Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit September 15, 2020 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning       
 Afternoon      
 Evening 
 Night              
 
 
  Can be discussed  
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Ottawa
 

 

 
 
 
Michaela M.     Age 22      Female      Ottawa, ON  - Upper Hunt Club
 
Member ID: 380931 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper or Personal Assistant 
Position Type: Live-Out, Part Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
Nanny-hunt not looking so good? Kind of frustrating?? Look no further. I am Queen's University 2020 graduate and a current MA student at the University of Ottawa, looking for the perfect family. I have a great deal of experience and will go beyond just basic nanny-duties. Not only am I a fun, energetic, and smart nanny, but I am also a mommy/daddy helper, personal shopper/organizer and will help you and your family run their lives smoothly-- also I have a car so don't worry about that.

I am currently looking to work 1-2 days a week, as Tuesday-Thursdays (during the day) are dedicated to my MA program and courses.

Email or text is preferred but you are more than welcome to leave a voicemail and we can chat further :)

**Please note below**
Availability: Employed until August 20, full time from then until September, part-time September onwards.
^Can be discussed further
Location: I am situated in the Upper Hunt Club suburb of Ottawa South and will go as far as, Riverside South/Barrhaven/Manotick, Downtown, Glebe, Westboro.
Languages: I do have proficiency in French (french immersion in HS) however am not cut-out for an all french Québécois family.
Pay: $23-30/hour. 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, French, Greek 
 
My Nationality:
Greek 
Police Check:
Yes 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Single 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
Greek Orthodox 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
6 years experience, 5 references
**currently employed**

I have worked as a caregiver to families with children right from when they were born.

I have worked as a camp counselor for ages 4-5 and 8-10 from May 2016-August 2016 and June 2017-August 2017 at Greenboro Community Center. During the summer of 2018 (June-August 2018), I was a nanny for a family with a 24-month-old as well as their newborn. These positions are pivotal in my ability to be a caregiver as I learned the habits and psychology of every child of varying ages.

Apart from these positions, I have been an avid Sunday School teacher (volunteer-based) from grade 9-12 and have volunteered in camps as an 'LIT' (leader in training) until I was of legal age to become a camp counselor. 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years  
Education/Training:
High School, Graduated High School or Equivalent, Bachelor's Degree, Master's Degree, Certified Nanny Training, CPR Training, First Aid Training 
** Recent to oldest** 2020-2022: University of Ottawa - MA in Sociology 2016-2020: Queen's University - BAH in Sociology - 3. 9 GPA 2012-2016: St. Francis Xavier Catholic HS - Honour Roll: An average of 80 or better in every course - Ontario Scholar: 80 or greater in their six best Grade 12 courses - French Immersion Certificate Recipient  
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper or Personal Assistant 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Part Time 
Work Hours:
less than 20 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   1 - 2 years
 
   Occasional/As Needed
 
Will work with up to:
Two children 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
August 01, 2020 
Desired Salary:
$22/Hour or $1600 - $1800/month 
Will work at night:
Yes 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
No 
Will travel with the family:
No 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Full meal preparation and service
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Greeting/serving household guests
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Family laundry
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
 
   Supervise contractors and tradespersons
 
   Supervise other household staff
 
Love a clean home, i'll make sure yours is too!
 
 
  References
 
Nic Apostolis 
I worked for Nic during my time at Greenboro Community Center from 2016-2017 as a Camp Counsellor, Class Teacher, and Babysitter/Home Safety Trainer. I finished my time at Greenboro in August of 2017 when camp ended and was hired as a nanny in 2018, which is why I left Greenboro. 
 
 
Kirsty Colaiacovo 
I was hired to work for Kirsty's family in June of 2018 and quickly became very close to them! Apart from being a nanny to her children, I became her occasional personal assistant when I would come home on holidays/odd weekends from University, during my undergrad. I was their Nanny until August 2018, as their oldest was attending preschool and I returned to Queen's. Michaela worked for our family during the summer of 2018, nannying our 19-month-old son as well as helping with our newborn baby. Michaela was great with both our toddler and our baby. She was very patient with our son. She was great at sticking to his routine and meals/naps schedule, all the while making sure that he had lots of stimulation during his awake times. She came up with so many fun activities to keep him entertained and took him on so many fun excursions. She would look for age-appropriate activities and took him to the farm, strawberry fields, museums, parks, splash pads, and gymnastics – and would always send me beautiful pictures of what they were doing throughout the day! She introduced him to many new things and taught him a lot – his language skills developed so much over the course of her employment. Michaela was a huge help with our newborn – giving me a break to have some time to myself or watch our baby while I had one on one time with our toddler. She also was a lifesaver helping with organization in the house, food preparation, and running errands. She is very responsible and had great time management. She always arrived before her start time and she even stayed a bit longer some days. She gave me many weeks' notice when she had an appointment and knew she could not come in. Not only was she great with our children, but she always left the house sparkling. We were so grateful to have her – and she still works for us on an occasional basis. You would be very lucky and blessed to have Michaela be a part of your family.