colleagues since 2006. He can happily attest to the length and strength of my career as a Chinese medicine physician, and to my long and successful career as an international lecturer, university lecturer, as a writer, and as a seminar and conference provider. My online lectures reside with Lorne's company: https://healthyseminars.com/ Lorne can attest tthe veracity of my resume: http://www.janiwhite.com/chinese-medicine-cv.html  
 
 
Richard Dilworth 
Ric is the 'Caregiver and Family Support Coordinator' at Seniors Come Share Society - a non-profit based in South Surrey/WhiteRock. Fraser Health outsource to Seniors Come Share, working to support Seniors in the community, and helping Seniors to remain at home as long as possible. Ric and I have become colleagues in the short time since I returned to Canada (Dec 23rd 2019), and he has been a tremendous support and mentor as I have found my feet in the BC Caregiver's community. He is very happy to speak to my experience and capabilities.