Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit August 05, 2020 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning       
 Afternoon      
 Evening               
 Night              
 
 
   
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Winnipeg
 

 

 
 
 
Siobhan K.     Age 48      Female      Winnipeg, MB  - To be Determined
 
Member ID: 377756 
Seeking work as a : Nanny 
Position Type: Live-Out, Part Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
Hi. I am Siobhan.

I am returning to Winnipeg this fall after 14 years on the west coast. I am looking for a position starting mid October that is 3 - 4 days per week (weekdays only), 27 - 35 hours. We have not yet determined our location but it will most likely be St Boniface, Wolseley, or River Heights area.

My current employment has me looking after a super mischievous 1 year old and her bright and creative 3 year old sister. I love them tremendously and it absolutely broke my heart to announce that we had made the very difficult decision to return "home", but Covid has us reevaluating life.

I have over 25 years experience working with individuals, multiples (twins and nanny share) and groups of children ranging in age from brand new to 14 years old. I have worked in daycare centres and schools, as well as supported many amazing families in their homes throughout my career. My favourite age group is infant and toddlers. First time mom's will tell you that they have felt completely safe leaving their baby in my care.

My approach to child care is - love them, and teach them to partake in this world in a way that shows kindness toward all, starting with their self. As the science behind child development is constantly growing, I strive to stay on top of it and adapt my caregiving accordingly. I have been reading up on, and am very intrigued by, the RIE method as well as the work of Drs Daniel Siegel and Tina Payne Bryson. I am planning to begin my sleep consultant certification in the next 6 months.

I set healthy, age appropriate boundaries and believe children thrive from respectful adult guidance through all stages of life. I absolutely take cues from the child and recognize their innate ability to know their own needs, but I also acknowledge the comfort and benefit of predictable schedules. I am firm but loving and fully support learning through realistic consequences - in both the good and the not so good. I am their teacher first, but friend a close second.

Depending on the age of the child, a typical day together might include reading and crafts, definitely outdoor exploring, building with Lego, a trip to libraries, play gyms etc, along with lots of snuggles and plenty of laughs. I do also encourage solo play, allowing the child to explore in their own way at their own rate without my interference. I am still near by observing, but it is important for children to do their own thing for self confidence and critical thinking skills to develop.

I keep things pretty easy going and natural without making a big to-do about "big plans" and "now it's time to sit down and learn. ". I rarely do screen time, but once in a while (with your permission), a movie is a pretty great thing to cuddle up under a blanket and watch. Everything in moderation is a good way to live this life.

My past families will tell you that I helped foster a love of reading and creativity, most definitely encouraged a love of puppies and kitties and all furry and feathered friends (we don't chase pigeons, and we don't spiders), and helped their child grow up with a healthy sense of who they are. (If you have a furry, four legged child, they will be treated as one of the family).

I expect to be able to work with the parents as a team with consistent communication and check ins. I will follow your schedule or help you create one that works best for all. That being said, I would prefer to work with a family that sees the value of predictable sleep and eating schedules.

As stated, I am currently in Vancouver but relocating to my hometown of Winnipeg after 14 years in Vancouver. I am available for Facetime conversations until I arrive back in MB at the end of September. I am looking for a start date of mid October. And a side note - I do not have a vehicle right now but plan to get one soon after settling back in Winnipeg.

Thank you for reading my profile and I look forward to hearing from you. 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
No 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Willing to obtain 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Married 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
Spiritual - Not Religious 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
10 years experience, 4 references
I have been caring for children since I was 11 years old. I quickly became the favourite neighbourhood sitter and it grew from there. I babysat throughout high school, nannied through my years at college, worked in daycare centres, volunteered in schools, and worked in private homes in Winnipeg, Victoria, Vancouver and Hawaii. Iíve taken different career paths but always continued to care for children at least part time through out. My favourite balance is working part time with a family while supplementing my income teaching yoga, and that is my plan once settled back in Winnipeg this fall.

 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, twins, triplets  
Education/Training:
Graduated High School or Equivalent, College, First Aid Training 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Part Time 
Work Hours:
20 - 30 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   Less than 3 months
 
   3 - 12 months
 
   1 - 2 years
 
Will work with up to:
Two children 
Childcare Duties:
   Running errands
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
October 12, 2020 
Desired Salary:
$20/Hour 
Will work at night:
No 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
No 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
 
 
Additional Experiences/Qualifications/Preferences:
I believe in continuing to educate myself on child development knowing that there is always room for growth and to further excel in my profession. I listen to podcasts from leaders in the child care world, read books by child psychologists and receive their emails. Current favourites are Janet Lansbury, Daniel Siegel and sleep consultants Melissa Brown and Jayne Havens. I will be pursuing my sleep consultant certification early in 2021.