Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit July 20, 2021 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning 
 Afternoon
 Evening 
 Night              
 
 
  Hours will change in September 2020 when school starts  
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Ottawa
 

 

 
 
 
Lauren U.     Age 24      Female      Ottawa, ON  - Cobourg St
 
Member ID: 381839 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Tutor 
Position Type: Live-Out, Part Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
My name is Lauren , I am a Canadian citizen born in North Bay, Ontario which is about 4 hours North/West of Ottawa. I have moved to Ottawa, Ontario as I am attending the University of Ottawa for Bachelor of Education as a teaching candidate and I will be studying in the Primary/Junior division with the goal of being a JK-Grade 6 teacher. I have a degree in Sociology from Nipissing University in North Bay. I also have 3 years experience in childcare, working with children of all ages and children with special needs such as Down syndrome, Fetal Alcohol syndrome, and Autism. I am family oriented, I love animals, and I enjoy physical activity like running, walking, biking, swimming, etc. I am an outgoing, caring, organized, punctual, hard-working individual who enjoys being apart of a community. 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
No 
Has a Vehicle:
No 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Willing to obtain 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Single 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
3 years experience, 3 references
One-On-One Enhanced Educator - Emergency Childcare
June 1st 2020 - July 30th 2020
North Bay, ON
Friends Forever Childcare

Job description:
One-on-one enhanced educator for six-year-old child with down syndrome
Support the child throughout classroom routine and activities such as toileting, handwashing, eating, walking, gross motor skills, fine motor skills, play to learn activities
Work to support the current impact that covid-19 has had on the community of North Bay and the workplace at Friends Forever Childcare Centre
PPE trained and very familiar with other regulations such as screening and health protocols put in place during Covid-19 State of Emergency

Early Childhood Educator Assistant
September 2017-current
North Bay, ON
Friends forever Childcare Center

Position(s):
Senior Preschool educator, september 2019-current
Educate alongside two other educators in accordance with the philosophy of school readiness by developing expectations of independence, awareness of others and emotions, problem solving, and writing skills
Greet parents at pick-up/drop-off
Bathroom duties (diapers, supervising potty-trained children, clean)
Prepare two snacks and one lunch while encouraging children to self-serve
Supervise child-led learning through play to learn inside and outside
Lead circle time with books, singing, activities, exercise, etc.
Organize activities
Bring learning outdoors for minimum of two hours a day
Conduct weekly programming based on observations of interest based play to create provocations, experiences, invitations for children
Documentation of programming activity on classroom walls for others to see
Complete progress reports
Complete questionnaires to better understand children in class (looksee, ASQ)
Respond to parent emails, requests, daily inquiries
Participate in parent/educator meetings based on need of individual child
Worked closely with child in classroom who was diagnosed and placed on the Autism Spectrum

One-on-one educator for five-year-old child with Down Syndrome in School Age Summer Program, July 2019-August 2019
Provided full assistance in basic activities throughout the day such as walking, walking up the stairs, changing diapers, feeding, providing water bottle, dressing, applying sunscreen, opening backpack and retrieving items, wiping face, etc.
Worked with Community Living ECE Resource Consultant on ASQ
Filed daily paperwork documenting the events of each day in detail
Progress Report bi-weekly
Teacher-led activities and invitations to play which eventually led into child-led interest as development progressed throughout the summer
Participated on daily field trips with the School Age Program with the use/help of a stroller (The Gathering Place, The Waterfront, The Capital Centre, Bowling, Splash Pad, etc. )
Goal of supporting the child’s behaviours, worked with the child and with other children in the program to provide opportunities for learning
Support behaviour and reduce incidents of behaviour while increasing positive development (sign language, communication, gross-motor skills, self-regulation)

Began as supply staff, October 2017-June 2019
On-call/supply/part-time
Support/float staff
Children of 1 month – 12 years of age (programs including infant, toddler, junior preschool, senior preschool, school age)
Supervise classroom of children indoors and outdoors
Prepare meals, serve children (support children in self-serving depending on age/program)
Play, sing, and read with children
Bathroom duties (diapers, supervising potty-trained children, clean)
 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, special needs children, twins, triplets  
Education/Training:
High School, Graduated High School or Equivalent, Bachelor's Degree 
Nipissing Univeristy Honours Specialization in Bachelor of Sociology, completed university education courses and teaching placement throughout undergrad. Attending University of Ottawa for a Bachelor degree in teaching primary/junior division 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Tutor 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Part Time 
Work Hours:
less than 20 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   As Long as Needed
 
   Summer Position
 
   Occasional/As Needed
 
Will work with up to:
Three children 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Mending Children's clothing as required
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
August 12, 2020 
Desired Salary:
$20/Hour or $1000 - $1200/month 
Will work at night:
No 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
Yes,but up to 10 km 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Full meal preparation and service
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Greeting/serving household guests
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family laundry
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
 
   Maintain household accounts/ pay bills
 
   Book household travel arrangements
 
   Supervise contractors and tradespersons
 
   Supervise other household staff
 
 
 
Additional Experiences/Qualifications/Preferences:
I don't have a vehicle or a valid diver's license but I am more willing to run errands or take children places that is within walking distances. 
 
 
  References
 
Taylor Huycke 
Taylor was my supervisor for 3 years at the childcare centre I worked at called Friends Forever Childcare, i resigned to move to another city. 
 
 
Carrie Culhane 
Carrie was my placement teacher associate for the placement I did in my undergrad at an elementary school called ET Carmichael in the Jk/Sk class.